Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Guaranteed Winner London Broil Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Guaranteed Winner London Broil

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on May 01, 2011

      To the person saying London Broils is made from flank steak,I was a butcher for several years,we cut top round for London Broil,flank is a totally different cut of meat. I hope this helps people understand they are totally different cuts of meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2013

      What a disappointment. The cooking time is so far off. If the recipe is followed to a T you will end up with an overcooked, dry piece of meat. I doubled this recipe for New Years Eve and it was the worst meal I have made in a long while. The meat was completely inedible, although the cooked marinade was pretty and quite good. I wish I had followed my instincts and cooked it for far less time. AND PLEASE DO brown the meat first, don't skip that step as suggested by the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2012

      What a waste of a piece of meat. I read the comments myself here and conclude with everyone that this recipe way overcooks the meat. I've never roasted a London Broil before. I cooked it for 45 minutes so that I could watch it. After 45 minutes, it was already way overcooked. I'll stick to the grill %u2014 and 20 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2012

      For myself, I bought a top of the round London Broil and marinaded it for 8 hours and the meat was flavorful and tasty. I reserved some of the marinade that I kept separate from the meat. Grilled it on a gas grill and basted the meat on the grill with the marinade reserve. Grilled it rare. Delicious! Made for Help A Naked Recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2012

      I was looking forward to making this recipe. Weather wasn't good enough to grill outside, so this sounded perfect. I used 3 lbs of top round CAB oyster cut for this recipe, as flank steak is an entirely different cut of meat. I followed the recipe to a "T" roasting it for 30 minutes per pound, Just to be sure not to overcook, I checked if after an hour. It was tough, so I thought I would leave it in for the full 90 minutes It was stringy, tough and dry dry dry! I added liquid, covered it like any pot roast. Another hour made it edible, but just barely. This recipe followed the London Broil...right into the garbage!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      If you like London broil, look elsewhere. London broil is customarily made from Flank steak, which typically is between one and 2 inches thick, marinaded and broiled about 3 to 5 minutes per side. Should be rare to medium rare, and sliced thinly across the grain.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      Absolutely WRONG temp settings. Do yourself a favor: sear on both sides, then do medium over flame or burner, or broil this for 8 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

    • on March 27, 2009

      I found the meat didn't taste as good as I hoped. I marinated overnight and all the next day, and the meat was still pretty bland after cooking. However, the marinade tasted great! After cooking the meat in the marinade, I blended the sauce in my blender turning it into an "au jous". I made french dip sandwiches with the meat... the sauce made all the difference. One tip - don't use the 30 min. per pound rule; use a meat thermometer... I had over 3 lbs of beef, but it was a thinner cut, so it cooked in less than an hour (and was almost overdone).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      I just made this recipe. The meat turned out dry and tastless. The broth it created is delicious. I think 30 minutes per pound is too long. I had a 4 lb london broil and roasted it for 2 hrs at 400f. I did not include the marinade but did leave some of the onion and garlic on the meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      I was a little unsure about this recipe at first, given the brown sugar in the marinade. BUT, I was surprisingly IMPRESSED with the turnout of this recipe! I only let it marinade for 5 hours and it was still delicious and even better the next day reheated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      While this was easy to make, I have to admit that I did not find it to be tasty. In my opinion, not worth making again. And I have to agree that the directions were not really clear - do you cook with the marinade or not? It doesn't say.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      I am so glad that I was able to find this recipe again! There might have been a riot at my house tonight if I didn't LOL My family loves this dish!! I added a tiny bit of ginger as well. It is super yummy:) this will be the second time this month I am making this:) thanks bunches for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      The best way to describe this recipe is one word...horrible. The instructions were not nearly detailed enough and the marinade was not good at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      I used rice vinegar and added fresh ginger--this really snaps it up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

      I had high hopes for this recipe while it was roasting in the oven because it smelled so good. The meat was tender enough, but lacked the flavor you'd expect from the marinade. This was okay, but not my idea of a guaranteed winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2007

      Thank you for a simple yet wonderful recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2007

      This was an easy recipe that turned out just great. The first time I made this London Broil I needed something sort of quick for dinner. I marinated for just about one hour and then put it in the oven to roast(no broiling.) My kids and husband all commented how good it was. I like that it is both delicious and easy. I'll be making this again for tomorrow night's dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2006

      This made a tasty and tender london broil. I marinated it about 24 hours...simply because I was going to make it for dinner last night, but we ended up running late getting home and wound up eating out, so I cooked it tonight instead. The only thing I did different was add onion powder to the marinade because I didn't have any 'real onion' on hand. This was a great simple technique that I will definitely use again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2006

      There is not anything that is not good about this recipe. It is very easy to prepare and makes the house smell good while cooking. Also, the slices of meat are great on buttered toast for a quick meal. thanks Sarah

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Guaranteed Winner London Broil

    Serving Size: 1 (182 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 364.0
     
    Calories from Fat 171
    47%
    Total Fat 19.0 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 5.9 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 110.5 mg
    36%
    Sodium 472.0 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.8 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 6.3 g
    25%
    Protein 37.2 g
    74%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites