22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made this bread for St. Patty's Day 2011 and I received rave reviews from coworkers and my husband. I made some additions to this easy and already tasty recipe: replaced 1 cup of all purpose flour with Rye flour and 1/4 cup of vital wheat gluten, and added 1 Tbsp of Caraway seeds. Everyone said it was the perfect amount of rye with the savoriness of the caraway. The wheat gluten helped the bread rise beautifully (if not a bit lopsided too!) due to the addition of a heartier flour. Great recipe, will definitely make again anytime I've got Guinness at hand and we need a moist, delicious bread!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooking_neko83 March 19, 2011

This is by far the best *beer bread* I have ever eaten! Made as written using bread flour and as others commented, 50 minute bake time was just right. Thanks Felix for posting such a great beer bread recipe :) Served with Papa D's Corned Beef and Cabbage

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Papa D 1946-2012 March 14, 2010

Yummy! You can definitely taste the Guiness in it. You could cut down the cooking time like the others mentioned; my crust was a little hard. This recipe was so easy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa P. March 19, 2008

This recipe produces a heavy, dense bread with a crunchy outer crust. Tasty! I believe it is im- proved with replacing l l/4 cups of white flour with rye and adding 2 tablespoons of caraway seeds. It baked in 50 minutes with no gooy center and a fine crumb. Great buttered and enjoyed with a good cup of coffee.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jkduffy1200 March 29, 2011

Tasty and simple you can't ask for much more.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pricele$$ December 22, 2010

A wonderful and easy beer bread recipe. I used a locally brewed doppelbock and it was delicious! I plan on making this recipe a few more times with more of my favorite beers!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melissulactosetolerant January 07, 2010

Was sifting through 'zaar to see if I should post my recipe; lo and behold, here it is! I only use 3 c flour (any combo of all-purpose, whole wheat and up to 1/2c bran). I let rise in a 200F oven for 20 minutes and then turn the oven up to 350F for 35 minutes. People think that I slaved away in the kitchen! Can be made with any non-lite beer. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dogsandwoods September 08, 2009

This was excellent just what I was looking for great size like a regular loaf of bread! The only thing I changed was the beer I used just a regular beer. Will make again and again! Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cathy Pete May 24, 2009

Wonderful flavor, texture and impressive size loaf. I added a cup or so of shredded sharp cheddar - yummm!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mekirem March 17, 2009
Guinness Beer Bread