Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Guinness Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Guinness Cake

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on February 26, 2002

      I had some trouble with the icing as well. Took Sharlene's advice and used some cream to get the right consistency. Overall, the cake turned out nicely. I had some mixed reviews... my guy friends loved it and my girlfriends thought it was too bitter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2002

      My husband is a fan of dark chocolate and absolutely raved about this cake. I had to get out the scale to make it and I am used to measuring in cups not ounces, but it went together nicely. I never could get the chocolate to reach the right consistency. It seemed to seize up and never melt with the Guinness, so I added a few teaspoons of cream to thin it and it was fine. Overall an excellent cake with a rich taste--what you would expect from an expensive bakery.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2002

      easy to make - tasted great!!!! my boyfriend (who loves guinness) was way surprised by the taste - he loved it!!! one note - make sure you use 8-inch pans - not 9 inch like i did!! had to make it twice to get the timing right

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2002

      My friend owns an Irish Pub so I passed on this recipe to him. They made it as a dessert special for this St. Patty's Day celebration. It was great; they sold out of it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2002

      A nice cake. Not too sweet. I baked it in a Bundt pan and it turned out well. If you want to make this cake for the kids, substitute the Guinness with milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2003

      Awesome! My new favorite chocolate cake. I made mine in a bundt pan as well and didn't add the nuts. I had no problems with the batter or the frosting- both stirred up smooth and beautiful (just had to really stir 'em). For those that said the frosting was too granular- you perhaps used the wrong type of sugar? Icing sugar= powdered sugar. Anywho- all in all a brilliant cake. Light and airy and not too sweet. Thanks Miller for my new favorite cake recipe. Oh, and I didn't have any Guinness, so substituted MacTarnahan's Blackwatch Cream Porter- please don't stone me. ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2002

      I don't like Guinness (tastes too bitter for me) so I replaced it with Tennant's Sweet Stout. Now that was a brilliant idea on my part because the result was a fantastic cake. So I made another one and took it to work for my mate's birthday, and would you know he made off with half of the bloody thing to take home with him. Aye, this recipe has easily earned a place in my "hit parade" of recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2002

      This cake is not as sicky-sweet as some chocolate cakes I have tried. The beer adds a very nice twist to the taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2003

      I made this cake over the weekend and brought it to a St. Patrick's day party. EVERYONE just loves beer and died over the cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2002

      I also had trouble with the icing - it was a little grainy and not really smooth enough to be easy to spread, so I took Sharlene's advice and added a little heavy cream. This cake is superior!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2012

      The only difficulty I had was on measuring out the ingredients with out your typical cups/tsp/tbsn measures listed. Pulled out the food scale and we were good to go! My husband can't stand the flavor of Guinness, but it was all thumbs up for the cake!

      Everyone else is talking about trouble with the icing - hint: microwave on high for about 30 seconds on 50% power, add your beer, microwave for 1 min on 50% power, stir, then again for about 30 seconds at 50% power and you'll be good to go! It also works better if you fold in the sugar instead of trying to beat it in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      Fun and easy to make. The cake was fully cooked after 25 minutes. I followed the recipe in most ways except I went for a chocolate/cream cheese frosting by adding in 1/4 cup cream cheese with the butter and then added the chocolate/beer combo to that. Yum! Would definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      I only had enough Guinness left (from a different recipe) for half this recipe -- one layer. The cake was tasty, light and not too sweet. I melted the butter and chocolate for the icing, spreading it while it was still warm and it just covered the layer. In the future, I would bake this half-recipe in a loaf pan, adjusting the baking time, so the icing would form a slightly thicker layer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      The guiness in this recipe complimented the chocolate perfectly, i am not a big chocolate cake eater but i found it not sickly as some chocolate cakes tend to be.my family loved it so much i had to make two in the same week, a really moist scrummy cake great for any occasion!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      The cake was exceptionally moist! I added a bit more chocolate and a bit more Guinness than called for and tuned out great. I separated the cake into two pans and for the amount of mixture, baking in separate pans isn't' necessary. Also, for the icing, the recipe didn't call for it - but you want to use the double boil method to melt the chocolate, Guinness and butter. Once the butter started to melt i used a mixer to beat the ingredients together. Icing came out very smooth! Love this!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      This was a really nice, moist chocolate cake. While baking the house smelled very yeasty and yummy. I wish the flavor of the guinness could be more pronounced, but it does provide a nice depth of flavor and of course, is so so moist b/c of it! I did it in a bundt pan and only added just 2 T of powdered sugar for the frosting and made it more like a glaze. All in all, was simple and a nice little cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      I really had high expectations for this cake, but I thought it had a bitter aftertaste. Maybe the beer was the reason...next time I'd just make a regular chocolate cake & save the Guinness for the weekend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      I made this cake in a bundt pan for my boyfriend's birthday last week and it is going to become an annual tradition. I don't have a kitchen scale yet, so I used an online calculator which led me to 1 1/3 cups each of brown sugar and flour, and approx. 1/4 cup cocoa powder in the cake (which I think was less than called for). I used a Chocolate Stout which I gently heated while whisking in the cocoa, and after the batter was stirred together, I added about 1/3 cup mini chocolate chips. Baking time was a little longer, of course, and after the cake cooled I melted some white chocolate in a ziploc in some hot water and then drizzled it all over the cake. It's beautiful, an "adult" chocolate cake that is just delicious and much more moist than the other Guinness recipe I used last year. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      This cake was fantastic, and surprisingly easy to make. I left out the walnuts entirely. The cake was a huge hit with everyone, and was lovely both on its own and with a scoop of quality vanilla ice cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      Fantastic cake! This was a deep, rich chocolate, and the frosting contributed the perfect amount of sweetness. It was great with a little scoop of ice cream. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Guinness Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (431 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 622.1
     
    Calories from Fat 234
    37%
    Total Fat 26.0 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 14.8 g
    74%
    Cholesterol 77.0 mg
    25%
    Sodium 236.7 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 77.3 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 43.3 g
    173%
    Protein 8.2 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites