31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Took this appetizer to a neighbor's cookout. I advised the group that I found this new recipe when looking for an appetizer using fresh asparagus. I followed the recipe and reviews, adding the lime juice and processing the mixture into small chucks and served it with Stacy's pita chips. The vote was a NO for liking it and the leftover was pitched down the drain! Guess we Texans prefer our avocado guacamole!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nana Five July 09, 2012

I thought this was very tasty. With the lime juice and salt added, it did really have a taste similar to guac. Mine didn't turn out anything like the picture either, but that probably has more to do with the asparagus (I was using small ones) and my lack of cooking skills. :D Still tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5 Mule Team June 20, 2012

This doesn't taste a lot like regular guacamole, but it is still very good and definitely close enough to satisfy the craving. I added lime juice and used onions instead of scallions because I didn't have any. Will definitely make again for a no-fat version of guacamole.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BtNugget June 08, 2012

Saved by the bell.............To die for!!! You just have to try this!!! A gift from Above for sure!!! Thank you,Thank you, Thank you!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jill Sherstobitoff June 22, 2010

I must've missed something. This is just OK -- it tastes like asparagus blended with salsa, not guacamole at all, to me. If I did it over again, I would use the thickest salsa I could find instead of the watery pico de gallo-style I used. And chop the asparagus into smaller pieces before processing, because I over-processed it trying to get it down to uniform pieces. It came out too smooth and watery and soupy and looks nothing like the pic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smcsf11 April 21, 2010

HOLY GUACAMOLE!!! This was so good!!! My friends also LOVED it. I found it to be a little liquidy, but the taste was spot-on. Tastes like a million calories, but no! Dreams DO come true! I'll be making this ALL SUMMER LONG, and every summer for the rest of my life. YAY!!! Thanks, Mirj!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emily C April 11, 2010

This is amazing. My son is allergic to Avocados and does not like many veggies. I had him try this and he ate most of the bowl. It truly does taste like Guac. Thank u for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellyv53 April 06, 2010

Are you kidding me?? This is so good and since fresh asparagus is in season this is the perfect healthy refreshing spring time dip! With the help of other comments I used the recommended the juice of 1/2 a lime I also added some chopped jalapeno and served w/endive spears –next time I think I will try it w/a mango salsa and pita chips. Thank you for this awesome recipe I will use it often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NewWifey March 30, 2010

I thought it was really good. I stopped eating avocados b/c I'm on the "Eating 4 your Blood Type" diet. I had a hard time giving them up (I ate them daily) but I feel so much better! Apparently, a lot of people are allergic to them and don't even know it. Anyway, my joints use to really hurt and two weeks after I gave them up no more pain. This recipe is so good that it will be a regular at my house. I think I will add a little lemon & cumin next time. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krisarrieta January 31, 2010

I agree that this doesn't taste exactly like guacamole but I think it tastes pretty good and when you have to follow a very low fat diet (such as I am) then you have to 'make do' a lot of the time. To me this was a very good 'make do' recipe. I used frozen asparagus as it was what I had in the house and I used it in a burrito dish with lowfat refried beans.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah_Jayne September 20, 2007
Guilt Free Guacamole ( Asparagus )