Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Guasacaca (Wah-Sah-Kaka) Salsa De Venezuela Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Guasacaca (Wah-Sah-Kaka) Salsa De Venezuela

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on March 28, 2011

      Being born and raised in Caracas, Venezuela, allow me to say something:
      Guasacaca does not use Avocado on the recipe. Green & Red Peppers, Onions, Tomatoes, Garlic, Basil, Parsley, Oil (Corn Oil) and Vinegar. Everything finely chopped and let it simmer on the refrigerator overnight, covered. Guasacaca is typically found on all Steak house and Grill Houses and in Venezuelan Food Restaurants, it goes wonderfully with Beef, Chicken and Pork, Sausages and so on. Is typically on your table and then you get the oven baked arepitas, split them by the middle and stuff it with the Guasacaca. People also used when eating Empanadas, for breakfast and lunch, or any time of the day. The garlic taste has to be enough but not too much to overwhelm the other flavor on the pot. If you want to spicy it a little, you can add some freshly ground black pepper, or use Red Onions (Purple Onions in Venezuela o Morada as we called them down there). Check for the Arepas recipe, make them in the small version and try it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2011

      Made this for Super Bowl-doubled the recipe. Used a red onion and lime juice, instead of lemon. Not a scrap was left in the bowl. Much prettier presentation than guacamole, also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      Absolutely delicious! Next time, I am going to have to double it for my crowd - there was a fight over the last of it! We enjoyed it with chips & I'm eager to try it over enchiladas too. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      I love this for get-togethers, and just remembered I never reviewed it! Most of the time I double the recipe, since it really goes fast. The recipe is great as written. However, I usually omit the green pepper and reduce the salt to 1/2 tsp., then add more if needed after being assembled. Some variations are using lime juice in place of lemon juice, if you have it on hand. I also sometimes dice a seeded small jalapeno pepper in place of the hot sauce, if I think the crowd wants more of a kick. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

    • on April 16, 2009

      Oh, how I love Guasacaca! I can't beleive it, but I do prefer it to guacamole. I love the color, the texture, the flavor, everything! And it got better after sitting in the fridge. I ate this with tortilla chips this time, but I can't wait to try it on tacos, wraps, eggs, or whatever. Definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      OMG! This was the best ever. I will never make guacamole the old way again. I love the chunky texture of this one so much better. I used about 3/4 tsp. of salt and it tasted quite salty at first, but was just right after it sat for awhile, allowing the flavors to blend. I also did not add the bell peppers or the hot sauce. Perfectly simple!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      the best Guasacaca i've tasted in all my life. Even better than the one they serve at Venezuelan Restaurants

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      This is FABULOSO!! I left out the bell peppers and did half lemon juice half lime juice. AWESOME!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      Kathy228, this salsa was one of the best that I have ever tried! I also used a yellow bell pepper, chopped everything finely by hand, and served it with blue corn tortilla chips, which was really pretty. Everyone in my family loved it; it is a keeper. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2007

      Yummy! I used yellow tomatoes, banana peppers, red onion. Loved the colors, loved the flavor! I served with tortilla chips. Thanks Kathy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2007

      I like this much better than guacamole. One of my avocados went bad so halved the recipe. It was very easy to assemble, the hard part was staying out of it while it chilled. I served it along side some grilled chicken. I will be making this again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2007

      I served this recipe as a side salsa/salad along with a seafood casserole, another salad, garlic rice and roasted asparagus-every one raved about it - I love the cilantro. I used red, green, orange and yellow peppers in it. Thanks for posting this delicious recipe Kathy 228

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2007

      I make this one all the time and we love it! I also like to add corn kernels, black beans, and cumin. Great post, great picture!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2007

      This is a really nice fresh tasting salsa. It's simple to make and looks great, too. I wasn't sure what you meant by minced bell peppers so I just added 1/4 cup of very finely chopped red bell pepper. I used it the salsa and some grilled chicken strips to fill some flour tortillas. It made for a great and quick dinner. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2006

      This is a wonderful salsa. My son was working on a Social Studies project about South America and made this to take into his class. It was an enormous hit with the students and teachers. We have since made it while on vacation at the beach and everyone devoured it. Super flavor and fun with tortilla scoop chips. Caution...does not fair well the next day as left overs as it can get a bit mushy in consistency probably from the juices of the tomatoes and avocados.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2005

      Yummy! Loved the texture; it's chunky with some crunch, yet there is soft creaminess from the diced avocado. I used half lemon juice and half lime juice. Easy to make, very colorful and attractive, too. I'll make this again...thanx for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Guasacaca (Wah-Sah-Kaka) Salsa De Venezuela

    Serving Size: 1 (118 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 119.2
     
    Calories from Fat 89
    74%
    Total Fat 9.9 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 436.3 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.4 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 5.1 g
    20%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites