31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Two thumbs up MIrj! I used hot salsa, used garlic and added juice of half a lime. All I can say is: YUM YUM!! And look at the calorie count; is this heavenly or WHAT! Thank you so much for the recipe. I will be making lots of this as asparagus are in season.

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Izzy Knight October 08, 2002

Boy, when I read this recipe I thought, "No way can this taste like guacamole." But you can believe it! It's really, really similar. I'd blend the asparagus separately to get a smooth consistency, cause it needs it. Then, pulse briefly when including the salsa (or fresh tomato/onion/pepper)and cilantro. Also, add lime juice. .3 grams of fat, can't beat that!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Drea777 November 11, 2002

OMGosh. I just want to run through the streets screaming. This is miraculous. I love guacamole but seldom indulge because it is so high in fat and I can't eat just a little bit. I have to eat it all. This alternative is really very good. I did like Izzy and added the juice of half a lime and used hot salsa. Bravo Mirj!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laylagirl December 08, 2002

What a great find! I made this for my mother, who likes guacamole but won't eat it due to the fat content. DH was to taste test and called me on my cell phone to say "Oh, my gosh, this is sooooo good! Can we give it 6 stars?" The batch hasn't gotten to mom and now I need to make another one. I used the cilantro and scallion ice cubes (thawed, of course) I had and fresh asparagus. Thanks for this recipe! We will be enjoying lots of asparagus this spring.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ducky April 11, 2003

Made SO many times, never been poorly received by anyone! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ilovebunsen March 31, 2010

I was surprised at how much this tastes like guacamole! I agree it's not completely the same, but it's still excellent. I told everyone it was "mock-amole". I'll definitely make it often!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dani1122 July 11, 2009

A wonderful alternative to high-fat REAL guacamole. I added the juice of half a lime which gave it a much more realistic flavor. Basically I was trying this because I had all the ingredients on hand and wanted to see what it would taste like. It's very good and I will make it again. If I were serving to guests I would call it asparagus dip because of the smell and of course it doesn't have the buttery creamy-ness of avocados. For saving fat and calories you can't beat this stuff, it really is a guilt free treat! Thanks for this winner Mirj.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie in Indy January 01, 2008

It was very good and spicy and the appearance was flawless...BUT I didn't think it tasted a lot like real guacamole. I think I might use half the asparagus next time and sub in half an avocado so I can still have a pretty guilt-free accompaniment with the flavor/texture only real avocado can apparently give.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WindyCityHealthyChef September 12, 2007

This was very good. I used the bottled cilantro salsa. I also froze the leftovers with great success. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paka June 26, 2007

This was unbelievable! My husband and I frequent Mexican resturants all the time. We could not believe how much it tasted like real guacamole. I'm now having to make this for my husband everyday. It's so easy to make. I use a can of asparagus spears, cilantro, cilantro salsa, garlic, and a dash of cumin. The flavor is just heavenly.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsBaton June 15, 2003
Guilt Free Guacamole ( Asparagus )