12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Rave reviews from kids and parents alike, even those who haven't had guava before. I use the food processor for the crust ingredients. I have used both the canned and vacuum bagged guava with equal results. I cut the guava (which is like sticky solid jam) in little cubes and distribute them on the crust. Easy and delicious. Alot like date bars but with a surprising 'tropical' flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellicious October 01, 2011

Loved it! Had Guava paste in my pantry and needed to use it. Found this recipe by searching the net, and its a keeper! Just sweet enough and not so bad for ya either!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lizataylor65 August 20, 2010

These bars are awesome. I made them for my daughter's communion and everyone LOVED them. I've already made them twice. GOYA makes the guava paste. You can find it at latin markets.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lorena_campos May 12, 2010

These are delicious. I made them for a Caribbean environmental fundraiser last year and they were such a hit, I've been asked to make them again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lavonda January 27, 2010

This recipe should come with a warning. They are so good I don't want to share them with the kids. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out great. I will make it again and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
devitve January 06, 2010

These were fantastic!! Thank you so much for this recipe. I could only find a can that was 1-1/2 #'s, and I used the whole thing. I liked the generous layer of fruit. Guava was a great filling, because it doesn't have an overpowering sweetness. Make sure you really press the crumb mixture well since it is a drier crust as you will see. Also I only baked for 25 minutes because my oven has a tendency to burn. Also I forgot to line the pan with foil and they turned out just fine.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OneBusyMomma August 23, 2008

This sounded awesome and I just HAD to give it a try. I'm a sucker for anything tropically flavored. I followed the instructions to the T and the bottoms came out burnt to a crisp. I think my oven's temperature is off and so I will have to try this a second time at a lower temperature. I'll leave an update at that time. By the by, the not burnt parts tasted awesome!LOL

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Narcisa July 20, 2008

Oh, I loved these! I have had guava paste in the pantry for a while and had no idea what recipe I was supposed to make with it, so when I saw this I knew I would have to try them. They are great! So easy to make too. I served them to the in-laws and they loved them too. Made for the Babes of ZWT4.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 July 04, 2008

Yummy! Because my children would recognize the appearance of the oats, I "milled" them in my food processor. Our dinner guests, and our children, LOVED these! Will definitely make them again. In fact, my friend requested the recipe and I quickly printed off a copy for her!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fgjolly August 01, 2007

Love these -- they are soooo good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
caperberry February 19, 2007
Guava Bars