Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Guinness Brownies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Guinness Brownies

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on April 11, 2010

      These were so stinking good. I did have two issues with the recipe as written though. There was so much batter that I just couldn't imagine trying to stuff it all into an 8x8 square pan so I used a 13x9. I filled that pan nearly half full. I also baked the brownies 10 minutes longer than stated. Taste was 5 star. I love to bake with guinness and chocolate and these brownies were no exception.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2005

      These are really amazing and different brownies! Definitely not an overly sweet flavor (which I prefer), and I didn't frost or sprinkle sugar on top, etc. When you're preparing these brownies it seems that there is a lot of Guinness in the recipe and the batter is really runny, but they bake absolutely perfectly in 25 minutes, as the recipe states. The most unique brownie I've ever had; thanks for suggesting the recipe, Nathalie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2004

      Wow - we had a lone bottle of Guinness in the fridge forever that we just couldn't get rid of since nobody seems to like it. This recipe sounded interesting, but I was really so surprised at how good these brownies are. I shared these with several people and everyone seemed to agree these were some of the richest and best brownies they'd ever had. (And everyone was amazed that there was beer in these! The Guinness adds an unmistakable complexity, but it doesn't taste at all like beer.) This is almost like eating a piece of fudge. They are very smooth and dense with a dark not-very-sweet chocolate flavor. I did not have any white chocolate so I substituted milk chocolate and added a bit of vanilla. I had some caramel topping I wanted to use up so I put that over the cooled brownies, although these are good enough to stand on their own. Thanks so much for this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2013

      This were very good. Everyone who tried them agreed they seemed more like a torte than a brownie however. We also agreed that they needed a little frosting, which I did. As others recommended, I used a 9x13 pan and only used 3 eggs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2012

      Yum! I also followed the other reviewer's suggestion of 3 eggs and longer cooking time; brownies turned out very moist and rich. Used 12oz semisweet chocolate vs bittersweet/white chocolate per recipe. Overall a great brownie I'll be making again! Excellent served warm with ice cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2012

      The flavor of these was just what I was looking for, just bitter and sweet enough to complement the Guinness. However, even with the changes suggested to make them more 'fudgey' (3 eggs, 30 min) this still seemed more like a cake to me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2011

      Phenomenal! You can't tell that there's beer in them! A five star recipe with the changes suggested by other reviewers: larger pan, three eggs, 30 min. cook time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      I made this recipe yesterday and they are really good! It's like a delicate guinness chocolate truffle, mmm!! I ued 3 eggs instead of 4 like someone suggested to make it more fudgy and I didn't use white chocolate. They came out delicious!!! The baking time is off for 5 to 10 mins since it does take a while longer. This recipe is a keeper for sure!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      Have made these twice now and we really enjoy them! The first time I made the recipe as stated, in an 8x8 pan which made me nervous it was going to overflow but it didn't. The brownies were more cake-like than we like so the second time I made them I only used 3 eggs (made a much fudgier brownie) and put them in a 13x9 pan. They turned out wonderful! I also put cream cheese frosting on top (I admit it is store-bought) because with the bitterness from the Guinness I seemed like it needed some more sweetness. The frosting did the trick. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      I've never made brownies from scratch before. The texture is certainly different than any brownie I've ever had before. I thought it was strange that there was no baking powder or baking soda in the recipe, and that there was as much cocoa as there is flour. But, I have to say, once I got used to the difference of it (is this what brownies from scratch are really supposed to be like), I really grew to like it. The flavor is quite good. I couldn't afford white chocolate chips, so I just did 12 oz semi sweet. If I were to change the recipe, I'd add a bit of salt. That's it though. All in all, pretty good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      I made these for DH for St. Patty's Day. He LOVED. He decalred that they were extremely rich and awesome. I used a half bittersweet chocolate and half dark chocolate. My butter was salted, it was all I had on hand, and my beer was draught instead of stout. I also used whole wheat pastry flour. I did have to bake them for almost 10 minutes more than the time suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

    • on January 12, 2009

      These were very dense and chocolaty ... not sweet enough for me. They were almost fudgy. I served them with irish cream ice cream and they were very good - but I couldn't eat them alone. thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2008

      Took about ten more minutes to bake than recommended in the recipe, but other than that, they turned out great. I've already had requests to make these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2007

      These are insanely good! One of the best recipes I've ever tried!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2007

      The description of this brownie would be precisely accurate if you included "unbelievable." It was dense, moist, and all around perfect. Quite possibly the best brownie I've ever eaten and really easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2007

      I've been raving about these brownies non-stop since I made them for St. Pat's day this year! Don't let the Guinness scare you away, you can't taste the beer at all. I did bake them for about 30 minutes and the skewer was still not clean, but they were fine when they sat for a bit, so be careful not to overcook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      These brownies have been part of our St. Patrick's Day fare for two years now (this will be the third!). My husband and I love the density of them, and I am not a huge fan of sugar, so the fact that they aren't super sweet is wonderful. Add a scoop of vanilla ice cream, and you have the perfect dessert. Thank you for posting this different and yummy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2007

      These were not sweet enough for me and the taste of cocoa was way too strong. I didn't care for them, but my DH liked them with ice cream and hot fudge.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Guinness Brownies

    Serving Size: 1 (280 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 262.5
     
    Calories from Fat 73
    28%
    Total Fat 8.2 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.5 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 59.4 mg
    19%
    Sodium 33.8 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.2 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 13.6 g
    54%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes