60 Reviews

This is a great pub-style burger. I used 1 1/2 lbs. ground chuck and had no issue of falling apart as others have noted. This made a tasty, filling lunch entree and went hand-in-hand with an icy cold Guinness Stout on the side! Thanks Mille! Made for ALL YOU CAN COOK BUFFET 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Spice Guru July 31, 2011

Wow, this was excellent. I was a little worried about the "falling apart" comments so I made them a few hours ahead and refrigerated until cooking. I had planned to grill them but discovered the propane tank was empty so I cooked them on stove top. They held together nicely and were so juicey and flavorful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alaska Bee June 04, 2011

WOW...simply delish!...I grilled rather than baked...but, man, packed with flavor!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElvisPresley99 April 19, 2011

Great flavor! Made them exactly as written and we loved them! Definitely will be making these again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fronie August 01, 2010

Great burger recipe for the grill. I've used Heinz Chili sauce, and I've also used BBQ sauce as suggested from another review. To add a little kick, I added about 1/2 a tablespoon of chili garlic sauce from the local Asian market. Second time I made it, I eyed how much Guinness to add, afraid too much liquid might make it fall apart. Stayed close to the measurement and it turned out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Phammy June 14, 2010

Loved these burgers because they are delicious not just because it gives me a reason to pick up Gunness ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KellyK107 May 23, 2010

Not as much Guinness taste as I would have liked.. for me the garlic was most noticeable. Followed recipe, added in breadcrumbs to avoid the "falling apart" consistency of other reviewers, and baked for about 20 minutes. Delicious burgers! Will try to add more beer next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sicxemxbears May 22, 2010

This recipe has become a staple in my house. We do it at least once a month. We substitute BBQ sauce for the Chilisauce though, we like that taste better and we dont use chili sauce for any cooking so I would rather use something we always have in the house. Try it! Either way, super yum with either swiss or cheddar cheese!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eek May 04, 2010

I, like many other reviewers, had problems with these burgers falling apart. I did everything I could to prevent it- I used a patty press and let them sit in the fridge for 30 mins to set, and they still fell apart. We used turkey instead of beef and the taste was delicious. I, unlike several other reviewers, could taste the beer in the burgers, but they WERE Guinness burgers afterall so this was neither unexpected nor unwelcome. We used Sriracha chili sauce because that's what we had, so it was spicy- not too spicy for us, but I would probably scale it back for guests whose tastes might not be the same as mine. Overall a great recipe- the only change I have is that I think I will scale the beer back a little next time and perhaps throw in a few breadcrumbs in hopes of firming up the burgers just a bit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerry G April 06, 2010

5 for taste 4 because they fell apart. Made them twice and second time around I cut the beer down to 1/4 cup. They still tasted awsome and they didn't fall apart. We grill hamburgs at my home. these are wonderful and several friends have also enjoyed this recipe. : )

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bratalli September 05, 2009
Guinness Burgers