Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Guinness and Filet Mignon Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Guinness and Filet Mignon Chili

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on December 18, 2002

      This was one of the best, if not THE best chilis we've ever had!!! Cooked it in the crockpot for about 7 hours instead of stovetop, but it turned out perfectly!!! The filet and ground sirloin together were fab!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL! I added just a little more of the Guiness and chili powder, but this was amazing! This will steal the show at our next tailgate!!! Do use the filet if you can, this gourmet chili!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2003

      This was SUPERB! I scaled the recipe down & cooked it in the slow cooker. I left out a lot of the butter & salt because I felt it didn't need it. Even scaled down it seemed like a lot of chilli powder, so I cut that back too, but next time I'll be braver. It was not as hot as we'd like which was entirely my fault. The depth of flavors & the lovely rich color make this recipe worth more than 5 stars, & my new favorite way to make chilli. I have used beer in chilli before, but the Guiness really added something special. Thanks Miller for sharing, & thanks to Chef kirstin in oregon for making the recommendation! :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2013

      I made this for a large Twelfth Night celebration. I wanted something I could make for a large group in the AM and be ready for an early dinner, so I modified this as a crockpot meal. I browned the meat in the butter as called for and then boiled the Guiness. I used about double the amount of Guiness called for and about 1/3 less meat. I also could not find ground sirloin, so I just bought sirlion steaks and cut them up like the filet. In addition, I added more beans and tomatoes than called for. Everyone really loved it, I doubled the recipe, fed over 20 people and still had leftovers for the week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2011

      Great Chili recipe! I did follow some other suggestions and added 1/2 cup of butter, 2 lbs ground sirloin, a full bottle of beer, full can of black beans and red beans. I also added 1/4 cup of Expresso and used Wondra to thicken it at the end. I cooked the meat on the stove, drained the grease off and cooked it in the crock pot. Will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      Great Flavor and texture!! I did however, double the chili pepper, beans, Guinness and used a cheaper cut of steak.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2010

      Delicious and FUN to make! I cut the ground beef down by 2 lbs. and it was still very meaty. I didn't use the flour or the butter either... but I would like to try it next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2010

      This was an awesome chili recipe. I made very few changes which included reducing the beef by 2 pounds and adding black beans and garbanzo beans in place of it and I added green pepper and about 8 cloves of garlic and a full beer. I did omit the flour completely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      Made this for our annual chili cook-off last night and took 1st place. I did leave out the butter, increase the beans, broth and beer to a full can each and used a can of chopped green chilis as suggested by another reviewer. Obviously a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

    • on November 06, 2008

      This was really good. And it makes A LOT! I added a chopped red pepper and one celery stalk. I used a small can of chopped green chilis. I used a whole can of each kind of bean, so it was just less than two cups of each type of bean. I also omitted all of the butter. I did this in the slow cooker on low for about 5 hours, then turned it up to high for a couple hours b/c I was hoping the liquid would evaporate. Once I got all the ingredients in it was overflowing. I had to take a potful out and do it on the stove. I also used a whole can of Guiness and added extra broth because I was worried it wouldn't be enough liquid. Turned out to be a bit too liquidy. I love meat, but this is almost too much. I recommend browning the ground beef before putting it in the slow cooker. It will keep it's shape better. The taste was great, I will definately make this again with some modifications. I'll likely not use ground beef, but use cubed meat only, and I'll likely add more veggies and beans. I guess because I added so much broth and didn't cook the ground beef before hand, it was way too liquid when I served it. I added about 2 tbsp cornstarch towards the end, but it was still rather thin. However, it's been just right as leftovers this week. And I've frozen the rest for upcoming lunches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      Unreal how good this is, the flavor is perfect, the meat is amazing, my family just can not say enough about it, and we will be eating it for days. A must try for the next time we have company.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      Very Good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      I BBQ the steak and add 1/2 tsp. of sage and about a half cup of dark coffee to this. It's going to rock your world! It's not too spicey and has wonderful flavor. ENJOY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      I modify this just a tiny bit. I add some tequila or red wine near the end. I add a little sage and I BBQ the filet. All said and done, this recepe is fantastic. You will impress all who partake of this meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      Fantastic chili - great base to start or finish...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2007

      Absolutely Great. Did not use the beer and it was fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      Absolutely amazing!! I added a LOT more Guinness than the recipe alled for and thought it still could have used more...but my hubby loved it!! Definitely keeping this one!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2007

      Guiness? I *hate* stout! Well, I sure didn't in this recipe. We had a contest between this an "The Best Chili You'll Ever Taste" (#73166). We couldn't make up our minds! I ended up creating my own recipe that was a mix of both but we decided - we should choose between the two. They're perfectly balanced flavors. Great job Mille!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2006

      Very luxurious--I spent $60 on meat alone! Wasn't sure which 'chili pepper' was called for, so I used a small green bell pepper. I found the white pepper dominated the flavour; perhaps this was intended but I would advise 1 tsp then add more to taste. I also suggest calling the kosher salt 'optional'. I see no point in saving 400 mg of sodium by using low-salt ingredients then adding 4 grams as an ingredient. Perhaps that goes without saying... All in all a good chili, but I doubt I will spend the cash to make it again. Make it once, treat your in-laws, and bask in its richness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Guinness and Filet Mignon Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (395 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 630.1
     
    Calories from Fat 359
    56%
    Total Fat 39.9 g
    61%
    Saturated Fat 19.9 g
    99%
    Cholesterol 167.8 mg
    55%
    Sodium 806.4 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.6 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 43.3 g
    86%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    crushed tomatoes

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites