19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We love this salad at our house. I make it every couple of weeks. I saw this on Barefoot Contessa and it looked so good I made it the next day. It is very healthy. My daughters frielnds all ask for it and comment that they can't believe they eating it since they don't really like anything that is in it. They all love it. I usually divide it in half before adding the avacado and only add it to half since it doesn't keep. I then add the avacado to the other half a day or 2 later. Yummy!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meanmom45 June 19, 2009

I -adore- this recipe for its flavor and its healthy ingredients, especially when served over spinach. One caveat, however: the combination of avocado, olive oil and black beans leads to a surprisingly high calorie content-per-serving (close to 500). Cooks with calorie concerns may wish to use less of one or all of those ingredients, or reduce the serving size.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spurfer September 01, 2009

I made this for lunch today, exactly as described, except that I left out the yellow peppers. Also, I made and served it all at the same time. It was really, really good! The lime juice and zest really add something special. I'm a huge fan of guacamole, but this might even be better! Will definitely be making this again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deniseeosu June 20, 2010

I just love love love this salad. I used chickpeas instead of black beans, and scotch bonnet peppers in place of jalapenos. The lime juice and zest take this salad to another level. I can't wait to have this again. Thank you.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katanashrp May 31, 2010

Yum. This is a really good salad. The only thing I added was a handful of chopped cilantro to make it even more guacamole-like. It was a hit!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sltpdq May 09, 2010

This is so delicious and healthy. I cut a few pita pockets in half, toasted them, and made open-faced sandwiches with this salad on top. Mmmm!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnaLulu June 11, 2009

This recipe is a star!!! :) I saw Ina make it on her show too and was intrigued by all the beautiful colors! Only made small changes - omitted the yellow pepper and used 1 serrano pepper in place of the 2 jalepeno. My limes were also not producing as much juice as I would've liked, so I used 1 lemon which worked beautifully. This is a dish I would PROUDLY serve to company! It's elegant, delish, and unique -- putting this into my "Zaar Stars" cookbook - thank you for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megs_ September 26, 2009

This was alright, I was the only one who really liked it, it kinda reminded me of a Mexican greek salad. But since I was the only one who will eat it, I probably wont make it again

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kel-Cie T May 28, 2009

Awesome! Thanks for sharing!!!! The big change I made was I did a can of corn instead of the black beans.... I know it totally compromises the recipe but the base was outstanding!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
932ninja August 11, 2014

This is fantastic. A beautiful, colorful salad with such a fresh taste. I made it several times already, exactly as written, and wouldn't change a thing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri35 July 20, 2014
Guacamole Salad (Barefoot Contessa) Ina Garten