Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Guinness Beer Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Guinness Beer Bread

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on March 19, 2011

      Made this bread for St. Patty's Day 2011 and I received rave reviews from coworkers and my husband. I made some additions to this easy and already tasty recipe: replaced 1 cup of all purpose flour with Rye flour and 1/4 cup of vital wheat gluten, and added 1 Tbsp of Caraway seeds. Everyone said it was the perfect amount of rye with the savoriness of the caraway. The wheat gluten helped the bread rise beautifully (if not a bit lopsided too!) due to the addition of a heartier flour. Great recipe, will definitely make again anytime I've got Guinness at hand and we need a moist, delicious bread!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      This is by far the best *beer bread* I have ever eaten! Made as written using bread flour and as others commented, 50 minute bake time was just right. Thanks Felix for posting such a great beer bread recipe :) Served with Papa D's Corned Beef and Cabbage

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      Yummy! You can definitely taste the Guiness in it. You could cut down the cooking time like the others mentioned; my crust was a little hard. This recipe was so easy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2011

      This recipe produces a heavy, dense bread with a crunchy outer crust. Tasty! I believe it is im- proved with replacing l l/4 cups of white flour with rye and adding 2 tablespoons of caraway seeds. It baked in 50 minutes with no gooy center and a fine crumb. Great buttered and enjoyed with a good cup of coffee.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      Tasty and simple you can't ask for much more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

    • on January 07, 2010

      A wonderful and easy beer bread recipe. I used a locally brewed doppelbock and it was delicious! I plan on making this recipe a few more times with more of my favorite beers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      Was sifting through 'zaar to see if I should post my recipe; lo and behold, here it is! I only use 3 c flour (any combo of all-purpose, whole wheat and up to 1/2c bran). I let rise in a 200F oven for 20 minutes and then turn the oven up to 350F for 35 minutes. People think that I slaved away in the kitchen! Can be made with any non-lite beer. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2009

      This was excellent just what I was looking for great size like a regular loaf of bread! The only thing I changed was the beer I used just a regular beer. Will make again and again! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      Wonderful flavor, texture and impressive size loaf. I added a cup or so of shredded sharp cheddar - yummm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

    • on January 22, 2009

      I kept watch for the cooking time was off! Came out with a guinness after taste, which we love! Easy to make but sticky!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      Just another one for this recipe.. I use the 14.9 oz can of Guinness Draught and measure 1 1/2 cups for the recipe... So, while I'm making it I can also have a sip of beer...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      I made bread instead of a hard brick. This is such an easy recipe and one that will be made often in our house. As to the Guinness, it's only sold in 12oz bottles. I can say I cooking time end up being only 50 minutes. Angain thanks for such an easy and quick recipe. Made for the 2008 St. Patrick's Day Menu Challenge.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      Yes, this was a simple bread to make, with a rich aroma. I used the Guiness Stout. But beware...they now bottle it in 11.2 oz. bottles. So, make sure to check what size beer you have before starting. I think that I am going to make this again, but put the dough in muffin tins, to make individual loaves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      Made this with Sam Adams Double Bock, and the flavor was fantastic! Cooking time ended up being only about 50 minutes rather than 70. Thanks for the recipe! Will definitely make again, and pass along to friends!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2007

      Excellent recipe. This bread is so delicious. The best part though is how simple it is to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      I made this for the first time on St. Patrick's Day. Everyone loved it and asked me for the recipe. I will definitely make this again mainly because it was so easy to make and it taste great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2006

      I don't care much for Guinness, but this bread was very good with a pot of chili.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2005

      An excellent, hearty bread. Lots of flavor and substance but it wasn't heavy at all. I served it with Beef in Guinness #99019 and they complemented each other very well. Thanks for a great recipe Felix!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Guinness Beer Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (4794 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3937.7
     
    Calories from Fat 129
    29%
    Total Fat 14.4 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 372.0 mg
    124%
    Sodium 4820.8 mg
    200%
    Total Carbohydrate 584.8 g
    194%
    Dietary Fiber 13.5 g
    54%
    Sugars 51.6 g
    206%
    Protein 83.1 g
    166%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites