Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Guinness Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Guinness Bread

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on March 17, 2010

      Loved it. Although I love beer bread. A rich hearty texture. The raising and spice gave it seasoning. I made it actually as is and no complaints. I was asked for the recipe which I passed along as the Zaar recipe online so they can find it. I make beer bread all the time and this was great. I served it with a honey butter and I served Irish Soda bread with a orange zest butter so they had their pick. It was absolutely great. Thx so much. Definitely making again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      I followed the directions except that I did substitute dried cranberries for the raisins as suggeted in one of the reviews. What a disappointment. We didn't like the heavy texture, and the only flavor that came through was the cranberries. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      This recipe has to be made (and eaten) to be believed. It is so good every person who tasted it (I took the result to work) demanded to have the recipe. Even people who don't usually bake! I also used dried cranberries as I prefer them to raisins and the result smelled, looked and tasted gorgeous. I happened to have a a large bottle of Guinnes at hand so drinking the rest of it after I baked was an added bonus! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      Fabulously easy and yummy. Warning: it needs a full 45 -50 minutes of baking; the first time I made it, I took it out of the oven after 40 minutes because the toothpick came out clean.... but the bread was still VERY goopy when I took it out of the pan. It takes such a short time to make, I just turned around and made a second loaf! A definite keeper: fast to make, falls out of the pan without a crumb missing, delicious warm or cold, slices easily, full of vitamins...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      This is an unbelievably easy and delicious bread. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      This was good. I omitted the nuts and raisins because of the kids, but they liked the bread. It had a good taste, but not a beer tastes. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2008

      Quick and easy. Flavorful and nice texture. I didn't have self-rising flour so I followed sudmom's suggestion and added 3 3/4 tsp of baking powder and 3 pinches of salt to regular flour. The raisins were okay in this, but I'd probably leave them out next time as a personal preference. Thanks for sharing. Very good bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2006

      I just made this for our Irish Night Dinner. Needless to say, my roommate asked me not to take it to the dinner. Everyone there complimented the recipe. I ended up giving it out to a number of people. So sweet, so flavorful. Just a great bread in general. Thank you for posting it. This will be enjoyed many times over and I may have to play a bit to see if I can get it lower in cal and fat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2006

      I made this bread for eveyone in my family for xmas big hit the only down fall to it is i hate the smell of guenniess! I have orders from alll the family and others for this bread for st. patricks day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2006

      This is a wonderfully sweet and moist bread. I love most beer breads, so was surprised to find that this one has no "beery" taste to it, which, since it's sweet, was a concern for me. It's also quick and easy enough to be prepared in minutes. I had it toasted and spread with cream cheese for breakfast this morning...perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2005

      Wow! I made this for St. Patrick's Day party too and everyone loved it! Note that you need to use self rising flour. I didn't have any but you can use 1-1/4 t. of baking powder and a pinch of salt to each cup of flour and it will give you same results. I had serious doubts about this recipe because it was so quick and easy, but it was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2004

      This was a huge hit this St. Patrick's Day. I actually used Craisins (dried cranberries) instead of raising. Excellent blend of flavors - this disappeared very fast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Guinness Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (597 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 540.2
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    77%
    Total Fat 5.2 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 625.1 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 81.5 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 25.5 g
    102%
    Protein 8.4 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites