Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Guinness Pork Chops in Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Guinness Pork Chops in Gravy

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on January 03, 2008

      Wow! The gravy this makes is soooo excellent over spaetzle (german noodles). I pounded my chops to 1/4" thickness prior to browning and followed the rest of the directions to a "T". The result was a very tasty, very moist chop with plenty of gravy. Thanks for sharing!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      I thought this dinner was easy to make (albeit time consuming) and we enjoyed it. I halved the number of pork chops, but used the same amount of sauce as posted for 8. I wished the gravy would have been a little more flavorful, but it was still very good. The gravy was nice and thick and the chops were moist and tender. We followed all directions and ingredients as posted. I am not sure that I loved it enough to take the effort to make again, but it was definitely worth the try. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      This tasted good, but I only gave it 3 stars because there are so many steps to this recipe. We didn't want to wait 45 minutes for the pork to cook, so I only cooked it for 20 minutes. It was still tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      Excellent flavor! Followed the recipe exactly but brined the pork first with All-Purpose Mild Brine for Poultry and Pork & added a little cornstarch slurry at the end to thicken the sauce up a bit. Although, the onions really do break down and add some texture. Next time I will add only 1 tsp. of mustard...just a personal preference. Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

    • on December 11, 2006

      The flavor was outstanding! A little fussy to make, but worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2006

      This dish has become a staple for informal family dinners... even the little ones like it. Occasionally, I do it in the crock pot at low heat overnight, then there's never a problem with a dried out chop.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2006

      The chops were excellent. My only suggestion is to maybe cook it longer. I used lean chops and they were a bit dry - easy to fix with some more time each side. I personally do not like the flavour of beer and found the guiness slightly bitter. The family, however, did not agree with me including the 6 and 8 yo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2006

      I perpared this recipe for my Grandmother (Ma) and she raved and raved and raved about these pork chops!! I served these tender Pork Chops with Rutabagas, Garlic Mashed Potatoes, Corn on The Cob and Me& Ma's Southern Style Scratch CornBread (Me & Ma's Southern Style Scratch Cornbread). I don't eat pork, however I will prepare pork if requested and while the pork chops were cooking it smelled so darn good I was ALMOST TEMPTED to taste a sample!!! I prepared this recipe as stated with the exception of using 12oz. of Chicken Broth, 4 cloves of Crushed Garlic and 4 mixed Pork Chops (as that was all we had). I too DID NOT half the recipe to accomodate the 4 chops. The pork chops were falling off the bone with lots of perfectly thick, rich gravy!!! Dredging the chops and onions in flour before browning shortens the process of making a paste to add to the juices and I did not have any grease left over at all. The Guinness is what makes these chops so darn tender (as with a few of your other recipes that call for Guinness)! This recipe is a A+ WINNER and a KEEPER!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2005

      Sorry--I was disappointed. I followed the recipe as written, except for adding a bit of extra garlic. I found the pork chops to be tough and the flavors of onion and Guinness overwhelming. It was also time-consuming. I will not be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2005

      Made this for dinner tonight. Only used 4 chops, but did not halve any of the other ingredients. Served the chops with mashed potatoes and carrots. I partly cooked the carrots and added them to the gravy during the last 10 minutes (the "reducing the gravy" step)to finish cooking. The result was a wonderful meal...flavorful, tender chops, yummy carrots and the delicious gravy for the chops and mashed taters!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2005

      Darn Tasty

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2005

      Oh boy oh boy! I've cooked meat in Guinness before and never been that fussed on it. But THIS! THIS is a keeper! Incredibly tasty sauce with melt in your mouth pork chops. Just wonderful. (I'm drooling as I type this.) OK, I confess, I changed it a bit. Don't I always? I only used 4 pork chops, but I didn't halve the other ingredients because we like LOTS of sauce. I trimmed the fat off the pork chops before I started, which meant I didn't need to degrease the sauce at the end. I used the full amounts of Guinness and chicken stock. At the end of the cooking, I found I didn't need to thicken the sauce as the onions had pretty well disintegrated and thickened it for me. I only added 1 teaspoon each of French mustard and balsamic vinegar and that was more than enough to pep up the sauce for my taste. I served this with Miller's Rumbledthumps Meatloaf Texas style! and some steamed green beans. A 5 star meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2005

      Miller - this recipe is FANTASTIC! I made these for our St. Patrick's Day dinner even though we aren't big pork chop fans in our house because they always seem dry, but even my 3 year old grandson ate an entire pork chop. I did not deviate from the recipe at all (I usually add some personal touches, but not to this recipe) even though I was afraid I'd be cooking the chops so long they'd be dry. Boy was I wrong as they were moist and tender as can be. My DH commented that it was nice to be able to cut a pork chop with a fork. The gravy was so flavorful and complemented the Colcannon I made to go with the chops. Thank so much for the recipe, and to the others who posted comments which greatly helped in my decision to make these. We will this great dish again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2005

      Excellent, wonderful, toothsome, flavorful...where's that thesaurus? Thank you SO much for this recipe. Now I know how to cook pork chops.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2005

      I'm not a huge fan of pork chops but my wife was craving them and I saw this and figured how can you go wrong with Guinness? Very happy I made these as I can now enjoy pork chops. Very good flavors and I scraped the pan to put the remaining sauce over rice as it was so good. Thanks so much for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2003

      Miller - you are amazing and so is this recipe!!! The flavors all worked together so nicely! BF was amazed by the taste and must have mentioned that fact 10 times during dinner! Follow this one exactly and you'll have an incredible and quite impressive meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Guinness Pork Chops in Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (1329 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1140.3
     
    Calories from Fat 418
    36%
    Total Fat 46.4 g
    71%
    Saturated Fat 14.8 g
    74%
    Cholesterol 284.0 mg
    94%
    Sodium 339.4 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.0 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 88.6 g
    177%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    coarse grain mustard

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes