Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Guacamole - Real Authentic Mexican "Guac" Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Guacamole - Real Authentic Mexican "Guac"

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on August 05, 2014

      This is a good basic recipe, but keep in mind that guacamole is like tomato sauce--everybody has a "family" recipe that they like best. If you want creamier guacamole, use a potato masher rather than a fork. I would also add ground cumin and garlic (powdered is fine) and leave out the tomato--in Michoacán, guacamole is very often served without it. <br/>As for leaving the pit in to prevent browning, that does not work. The lime juice is what keeps the guacamole green, and most people make the mistake of adding too little lime juice or using avocados that are extensively bruised or already turning brown. Buy unripe, unbruised avocados up to a week in advance and let them ripen on the counter. Once they are ripe, refrigerate them to halt the ripening process.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2014

      I used to make it this way but then it occurred to me that onion, chili and tomato are the basic ingredients of most salsas, so now I just add a tablespoon or two of my favorite chunky salsa. I also crush 1 garlic clove with some salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      This is how I make guac. It's terrific! I also add a pressed clove of garlic and fresh ground black pepper. Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2014

      I add garlic and use red onion instead of the white, finely diced and use greed chilies instead of jalapenos... to keep it from turning brown in fridge....spread it out in a bowl and cover directly on the guacomole with plastic wrap ....it keeps the air out and keeps it green....hope this is helpful...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2014

      This is pretty much my go to Gauc. You can use Onion and Garlic powder in lieu of the real thing. Otherwise dice your onion finely. Always use diced tomato!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2014

      I have used this same recipe for years only I add a little garlic and cumin and use red onion instead of white which I believe elevates it to a true five stars! Have some in my fridge right now ready to eat when I get home!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2014

      Gfdxc

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2013

      Great recipe. I would like to suggest keeping a couple of the avocado seeds to put in the finished guacamole to keep it from browning.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2011

      My daughter just made this as a pre-Mothers Day treat for me and WHAT A TREAT! Wonderful. I had never tasted Guacamole before in my life, and now I shall never be even tempted to buy it but just make it and enjoy it with the help of this recipe that she used. What a great find - and I am so glad she printed if off so that I could also find it on your site. Congratulations on a superb recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2010

      Try this with some corn tortillas and carne asada (aka) steak,chicken or your choose of meat. A little bit of cabbage and salsa (optional). Don't forget the Guacamole inside the taco. So good you have to try..

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2008

      This is definitely the traditional master recipe. Other traditional recipes include: 1-2 cloves of pressed garlic, ground cumin, & ground chili &/or black pepper to taste

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2014

      I like the additions from "Chef #1802738192" and Tom Sullivan. Guacamole is a personal thing and it changes every time I make it......But it's always good. Be creative. And taste often. If the bowl's empty at the end of the happy hour or meal where it's been served, then it must have been good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2014

      I have my doubts about putting the pit in the guacamole to keep it from browning, the lemon or lime juice should take care of that, the last batch I whipped up I added a splash of balsamic vinegar, put a different twist to it. Bon Appetite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2014

      Instead of mashing with a fork, I cut through the avocado mixture with a small knife. It makes a wonderful chunky guac. I just keep slicing until it's the consistency I want. I also add a small clove of garlic to mine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2013

      Great guacamole recipe! Love the texture and it's just so perfect for a movie night at home!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2013

      Thanks for posting this recipe! I typically don't like guacamole but I love the Guac at El Sol Mexican restaurant in Harrisburg PA. This tastes EXACTLY the same. My family and friends love it and it's so easy to make!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2013

      WAIT!! As traditional and delicious as this is, please refrain from using the word "Guac"...Spanish is a romance language...soft and easy...it is pronounced "Wa-ca-mole"...a soft and easy word...not Germanic based, hard use of consonants...this recipe is wonderful! (I love German, and speak it, but Guacamole is Spanish...which I love too!).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2012

      The simplicity of this recipe really highlighted the avocado. I used an entire jalapeno and left everything very chunky.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      This was awsome made it two days in a row and didnt want to share

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      This recipe works. Real Simple. Real Good. We monkeyed with this from here - added a little teeny bit of cumin here, a dusting of cayenne pepper - but honestly it didn't really get any better than the basic recipe here. Now, if I could just find avocados in New England that were as good as the ones we got in Mexico... I guess I'll have to go back. But for now, we have this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Guacamole - Real Authentic Mexican "Guac"

    Serving Size: 1 (178 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 206.1
     
    Calories from Fat 158
    76%
    Total Fat 17.5 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 12.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.9 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 8.5 g
    34%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites