9 Reviews

This was excellent! The smell as it cooked was wonderful and it tasted even better than it smelled. We served this as our main dish for St. Patrick's Day, but we will make this often - not just for holidays. This was the most delicious beef stew I've ever tasted - and plan to serve this again in a few weeks for company. I think the secret ingredients were the Guinness Stout and the prunes - don't be tempted to substitute either ingredient. Perfect!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather March 18, 2002

This recipe was bloody yummy to say the least! It awakened alot of taste sensations. It was great. Well done.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sam1 August 25, 2002

A truly great recipe. Sorry but I did not have a single prune in our house.We do not seem to have a use for them yet, but I did have dried cranberries and I put them in also 6 white skinned potatoes.I also made spoon dumplings and added them in the oven the last 30min.We will serve this stew over and over again .Sharron cant chef in the house

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sharron cant April 14, 2002

My family and guests absolutely loved this dish. I didn't have any prunes, and when I tasted the sauce it was quite bitter, so I added 1/4 cup molasses before baking. It smelled heavenly while it was cooking! I served it with colcannon for a St. Patrick's Day dinner and got rave reviews plus several requests for the recipe. I'll definitely make this one again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JolieCat August 17, 2010

Truly is outstanding! I made this in place of the recipe I usually use and after rave reviews will always use it for beef stew. Since my crew refuses to eat anything at all with prune, I added about 2 T of dark molasses instead. Thanks for posting this one, it is great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Dragon Mom March 29, 2007

I found the combination of flavors in this recipe very odd, tending toward the sweet. Together with the slightly bitter beer flavor and the sweetness of the prunes and sweetened onions, it made me never want to make this again. You could leave out the brown sugar and the prunes. But then, why not just go on to a better recipe? My partner just said,"Boy, I can't wait until we finish this" for the three nights we ate it over noodles.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mooka March 31, 2004

My family really enjoyed this recipe! It looked like a normal beef stew you would buy in the can, but the taste was defiently unique, and much better! I also added potatoes but would recommend either cooking the stew longer or on a little higher tempurature to make the potatoes and carrots a bit more tender. Went great with the Guiness brown bread recipe I also found on Recipezaar!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adam strodtbeck December 04, 2002

This recipe was wonderful. The combination of the Guinness and prunes gave the gravy a very nice balance between slightly bitter and slightly sweet. I tasted the sauce before the casserole went into the oven (for seasoning), again before the prunes went in, and after it had finished cooking. The sauce tasted completely different each time, progressively more mellow and less bitter each time. The prunes were a critical addition, giving the gravy it's final smooth sweet tinge. This is not to say that the gravy was sticky sweet, it was not...it was perfect! We'll make this again and again and again. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Akikobay October 17, 2002

Very easy to make and very tasty. I omitted the prunes, doubled the beer and added diced potatoes. I'm a garlic monster so I increased that too. The gravy was delicious and the meat was fork tender. This one is definitely repeatable and the kids love it enough to eat some after school instead of the usual junk.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
burnsie September 30, 2002
Guinness Beef Stew