12 Reviews

Loved it. Although I love beer bread. A rich hearty texture. The raising and spice gave it seasoning. I made it actually as is and no complaints. I was asked for the recipe which I passed along as the Zaar recipe online so they can find it. I make beer bread all the time and this was great. I served it with a honey butter and I served Irish Soda bread with a orange zest butter so they had their pick. It was absolutely great. Thx so much. Definitely making again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook March 17, 2010

I followed the directions except that I did substitute dried cranberries for the raisins as suggeted in one of the reviews. What a disappointment. We didn't like the heavy texture, and the only flavor that came through was the cranberries. Sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
calla47 December 23, 2009

This recipe has to be made (and eaten) to be believed. It is so good every person who tasted it (I took the result to work) demanded to have the recipe. Even people who don't usually bake! I also used dried cranberries as I prefer them to raisins and the result smelled, looked and tasted gorgeous. I happened to have a a large bottle of Guinnes at hand so drinking the rest of it after I baked was an added bonus! :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
t_kontou May 18, 2009

Fabulously easy and yummy. Warning: it needs a full 45 -50 minutes of baking; the first time I made it, I took it out of the oven after 40 minutes because the toothpick came out clean.... but the bread was still VERY goopy when I took it out of the pan. It takes such a short time to make, I just turned around and made a second loaf! A definite keeper: fast to make, falls out of the pan without a crumb missing, delicious warm or cold, slices easily, full of vitamins...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cadasb March 17, 2009

This is an unbelievably easy and delicious bread. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweet_and_saucy March 16, 2008

This was good. I omitted the nuts and raisins because of the kids, but they liked the bread. It had a good taste, but not a beer tastes. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brian48195 March 09, 2008

Quick and easy. Flavorful and nice texture. I didn't have self-rising flour so I followed sudmom's suggestion and added 3 3/4 tsp of baking powder and 3 pinches of salt to regular flour. The raisins were okay in this, but I'd probably leave them out next time as a personal preference. Thanks for sharing. Very good bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littleturtle February 29, 2008

I just made this for our Irish Night Dinner. Needless to say, my roommate asked me not to take it to the dinner. Everyone there complimented the recipe. I ended up giving it out to a number of people. So sweet, so flavorful. Just a great bread in general. Thank you for posting it. This will be enjoyed many times over and I may have to play a bit to see if I can get it lower in cal and fat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merihastyent March 25, 2006

I made this bread for eveyone in my family for xmas big hit the only down fall to it is i hate the smell of guenniess! I have orders from alll the family and others for this bread for st. patricks day!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
darcy-darling February 01, 2006

This is a wonderfully sweet and moist bread. I love most beer breads, so was surprised to find that this one has no "beery" taste to it, which, since it's sweet, was a concern for me. It's also quick and easy enough to be prepared in minutes. I had it toasted and spread with cream cheese for breakfast this morning...perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vina January 08, 2006
Guinness Bread