38 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A very festive recipe that is also tasty to have any time of the year. The recipe was very easy to follow and produced moist cupcakes. When making the frosting: please, please sift the powdered sugar when adding it to the butter! That way you won't get lumps like I did. I also didn't use as much of the sugar as called for. Excellent recipe!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooking_neko83 October 29, 2009

Why oh why can I only give 5 stars?? I knew the Guinness would add something special to the cake. It's such a rich beer, it kept the cakes moist and delicious with the perfect texture. I was a wee bit heavy handed with the Bailey's :) and the frosting was absolutely awesome. I got rave reviews on these and I absolutely can't wait to make them again. These are right up there with my favorite cupcake, red velvet. Thanks so much for posting this!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zoesmama September 24, 2011

I made these last night in preparation for the festivities today. They are fantabulous! I even substituted Splenda, Veg Spread (Country Crock Lite) and Egg Beaters to save some calories and you wouldn't know the difference. None of the guys even knew. Hubby says it's a keeper for sure!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cndthn4 March 17, 2010

These are very good cupcakes - moist and intensely chocolatey. I substituted Splenda granular for the white sugar and they still turned out great. The Guinness gives them a depth of flavor that is sometimes missing when using cocoa instead of chocolate. The icing was good, but subtle. Since I love Irish cream, I skipped the milk and used all Bailey's to increase the flavor a little.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinnamon Turtle March 22, 2011

Wonderfully moist cupcakes. The Guinness flavor is not overpowering - just adds a rich note to the chocolate. On the advice of other reviewers, I used 1/2 cup less sugar in the fronting, and it turned out great. Just the right amount of sweet. I only had "jumbo" paper cups, so the cupcakes took almost twice as long to bake than the instructions said, but they turned out fine.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smiruz March 19, 2010

Delish! I made these for my husband for St. Patty's Day & didn't think they would be as addictive as they were. HUGE hit at his office as well. I didn't do the baileys frosting but did a cream cheese one instead.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bobmarleysgirl March 18, 2010

Very good cupcakes! I added more cocoa..about 3/4 cup. I also used 2 cups of white sugar. Very moist and rich.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hazeleyes March 25, 2011

Tasty cupcakes! I made 14 big cupcakes. I think the only thing I would change is perhaps adding a bit less liquid to the icing; perhaps only adding Bailey's instead of milk because mine was bit runny. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ksparker March 20, 2011

Absolutely Fabulous!I added more Bailey's to my icing instead of milk and at the advice of other reviewers cut down the sugar,all in all a wonderful treat! Will be making these again for sure :o)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trischa March 14, 2011

These were the BEST ever. You MUST try them

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maria_9050143 March 18, 2010
Guinness Cupcakes With Bailey's Frosting