33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a good basic recipe, but keep in mind that guacamole is like tomato sauce--everybody has a "family" recipe that they like best. If you want creamier guacamole, use a potato masher rather than a fork. I would also add ground cumin and garlic (powdered is fine) and leave out the tomato--in Michoacán, guacamole is very often served without it. <br/>As for leaving the pit in to prevent browning, that does not work. The lime juice is what keeps the guacamole green, and most people make the mistake of adding too little lime juice or using avocados that are extensively bruised or already turning brown. Buy unripe, unbruised avocados up to a week in advance and let them ripen on the counter. Once they are ripe, refrigerate them to halt the ripening process.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy C. August 05, 2014

I used to make it this way but then it occurred to me that onion, chili and tomato are the basic ingredients of most salsas, so now I just add a tablespoon or two of my favorite chunky salsa. I also crush 1 garlic clove with some salt.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tom Sullivan August 05, 2014

This is how I make guac. It's terrific! I also add a pressed clove of garlic and fresh ground black pepper. Very good!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shara Lea April 28, 2010

I add garlic and use red onion instead of the white, finely diced and use greed chilies instead of jalapenos... to keep it from turning brown in fridge....spread it out in a bowl and cover directly on the guacomole with plastic wrap ....it keeps the air out and keeps it green....hope this is helpful...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debbiehargrove_4477612 August 06, 2014

This is pretty much my go to Gauc. You can use Onion and Garlic powder in lieu of the real thing. Otherwise dice your onion finely. Always use diced tomato!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LyndaV August 05, 2014

I have used this same recipe for years only I add a little garlic and cumin and use red onion instead of white which I believe elevates it to a true five stars! Have some in my fridge right now ready to eat when I get home!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deanna T. August 05, 2014

Gfdxc

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RiceChristie August 04, 2014

Great recipe. I would like to suggest keeping a couple of the avocado seeds to put in the finished guacamole to keep it from browning.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whatdwhat September 08, 2013

My daughter just made this as a pre-Mothers Day treat for me and WHAT A TREAT! Wonderful. I had never tasted Guacamole before in my life, and now I shall never be even tempted to buy it but just make it and enjoy it with the help of this recipe that she used. What a great find - and I am so glad she printed if off so that I could also find it on your site. Congratulations on a superb recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Phyllis Elias April 02, 2011

Try this with some corn tortillas and carne asada (aka) steak,chicken or your choose of meat. A little bit of cabbage and salsa (optional). Don't forget the Guacamole inside the taco. So good you have to try..

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Arizaga September 08, 2010
Guacamole - Real Authentic Mexican "Guac"