19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were so stinking good. I did have two issues with the recipe as written though. There was so much batter that I just couldn't imagine trying to stuff it all into an 8x8 square pan so I used a 13x9. I filled that pan nearly half full. I also baked the brownies 10 minutes longer than stated. Taste was 5 star. I love to bake with guinness and chocolate and these brownies were no exception.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
invictus April 11, 2010

These are really amazing and different brownies! Definitely not an overly sweet flavor (which I prefer), and I didn't frost or sprinkle sugar on top, etc. When you're preparing these brownies it seems that there is a lot of Guinness in the recipe and the batter is really runny, but they bake absolutely perfectly in 25 minutes, as the recipe states. The most unique brownie I've ever had; thanks for suggesting the recipe, Nathalie!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EdsGirlAngie June 09, 2005

Wow - we had a lone bottle of Guinness in the fridge forever that we just couldn't get rid of since nobody seems to like it. This recipe sounded interesting, but I was really so surprised at how good these brownies are. I shared these with several people and everyone seemed to agree these were some of the richest and best brownies they'd ever had. (And everyone was amazed that there was beer in these! The Guinness adds an unmistakable complexity, but it doesn't taste at all like beer.) This is almost like eating a piece of fudge. They are very smooth and dense with a dark not-very-sweet chocolate flavor. I did not have any white chocolate so I substituted milk chocolate and added a bit of vanilla. I had some caramel topping I wanted to use up so I put that over the cooled brownies, although these are good enough to stand on their own. Thanks so much for this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vino Girl November 22, 2004

This were very good. Everyone who tried them agreed they seemed more like a torte than a brownie however. We also agreed that they needed a little frosting, which I did. As others recommended, I used a 9x13 pan and only used 3 eggs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
run for your life March 24, 2013

Yum! I also followed the other reviewer's suggestion of 3 eggs and longer cooking time; brownies turned out very moist and rich. Used 12oz semisweet chocolate vs bittersweet/white chocolate per recipe. Overall a great brownie I'll be making again! Excellent served warm with ice cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nikki123 March 18, 2012

The flavor of these was just what I was looking for, just bitter and sweet enough to complement the Guinness. However, even with the changes suggested to make them more 'fudgey' (3 eggs, 30 min) this still seemed more like a cake to me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MidsummerNightSprite March 10, 2012

Phenomenal! You can't tell that there's beer in them! A five star recipe with the changes suggested by other reviewers: larger pan, three eggs, 30 min. cook time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLKeysJen March 14, 2011

I made this recipe yesterday and they are really good! It's like a delicate guinness chocolate truffle, mmm!! I ued 3 eggs instead of 4 like someone suggested to make it more fudgy and I didn't use white chocolate. They came out delicious!!! The baking time is off for 5 to 10 mins since it does take a while longer. This recipe is a keeper for sure!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoHi February 21, 2011

Have made these twice now and we really enjoy them! The first time I made the recipe as stated, in an 8x8 pan which made me nervous it was going to overflow but it didn't. The brownies were more cake-like than we like so the second time I made them I only used 3 eggs (made a much fudgier brownie) and put them in a 13x9 pan. They turned out wonderful! I also put cream cheese frosting on top (I admit it is store-bought) because with the bitterness from the Guinness I seemed like it needed some more sweetness. The frosting did the trick. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bayliboehm May 21, 2010

I've never made brownies from scratch before. The texture is certainly different than any brownie I've ever had before. I thought it was strange that there was no baking powder or baking soda in the recipe, and that there was as much cocoa as there is flour. But, I have to say, once I got used to the difference of it (is this what brownies from scratch are really supposed to be like), I really grew to like it. The flavor is quite good. I couldn't afford white chocolate chips, so I just did 12 oz semi sweet. If I were to change the recipe, I'd add a bit of salt. That's it though. All in all, pretty good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jessimonster March 18, 2010
Guinness Brownies