Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Guinness Beef Stew in a Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Guinness Beef Stew in a Crock Pot

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on January 24, 2010

      I love this stew, it is the best I have ever had! Tried it both with Guinness stout and draught (and once with Murphy's Irish Stout, and using a stout beer is the way to go. Gives it a richer flavor, not that flavor is lacking in this recipe. Works great in a crock pot, but I love it in a cast iron dutch oven too! You can use it to brown the meat and add the other ingredients and just pop it in the oven, I did 3 hours at 300 degrees but I am sure time/temp can be successfully tweaked. Thanks c.walsh for this recipe, I have passed it on to many family members!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2010

      Wonderful! I have made many stews over the years but this one is definitely at the top of the list. The only change I made was that I used "beef onion soup" mix. I can't say enough good things about this stew! Definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      Fantastic! Everyone loved it and wanted more. I used only 2 bay leaves, regular white mushrooms, only one can of tomato sauce and forgot the peas. I cooked it in the crock pot on high for 5 hours. I only had cans of Guinness on hand and used a whole can (14.9 oz). I'll definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2012

      Served this at an Irish themed dinner party. It was fan-tas-tic! I let everything sit in the crock pot all day and then, about 20 mins before dinner was to be served, ladled it out in a deep (large) corning ware dish and put a layer of phyllo on top. I then baked it for 20 mins or so at 350 to crisp the phyllo. It easily served eight of us and was delicious. There was enough leftovers for the four guys to have seconds of the stew (minus the "crust" as we finished that off rather quickly). Great recipe and I'll definitely serve it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      Yummmm! This was very tasty. I was out of celery, so I skipped that bit and used a stout I had on hand other than Guinness. I also used 2 small mock tenderloin roasts and put this in a 350 degree oven for 2.5 hours. I normally am not a big fan of stew, but this one is wonderful! (It was a bit salty though, so next time I will omit the salt in the recipe and add it individually if needed)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2007

      I thoroughly enjoyed the recipe as the Guinness provides a deep, rich flavor. I halved the entire recipe, except the beer and it just fit in my large crockpot. An entire beer in a halved recipe was excellent. I think next time I will try the full amounts and just use two crockpots because my husband and I both thought this was one of the best recipes we've tried and the leftovers are just as excellent. Thanks for sharing c.walsh!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2014

      I made this over the weekend for our office St. Patrick's Day lunch. I don't cook with a crock pot much so as a first time recipe I was hesitant. I had borrowed the crock pot. This is the most delicious, fool proof recipe, sure to please. There wasn't an ounce left in the crock pot after lunch. I would recommend this recipe to anyone even a novice like me. Enjoy and listen to everyone say. D E L I C I O U S.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2014

      Tasty! This is a very flavorful and hearty stew. We eat 'regular' stew often and this was a nice change. The spices and other add-ins gave the stew a wonderful and rich flavor. I served it with Beer Bread Beer Bread. We don't usually have beer on hand so I bought just one of the large 24oz. cans at the store rather than buying a six pack. I used half for the stew and the other half went into the Beer Bread recipe. It's definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2014

      I hate beef stew, well I used to. My husband wanted me to make some I scoured the internet and stumbled upon this little jem. Let me start off by saying I am NOT a cook. My claim to fame in the kitchen when it comes to cooking is Spam sandwiches and one mean grilled cheese sandwich. I made this stew and it is amazing. I didn't use peas, I honestly forgot about them. I also forgot the tomato sauce so I just added a little extra beer and water and add a small amount of flour to thicken it up. Mind you, I just did all of this on the fly. I am a horrible cook but this recipe is amazing. I'm sure if you actually followed the recipe to the "T" it would be even better. My only complain and this one falls on myself is, I didn't cut the potatoes up small enough and some were still a little under done. Make this stew! You won't be sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2013

      Terrific recipe....I thickened the gravy with a roux using two ladles of juice with butter/flour for the last half hour on high heat (bubbling) while I baked my rolls. YUMMO!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2013

      Tasted great! Next time, I'll use a little less beef, but that is just my personal taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2012

      This is best beef stew I've ever made! The broth is incredibly thick and flavorful (even though I skipped the creole seasoning). Easy recipe to follow; the longer it heats in the crock pot the better it comes out!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2012

      Unbelievable. I followed the recipe exactly except to use a different creole seasoning, and it was fantastic. Very easy to prep, and the flavors were excellent. My husband's only suggestion was that it "could be thicker". I tossed the beef cubes in the flour mixture and then discarded the flour that did not stick to the beef -- perhaps that should have gone in the pot too... Oh well! Everyone else loved it, and it was perfect for feeding a hungry crowd on St. Patrick's Day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      Fantastic- very rich and flavorful. I didn't have creole seasoning, so I don't know how much of a difference it would have made. Regardless of the omission, my family and I loved this recipe. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      Mmm - this is wonderful! Rich in flavor! I'm so sad that I don't have any leftovers!! I did run late from shopping and decided to make the stew in the oven. I used a 300 degree oven and stewed it for 3 hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      So good and rich. My only regret was that I was actually home while it cooked all day and had to smell the wonderful aroma for 8 hours. My husband and I both loved it and will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Guinness Beef Stew in a Crock Pot

    Serving Size: 1 (542 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 411.9
     
    Calories from Fat 85
    20%
    Total Fat 9.5 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 87.0 mg
    29%
    Sodium 663.0 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.9 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 6.2 g
    24%
    Sugars 7.8 g
    31%
    Protein 36.5 g
    73%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes