41 Reviews

They turned out so tasty, moist, and rich! Couldn't taste the Guiness at all, but I got a kick out of serving them at my St. Patrick's Day dinner today. Thank you for sharing. They were a huge hit!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emmy's Mum March 18, 2010

Will definitely be making these again! Simple and delicious. If you're using stick butter for the frosting, make sure it is very soft or you might get lumps. Thanks for the great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coribrennen March 15, 2010

These cupcakes are DELICIOUS. They are super moist & my only critique is that the frosting may be overly sweet - but that could be because I have too heavy a hand with the frosting spatula.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefKatP March 14, 2010

These were probably the best chocolate cupcakes I've ever made, they baked up gorgeous! I didn't have sour cream on hand so replaced with nonfat Greek yogurt, worked perfectly. This made 12 cupcakes for me plus an 8'' square cake. Next time for St Paddy's day I'll try adding some green food coloring! For frosting I used only 3 cups of powdered sugar which was plenty sweet, and 1 T of Baileys + 1 tsp of vanilla since the full amount of Baileys would have been too much for our tastes. Our Baileys was super old and kind of separated which worried me but after shaking it in the bottle and mixing it in with the powdered sugar it incorporated just fine. I just kept adding little splashes of milk until it was a nice soft texture. The frosting was super glossy and pretty, I guess from the Baileys? Thanks for this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bubbleyumm82 March 18, 2016

I made these for an office pot luck lunch on St. Patricks Day, they turned out great. While making the frosting I ramped up the amount of Baileys and then thickened it so it would be nice and boozy. The Guiness flavor doesn't really come out much but since Guiness has some decent chocolatey notes it all comes with the cocoa flavor of the cake. Good instructions, easy to follow, this is the first time in my life I have tried baking and they came out really well. I recommend drinking Guiness while making the cakes and then drinking Baileys while making the frosting, so be sure to have some extra.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
James D. March 18, 2016

Very moist and a bit heavy (in a good way). They are very rich, but not over powering of chocolate or beer. I stuck the hot mixture in the fridge to speed up the cooling. Even my boyfriend, who hates cake/cupcakes, is obsessed with them. Everyone at work has been saying it is the best cake they have ever had and keeps asking for the recipe. These would also be great with a mocha or a salted caramel frosting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasey March 16, 2016

Let me start by saying I'm a seasoned baker...I baked 4 dozen cupcakes yesterday, two of which were this recipe. The cupcakes didn't dome - and as I filled the cupcakes fairly full the flat muffin top cracked and broke and fell off after taking the cupcakes out of the muffin tin. Also - they were hard to get out of the muffin tin (used papers - didn't grease). So, the cupcakes, while flavorful were ugly and basically falling apart. The other frosting recipe I made started with two sticks of soft butter + 5 C powdered sugar. Many of the reviews discussed too much sugar in the frosting. Would consider / suggest starting with two sticks of room temp butter - and then adding 4 - 5 C powdered sugar... that might fix the frosting situation ... also because I felt that there wasn't enough frosting - used a bag to pipe it on. Needed more frosting to cover and hide the falling apart muffin tops... While I was super excited to make a cupcake out of Guinness and frost with baileys butter cream - I'm disappointed in the results and will either need to find a new recipe or tweak this one. So confused about the other so favorable reviews... Now - the super important part - they do taste very good. If you look at the pictures, mine are the ones that look ugly... ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gidget265 March 21, 2015

Wow. I was actually shocked at how moist yet light these cupcakes were. They just finished cooling a few minutes ago so I had to try one, and man they were good. Like previous viewers have mentioned, the Guinness really brings out the chocolate flavor.<br/><br/> I made a few modifications to the cupcakes, I didn't have sour cream so I used plain non-fat yogurt and that worked great. I also used almost a whole can of Guinness to really bring out the flavor. Even with doubling the amount the recipe calls for, it's still a subtle but delicious flavor. I also didn't have the type of cocoa they call for, so I just used Hershey's unsweetened powdered cocoa. I had a little batter left over, so this recipe easily makes more than 24. Definitely deserves 5 stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eissacf25 April 29, 2014

I really like the way the beer brings out the flavors of the chocolate. It adds extra richness, and is subtle enough that it doesn't have an overpowering taste of beer. The cupcakes are moist. The frosting needed a little more liquid than what the recipe says, so I added even more "Bailey's". It was delicious. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aimbrulee February 12, 2014

I gut the cupcakes and drop a bailey's pudding shot into the center. Surprise!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BooBooKatie November 26, 2013
Guinness Cupcakes With Bailey's Frosting