Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Guinness and Filet Mignon Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Guinness and Filet Mignon Chili

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-38 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on October 18, 2006

      I've now made this chili 4 times, I follow this recipe exactly and it's always a big hit - served with shredded cheddar on top and fresh buns on the side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2006

      very good chili recipe, i did cut back on the butter by half, and wish i added another can or two of beans, but all the seasonings were perfect, and i used the whole bottle of stout, cheers, and thanks for the keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2006

      Chili with a kick! Made a few changes - less ground beef (about 1,2 kg), butter and cheese and 2 cans of beans, and only 2 cups of beef broth (this only because I misread the recipe while making it, but I have to say I didn't miss the extra liquid at all!). GREAT chili! DH adored this - it was a bit too meaty for my taste but the spice combo is superb! Will definitely go into our make-again file!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2006

      DH loved this. Asked me to add it to the keeper file, and make it again. I wouldn't change a thing. If you reeeally like a beer bite to your chili, just add the whole bottle of beer. LOL Otherwise the taste is not really obvious for you non-beer persons.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2006

      absolutly the best chile i've ever made or eaten! i give the recipe to everyone i know because they agree with me. very easy to make. the only thing i suggest is you make sure you have a huge pot. i just have a regular big one and at the end where everything is added i need to use 2 pots.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2006

      Made this for a family gathering along with Turkey chili, I prefer turkey chili, but by the time I went back to the stove, this Chili was all gone! I would say thats a definate sign of a 5 star recipe. Thanks, everyone really liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2006

      If you are going to make chili, make this recipe! It was soooooo delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and it was out of this world!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2006

      The BEST chili I have ever tasted! The only change I made was to halve the recipe...Big Mistake! The next day everyone fought over the leftovers and there wasn't enough to go around.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2006

      Try this chili recipe -- it's SO SO good! A couple notes -- we didn't use Filet Mignon, we used Beef Sirloin or something like that -- a good cut of meat, but not Filet Mignon. The chunks of steak really do make a difference, I wouldn't skip that part. Other changes we made involve the tomatoes and beans. The recipe didn't call for enough, in our opinion. So instead of 1 cup each of red kidney beans and black beans, we used 2 cans of black beans, 1 can of red kidney beans and 1 can of white kidney beans. The mix of beans was very good, I'd recommend it. And for the tomatoes, instead of what the recipe called for, we used two 6-oz cans tomato paste, and two 28-oz cans of crushed tomatoes. Again, this is a change we'd recommend. The chili is INCREDIBLY filling, very delicious, and goes a long long way. The recipe as it is on the site is 15 servings, with the changes we made, my husband, daughter, and I ate it for four meals on a ski trip out west, and three meals here at home. That's 21 VERY satisfying servings. Hubby and I each supplemented with one slice of whole grain bread, daughter had 2 slices of whole grain bread with butter. We all had an 8-oz glass of milk to go with, and fruit for after. If you like chili, I'd def try this one out. An hour and a half of cooking will serve you for many days, if you are only cooking for a few. We just put the servings in zip lock bags (one for each day) and chucked them in the freezer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2006

      This is a meaty, filling chili. It's a little more work than my normal chili recipe, but well worth it. It makes a ton, so I might consider cutting the recipe in half next time. I froze 1/2 of it so we can have it again real soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2006

      Best chili I have ever made! My husband loved it. I thought the mix of the hamburger and steak was great. It's good enough to serve to guests. Next time I might leave out the cheese and just sprinkle a bit on the top of each bowl.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2005

      I love meaty chilis and this was certainly meaty. I also like the fact that there weren't a lot of beans in this recipe, too many chilis end up being all beans. I've tried many chili recipes in the past and this by far is the best I've ever found. My BF LOVED this chili. Next time I will add some cayenne pepper as we like things with a bit more heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2005

      Super super good. Husband couldn't stop talking about it! However, I thought there was a little too much ground sirloin so I cut it in half next time and just added the whole can of beans. Personal preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2005

      Wow. I made this recipe for our neighborhood block party for St. Patty's Day...I don't usually "test" a recipe on 25 people but I'm glad I did. And so are they. I followed exactly although I didn't add quite as much butter at the end. I did add all the cheese. All I know is that I barely had to clean the pot, since people were actually taking their Irish soda bread and literally wiping the pot! Thank you for sharing Miller. A definite keeper~ --Marla, AZ

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2005

      this is the best chili i've ever made. i used an entire can of guiness and added some minced garlic. it turned out great. will definitely keep this recipe. thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2005

      This is the best chili ever. I added two cans of guiness because we love beer. It was gone in an hour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2004

      FANTASTIC!! We loved this! I also scaled the recipe down in terms of the meat but still put in plenty of tomatoes and beans because DDs love them. Also put more guinness than stated because DH liked the sound of that. Thanks for posting - we will definitely be replacing our usual chilli recipe with this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2003

      My whole family loved this chili. I cut the recipe in half and used a whole bottle of budweiser insted of guinness. It was much faster to make that my usual chili.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Guinness and Filet Mignon Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (395 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 630.1
     
    Calories from Fat 359
    56%
    Total Fat 39.9 g
    61%
    Saturated Fat 19.9 g
    99%
    Cholesterol 167.8 mg
    55%
    Sodium 806.4 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.6 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 43.3 g
    86%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    crushed tomatoes

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes