59 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Don't know if it's the beer... but everyone loved them!! ;) - Thanks Mille! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie May 09, 2009

Since I purchased a 1/4 of beef this winter I am always looking for new ways to prepare beef. This was a nice alternative to standard burgers. We grilled ours and they came out perfect. I created a gouda/mushroom/onion cheese sauce to put on top. Yummo!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 April 24, 2009

Like others mentioned this is very flavorful, but would leans more toward a meatloaf in taste. I prepped mine a day ahead and they held together well on the grill (because they had time to sit and firm up I think). Will do this next time as a meatloaf in the oven and take the extra guinness, some onions, garlic, beef broth and cream and make a great sauce to serve with it! Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shawn.mouton March 18, 2009

Fabulous! These made me nervous while I was cooking them but having read the reviews and everyone warning to be very careful with these when flipping and that they are very moist, they came out perfect. I fried them in a cast iron skillet over medium high for about 6 minutes each side. I used 2 cloves of garlic. Topped with tomato, onion, jalapeno cheese, jalapenos and spicy garlic mayo. YummYummYumm! Thanks to Miller, and the helpful reviews!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GinGin :-) February 18, 2009

Ive been trying to decide how to rate this, and I've settled on just leavign a comment. I did like some other reviewers and didnt cook in the oven. I followed the recipe exactly, except I added in some worchesshire sauce and I used some onion powder in place of the french onion soup mix, because some people in the house dont like the dehydrated onions in things and I didnt want mini meatloaves. My boyfriend, a Guinness drinker (and the onion hater) thought they were good, but my father and I could taste something "off" but I think if I could have used the soup mix, it may have been hidden alittle more.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle_My_Belle June 02, 2008

The Guinness really breaks down the meat during cooking, which makes it especially delicious. Plus when you're done cooking, you have leftover Guinness to drink with your meal (always a plus!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baba Ganoush May 30, 2008

This was good. Like the other posters, I thought it tasted more like a "meatloaf" than burger. It has to be because of the soup mix. If you are wondering, there is no beer taste at all. I liked them, but probably would rather drink the beer than pour it on the meat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheNovakFamily February 10, 2008

Oh man! My fiance grills burgers all the time and they come out great. Today he asked me to find a different recipe to change things up. Him being a Guinness drinker, and this having 36 great reviews, this seemed like the one. OH WAS I RIGHT! We both agree that these were the best we've had yet. We also minced the garlic and used garlic chili pepper sauce. He grilled them on charcoal and we shaped them with a mini frisbee. He forgot to baste them with the guinness, but they were still moist, delicious and flavorful! Maybe one of the best recipes we've tried on zaar yet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LorynNLia January 12, 2008

WOW!!! Wonderful flavor not overpowering. I used a Chinese garlic chili sauce and bbq the meat instead of baking. Even fussing kids ate all of their food. Will use again and again. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
colcabinc September 12, 2007

outstanding! We used the thick Chili sauce and it was great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
logan August 13, 2007
Guinness Burgers