22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

To the person saying London Broils is made from flank steak,I was a butcher for several years,we cut top round for London Broil,flank is a totally different cut of meat. I hope this helps people understand they are totally different cuts of meat.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jimb47 May 01, 2011

What a disappointment. The cooking time is so far off. If the recipe is followed to a T you will end up with an overcooked, dry piece of meat. I doubled this recipe for New Years Eve and it was the worst meal I have made in a long while. The meat was completely inedible, although the cooked marinade was pretty and quite good. I wish I had followed my instincts and cooked it for far less time. AND PLEASE DO brown the meat first, don't skip that step as suggested by the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking for 4 in CA January 12, 2013

I actually thought this recipe was pretty good. I did greatly reduce cooking time, based on reviews. Marinade is excellent---I added marinade back to the roasting London Broil halfway through cooking time and it made a lovely addition. For what it's worth, we never grilled our London broil growing up but always oven cooked it. And as always, it's absolutely crucial to slice properly or it will remain very tough to chew!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
millicentmacchione April 13, 2015

Really enjoyed the recipe. The marinade made it delicious. I suppose it does make a well done meat, so can probably cut down the cooking time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bee S. February 09, 2015

What a waste of a piece of meat. I read the comments myself here and conclude with everyone that this recipe way overcooks the meat. I've never roasted a London Broil before. I cooked it for 45 minutes so that I could watch it. After 45 minutes, it was already way overcooked. I'll stick to the grill %u2014 and 20 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Siddiecat October 21, 2012

For myself, I bought a top of the round London Broil and marinaded it for 8 hours and the meat was flavorful and tasty. I reserved some of the marinade that I kept separate from the meat. Grilled it on a gas grill and basted the meat on the grill with the marinade reserve. Grilled it rare. Delicious! Made for Help A Naked Recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AcadiaTwo September 10, 2012

I was looking forward to making this recipe. Weather wasn't good enough to grill outside, so this sounded perfect. I used 3 lbs of top round CAB oyster cut for this recipe, as flank steak is an entirely different cut of meat. I followed the recipe to a "T" roasting it for 30 minutes per pound, Just to be sure not to overcook, I checked if after an hour. It was tough, so I thought I would leave it in for the full 90 minutes It was stringy, tough and dry dry dry! I added liquid, covered it like any pot roast. Another hour made it edible, but just barely. This recipe followed the London Broil...right into the garbage!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ajm929 March 30, 2012

If you like London broil, look elsewhere. London broil is customarily made from Flank steak, which typically is between one and 2 inches thick, marinaded and broiled about 3 to 5 minutes per side. Should be rare to medium rare, and sliced thinly across the grain.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Litoralis January 05, 2010

Absolutely WRONG temp settings. Do yourself a favor: sear on both sides, then do medium over flame or burner, or broil this for 8 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
webmarks August 15, 2009
Guaranteed Winner London Broil