38 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was one of the best, if not THE best chilis we've ever had!!! Cooked it in the crockpot for about 7 hours instead of stovetop, but it turned out perfectly!!! The filet and ground sirloin together were fab!!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kirstin in the Couv December 18, 2002

ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL! I added just a little more of the Guiness and chili powder, but this was amazing! This will steal the show at our next tailgate!!! Do use the filet if you can, this gourmet chili!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TamiM September 22, 2008

This was SUPERB! I scaled the recipe down & cooked it in the slow cooker. I left out a lot of the butter & salt because I felt it didn't need it. Even scaled down it seemed like a lot of chilli powder, so I cut that back too, but next time I'll be braver. It was not as hot as we'd like which was entirely my fault. The depth of flavors & the lovely rich color make this recipe worth more than 5 stars, & my new favorite way to make chilli. I have used beer in chilli before, but the Guiness really added something special. Thanks Miller for sharing, & thanks to Chef kirstin in oregon for making the recommendation! :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsSPheonix June 06, 2003

I made this for a large Twelfth Night celebration. I wanted something I could make for a large group in the AM and be ready for an early dinner, so I modified this as a crockpot meal. I browned the meat in the butter as called for and then boiled the Guiness. I used about double the amount of Guiness called for and about 1/3 less meat. I also could not find ground sirloin, so I just bought sirlion steaks and cut them up like the filet. In addition, I added more beans and tomatoes than called for. Everyone really loved it, I doubled the recipe, fed over 20 people and still had leftovers for the week.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xnomom January 14, 2013

Great Chili recipe! I did follow some other suggestions and added 1/2 cup of butter, 2 lbs ground sirloin, a full bottle of beer, full can of black beans and red beans. I also added 1/4 cup of Expresso and used Wondra to thicken it at the end. I cooked the meat on the stove, drained the grease off and cooked it in the crock pot. Will definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JFitz September 28, 2011

Great Flavor and texture!! I did however, double the chili pepper, beans, Guinness and used a cheaper cut of steak.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nana_G January 01, 2011

Delicious and FUN to make! I cut the ground beef down by 2 lbs. and it was still very meaty. I didn't use the flour or the butter either... but I would like to try it next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LynnAlex November 13, 2010

This was an awesome chili recipe. I made very few changes which included reducing the beef by 2 pounds and adding black beans and garbanzo beans in place of it and I added green pepper and about 8 cloves of garlic and a full beer. I did omit the flour completely.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jsgood November 03, 2010

Made this for our annual chili cook-off last night and took 1st place. I did leave out the butter, increase the beans, broth and beer to a full can each and used a can of chopped green chilis as suggested by another reviewer. Obviously a winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zetty66 April 18, 2010
Guinness and Filet Mignon Chili