Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Guilt Free Guacamole ( Asparagus ) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Guilt Free Guacamole ( Asparagus )

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on October 08, 2002

      Two thumbs up MIrj! I used hot salsa, used garlic and added juice of half a lime. All I can say is: YUM YUM!! And look at the calorie count; is this heavenly or WHAT! Thank you so much for the recipe. I will be making lots of this as asparagus are in season.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2002

      Boy, when I read this recipe I thought, "No way can this taste like guacamole." But you can believe it! It's really, really similar. I'd blend the asparagus separately to get a smooth consistency, cause it needs it. Then, pulse briefly when including the salsa (or fresh tomato/onion/pepper)and cilantro. Also, add lime juice. .3 grams of fat, can't beat that!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2002

      OMGosh. I just want to run through the streets screaming. This is miraculous. I love guacamole but seldom indulge because it is so high in fat and I can't eat just a little bit. I have to eat it all. This alternative is really very good. I did like Izzy and added the juice of half a lime and used hot salsa. Bravo Mirj!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2003

      What a great find! I made this for my mother, who likes guacamole but won't eat it due to the fat content. DH was to taste test and called me on my cell phone to say "Oh, my gosh, this is sooooo good! Can we give it 6 stars?" The batch hasn't gotten to mom and now I need to make another one. I used the cilantro and scallion ice cubes (thawed, of course) I had and fresh asparagus. Thanks for this recipe! We will be enjoying lots of asparagus this spring.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2010

      Made SO many times, never been poorly received by anyone! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

      I was surprised at how much this tastes like guacamole! I agree it's not completely the same, but it's still excellent. I told everyone it was "mock-amole". I'll definitely make it often!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      A wonderful alternative to high-fat REAL guacamole. I added the juice of half a lime which gave it a much more realistic flavor. Basically I was trying this because I had all the ingredients on hand and wanted to see what it would taste like. It's very good and I will make it again. If I were serving to guests I would call it asparagus dip because of the smell and of course it doesn't have the buttery creamy-ness of avocados. For saving fat and calories you can't beat this stuff, it really is a guilt free treat! Thanks for this winner Mirj.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2007

      It was very good and spicy and the appearance was flawless...BUT I didn't think it tasted a lot like real guacamole. I think I might use half the asparagus next time and sub in half an avocado so I can still have a pretty guilt-free accompaniment with the flavor/texture only real avocado can apparently give.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      This was very good. I used the bottled cilantro salsa. I also froze the leftovers with great success. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2003

      This was unbelievable! My husband and I frequent Mexican resturants all the time. We could not believe how much it tasted like real guacamole. I'm now having to make this for my husband everyday. It's so easy to make. I use a can of asparagus spears, cilantro, cilantro salsa, garlic, and a dash of cumin. The flavor is just heavenly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2012

      Took this appetizer to a neighbor's cookout. I advised the group that I found this new recipe when looking for an appetizer using fresh asparagus. I followed the recipe and reviews, adding the lime juice and processing the mixture into small chucks and served it with Stacy's pita chips. The vote was a NO for liking it and the leftover was pitched down the drain! Guess we Texans prefer our avocado guacamole!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2012

      I thought this was very tasty. With the lime juice and salt added, it did really have a taste similar to guac. Mine didn't turn out anything like the picture either, but that probably has more to do with the asparagus (I was using small ones) and my lack of cooking skills. :D Still tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2012

      This doesn't taste a lot like regular guacamole, but it is still very good and definitely close enough to satisfy the craving. I added lime juice and used onions instead of scallions because I didn't have any. Will definitely make again for a no-fat version of guacamole.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      Saved by the bell.............To die for!!! You just have to try this!!! A gift from Above for sure!!! Thank you,Thank you, Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2010

      I must've missed something. This is just OK -- it tastes like asparagus blended with salsa, not guacamole at all, to me. If I did it over again, I would use the thickest salsa I could find instead of the watery pico de gallo-style I used. And chop the asparagus into smaller pieces before processing, because I over-processed it trying to get it down to uniform pieces. It came out too smooth and watery and soupy and looks nothing like the pic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      HOLY GUACAMOLE!!! This was so good!!! My friends also LOVED it. I found it to be a little liquidy, but the taste was spot-on. Tastes like a million calories, but no! Dreams DO come true! I'll be making this ALL SUMMER LONG, and every summer for the rest of my life. YAY!!! Thanks, Mirj!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      This is amazing. My son is allergic to Avocados and does not like many veggies. I had him try this and he ate most of the bowl. It truly does taste like Guac. Thank u for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      Are you kidding me?? This is so good and since fresh asparagus is in season this is the perfect healthy refreshing spring time dip! With the help of other comments I used the recommended the juice of 1/2 a lime I also added some chopped jalapeno and served w/endive spears –next time I think I will try it w/a mango salsa and pita chips. Thank you for this awesome recipe I will use it often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      I thought it was really good. I stopped eating avocados b/c I'm on the "Eating 4 your Blood Type" diet. I had a hard time giving them up (I ate them daily) but I feel so much better! Apparently, a lot of people are allergic to them and don't even know it. Anyway, my joints use to really hurt and two weeks after I gave them up no more pain. This recipe is so good that it will be a regular at my house. I think I will add a little lemon & cumin next time. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      I agree that this doesn't taste exactly like guacamole but I think it tastes pretty good and when you have to follow a very low fat diet (such as I am) then you have to 'make do' a lot of the time. To me this was a very good 'make do' recipe. I used frozen asparagus as it was what I had in the house and I used it in a burrito dish with lowfat refried beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Guilt Free Guacamole ( Asparagus )

    Serving Size: 1 (92 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 23.7
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    19%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 139.7 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.8 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites