9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This appetizers came just at right moment!
I used whole grain toast and I crushed the fennel seeds with the mortar.
We loved it, and we think to prepare this during the holidays again! The fennel is a great change in the guacamole and fits perfect with the salmon. I couldn't expect a better combination.
I took this recipe for the colors (green and salmon), but we are really impressed about the taste and unusual combination with fennel. Thanks a lot for this great winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awalde December 18, 2011

LOVED it! But sorry for not using french bread, I used oatmeal crackers instead since I wanted to serve it as a (bite-size) starter. Everybody enjoyed it, including DD, and got a lot of 'hhhmmmmm's! I loved the addition of fennel seeds and the carrot gave a nice little crunch to it. I didn't mash the avocados, I chopped them instead. Thank you, Studentchef, for sharing this wonderful recipe, I definitely will be making it again, next time with french bread!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aaliyah's&Aaron'sMum July 06, 2008

Yum! This made a great brunch for me.I quartered the recipe to make 3 toasts. I used rye bread and red onion. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 September 03, 2007

I love this. It's a great recipe for smoked salmon. We sure eat a lot of fish up here in the Great White North! Thank You! This is a winner in my books!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
i8-2much! March 21, 2007

I rated this earlier, but I wish to elaborate... THIS is what contest entries should aspire to... Great(simple)ingredients, easy prep, nice presentation and notable taste. I did add one clove minced garlic... only because I love garlic... but it was great without. High end looking appy with low maitenance recipe. A KEEPER!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Danielle LaPointe March 21, 2007

Reviewed for RSC # 9. DH and I are not real fans of raw onion… but always want to make recipes as exactly as possible the first time (as usual when I try Zaar recipes) and especially with this one since it’s an RSC recipe - so put some in .. and didn’t regret it at all ! DH actually commented that he didn’t mind a little onion with this, the flavours were pleasing and it was really easy to make. Please see my rating system: DH had this twice (on bread) and I had it twice without bread since I’m low(er) carbing when I can keep on the straight and narrow. The blend of flavours was far beyond what I thought it would be when I first put it together and it’s a hit in our house, both as a bruschetta AND as a salad that we could treat ourselves to... that's worth 5 stars to me. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch March 18, 2007

Fantastic, we loved it - the spices and different flavors melded together to a symphony of flavor. I used Lox for the smoked Salmon. Two things that I would recommend cut the bruchetta's to bite size or as finger food they can be messy. Have some stacked as you recommend and alternate the order for some of them so you have a variety of color on your platter - put the quacamole first then the salmon with the onions on top. I will definately make this often for friends Good luck in RSC#9

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy March 17, 2007

Excellent appetizer. Easy to make and very tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trisha W March 17, 2007

I’m so sorry to say that we really didn’t care for this entry. The salmon was completely lost in the guacamole, and bruschetta has to cook much longer than 2 minutes to become crispy, more like 10-15 min. The carrots just didn’t seem to fit in at all and were really unpleasant.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
personalchef March 17, 2007
Guacamole-Smoked Salmon Bruschetta