Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Guinness Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Guinness Stew

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on March 17, 2013

      This was okay... I found it to be really sweet for some reason (the meat? The carrots?). The meat was really tender and had good flavor, but the broth was super thick and almost paste-like after cooking for 3 hours. It wasn't really what I was hoping for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2012

      My DH loves Guinness stew. I cooked mine in a slow-cooker after browning the meat and deglazing the pan. I used cornstarch to thicken it and served the stew over mashed potatoes. It turned out just grand! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      Not a big hit with us. We're used to stew with thick sauce and though I added cornstarch to thicken it up it maintained a smooth consistency...It tasted like it had come from a can. Not too happy with that flavor for a $20 meal and hours of work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      Tried this out for a St. Pat's meal. I had one bottle of Guinness that had been in my fridge for ages, so this was the recipe for it. We all found it tasty and filling, although we didn't think the flavor of the Guinness was very noticeable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2008

      We just went to Dublin and the Guinness Brewery. As much as we tried we could not get the recipe from the cook. This is very, very similar. The only thing I did different was add some frozen peas in during the last 30 min, seasoned throughout with salt and pepper, and I used another bottle of Guinness too because mine was getting very thick throughout cooking. My house smelled amazing while it was cooking and I couldn't help but take bites here and there :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2007

      This stew was very good. My DH ate 2 helpings. Very filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2005

      This is a hearty, tasty stew. I have used this same recipe for about 6 years and it has become a tradition for my family on St. Pat's Day. I have tried it both on the stovetop and in the oven. I find it a bit easier in the oven because you don't have to worry about it burning and the taste is the same either way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2004

      Made this exactly as directed for some friends, and all of us agreed that this is a very hearty, tasty cold-weather treat. Made this exactly as directed, and next time, would probably add a bit more cayenne pepper and garlic, just to make it "sparkle" a bit more. However, this recipe is really delicious as is, and you won't be disappointed when you try this! Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Guinness Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (639 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 838.0
     
    Calories from Fat 186
    22%
    Total Fat 20.6 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 5.7 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 145.1 mg
    48%
    Sodium 266.6 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.0 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 6.6 g
    26%
    Protein 55.4 g
    110%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh thyme

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites