23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had some trouble with the icing as well. Took Sharlene's advice and used some cream to get the right consistency. Overall, the cake turned out nicely. I had some mixed reviews... my guy friends loved it and my girlfriends thought it was too bitter.

30 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber Dawn February 26, 2002

My husband is a fan of dark chocolate and absolutely raved about this cake. I had to get out the scale to make it and I am used to measuring in cups not ounces, but it went together nicely. I never could get the chocolate to reach the right consistency. It seemed to seize up and never melt with the Guinness, so I added a few teaspoons of cream to thin it and it was fine. Overall an excellent cake with a rich taste--what you would expect from an expensive bakery.

27 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharlene~W February 04, 2002

easy to make - tasted great!!!! my boyfriend (who loves guinness) was way surprised by the taste - he loved it!!! one note - make sure you use 8-inch pans - not 9 inch like i did!! had to make it twice to get the timing right

27 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kirstin in the Couv January 30, 2002

My friend owns an Irish Pub so I passed on this recipe to him. They made it as a dessert special for this St. Patty's Day celebration. It was great; they sold out of it.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheDancingCook March 20, 2002

A nice cake. Not too sweet. I baked it in a Bundt pan and it turned out well. If you want to make this cake for the kids, substitute the Guinness with milk.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geeta March 01, 2002

Awesome! My new favorite chocolate cake. I made mine in a bundt pan as well and didn't add the nuts. I had no problems with the batter or the frosting- both stirred up smooth and beautiful (just had to really stir 'em). For those that said the frosting was too granular- you perhaps used the wrong type of sugar? Icing sugar= powdered sugar. Anywho- all in all a brilliant cake. Light and airy and not too sweet. Thanks Miller for my new favorite cake recipe. Oh, and I didn't have any Guinness, so substituted MacTarnahan's Blackwatch Cream Porter- please don't stone me. ;)

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BothFex March 03, 2003

I don't like Guinness (tastes too bitter for me) so I replaced it with Tennant's Sweet Stout. Now that was a brilliant idea on my part because the result was a fantastic cake. So I made another one and took it to work for my mate's birthday, and would you know he made off with half of the bloody thing to take home with him. Aye, this recipe has easily earned a place in my "hit parade" of recipes.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wee Tam and The Big Huge February 28, 2002

This cake is not as sicky-sweet as some chocolate cakes I have tried. The beer adds a very nice twist to the taste.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Napoleon XIV February 04, 2002

I made this cake over the weekend and brought it to a St. Patrick's day party. EVERYONE just loves beer and died over the cake.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dragonbaby March 16, 2003

I also had trouble with the icing - it was a little grainy and not really smooth enough to be easy to spread, so I took Sharlene's advice and added a little heavy cream. This cake is superior!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Guabi Guabi February 20, 2002
Guinness Cake