26 Reviews

To the person saying London Broils is made from flank steak,I was a butcher for several years,we cut top round for London Broil,flank is a totally different cut of meat. I hope this helps people understand they are totally different cuts of meat.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jimb47 May 01, 2011

Excellent recipe! I cut down the suggested cooking time after reading the reviews, and cooked a London Broill that was slightly over 2 pounds for 45 minutes. The meat was a perfect medium rare. I added some small red potatoes and large chunks of zucchini to the pan to roast with the meat, and everything was delicious. I will make this recipe again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
edsmom911 June 30, 2015

I actually thought this recipe was pretty good. I did greatly reduce cooking time, based on reviews. Marinade is excellent---I added marinade back to the roasting London Broil halfway through cooking time and it made a lovely addition. For what it's worth, we never grilled our London broil growing up but always oven cooked it. And as always, it's absolutely crucial to slice properly or it will remain very tough to chew!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
millicentmacchione April 13, 2015

Really enjoyed the recipe. The marinade made it delicious. I suppose it does make a well done meat, so can probably cut down the cooking time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bee S. February 09, 2015

What a disappointment. The cooking time is so far off. If the recipe is followed to a T you will end up with an overcooked, dry piece of meat. I doubled this recipe for New Years Eve and it was the worst meal I have made in a long while. The meat was completely inedible, although the cooked marinade was pretty and quite good. I wish I had followed my instincts and cooked it for far less time. AND PLEASE DO brown the meat first, don't skip that step as suggested by the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking for 4 in CA January 12, 2013

For myself, I bought a top of the round London Broil and marinaded it for 8 hours and the meat was flavorful and tasty. I reserved some of the marinade that I kept separate from the meat. Grilled it on a gas grill and basted the meat on the grill with the marinade reserve. Grilled it rare. Delicious! Made for Help A Naked Recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AcadiaTwo September 10, 2012

I CAN NOT BELIEVE HOW RUDE AND ABSOLUTELY NASTY ALMOST EVERYONE OF THESE COMMENTS ARE! I guess u all are a bunch of Gordon Ramsey's! Butthen again your not because you wouldn't be on here desperately trying to make a decent meal! Rude RudE RUDE!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christina M. November 26, 2015

I wish I had read the reviews before making this recipe. This was my first time making a London broil so I followed the recipe to a tee. This wound up being waaayyyy over cooked, completely inedible. :-( what a bummer. I'd say you should cut down the cooking time by at least half, maybe more to get anything close to tender. No stars from me on this one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cari H. November 07, 2015

**********Do not use this recipe.****************** The marinade is ok, but the cooking time is WAY OFF! I would say follow the recommended 5 min broil time on each side in a cast iron pan. And then turn the oven off and leave in for 10-15 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dale H. June 07, 2015

What a waste of a piece of meat. I read the comments myself here and conclude with everyone that this recipe way overcooks the meat. I've never roasted a London Broil before. I cooked it for 45 minutes so that I could watch it. After 45 minutes, it was already way overcooked. I'll stick to the grill %u2014 and 20 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Siddiecat October 21, 2012
Guaranteed Winner London Broil