20 Reviews

This dish was easy to prepare and quite tasty. We like our food spicy so I added two diced jalapenos and a heavy shake of red pepper flakes. My fiancee is not a sour-cream person so I cubed an 8 oz. container of cream cheese and used that instead (which tasted great!) but I will make the cubes smaller next time. Also, instead of plain tortillas I used green chile tortillas, and instead of plain salsa I used a tequila lime salsa. Will definitely make this one again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
food bee April 08, 2011

This was really good. While cooking the turkey/onion mixture, I added some chopped green pepper. When it was finished cooking, I added 3/4 of a can of kernel corn and stirred it in. Everything else I did as your recipe said and we loved it. The hubby crumbled some Tostitos on top of his serving for some crunch and we both decided that this mixture, minus the flour tortillas, would make a really tasty hot dip. We're going to try that out on the family at the next gathering.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patti C June 19, 2009

Very good, and easy to throw together! I used taco seasoning from Bulk Taco Seasoning Mix, and froze half of the ground turkey to use another time. Scaled down to 8x6 pyrex pan for our small family, so only used 4 tortillas, and one-half can beans. I didn't realize my sour cream was expired until I went to use it, so I substituted one-half package of cream cheese (yum!). I just sandwiched all the filling between torn-tortilla "crusts", then covered it in cheese. At any rate, it was fantastic, and will become a regular at my house!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarlaP May 20, 2009

This recipe really tasted great. I used ground turkey & had just enough sour cream for the layers, but none leftover for topping. It turned out that the dish was so moist t begin with that no one missed the extra sour cream. I served this to 12 hungry guys & everyone really enjoyed it. I would suggest a refinement of the instructions. They don't specify how to prepare the onion (I chopped finely) or what to do with the browned turkey & onion mixture once it's cooked. I stirred in the black beans to heat them through & then used the whole mixture as one layer. Thanks for sharing, 'lil cooker! Made, enjoyed & reviewed for Pick-A-Chef Spring 2008.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** April 05, 2008

Holy Yum! This is GREAT! I loved this recipe. I mixed reduced fat sour cream with a little cream cheese as others mentioned. I left out the corn, added green chilies, and gave it a light sprinkle of Red Pepper Flakes. Also, I chopped a jalapeno and cooked it down with the onion/meat. Comfort Food...ahhhh

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GoBugsy August 20, 2013

If I could give 4 and half stars I would. It is an excellent kid pleaser. I used lime flavored corn tortilla chips, because that was what I had; the kids loved it. I had my 3 kids, my sister's 5 picky kids and an 9x13 pan. It was finished off in 15 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sassie Cassie April 23, 2013

I am basing this off my husbands opinion. He liked the change to the turkey. I don't really care for turkey, but I had some too use up. Maybe I will try it with ground beef. I added corn, green onions, and black olives. I was also thinking of using a can of diced tomatoes, but i didnt want to get too far from the original recipe. I also used pinto beans instead of black beans. My daughter didn't really care for it either. I ate it with siracha on top to hide the turkey taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seal angel May 14, 2012

I made this as a pasta casserole b/c I didn't have tortillas (soft or hard) and I used some other reviewers' ideas and some of my own. It turned out very tasty. I didn't have salsa, so used a 15-oz can of tomato sauce & a 7-oz can of green chilis; I didn't have sour cream so used 8-oz of 1/3 less fat Phili cream cheese; I added 15-oz can of corn; I added 6-oz sliced black olives; I added a few shakes of crushed red pepper; I used 13.25-oz box of whole grain medium shell pasta; I did use the turkey, onion, black beans, taco seasoning (I used hot), & cheddar cheese. Turned on oven to 350. I cooked the pasta (about one minute less than called for), drained, & set aside. In the meantime, I cooked turkey & onion well & drained liquid, added green chilis, added taco seasoning w/water as directed on packet, & crushed red pepper -- once that cooked in well, I added chunks of the cream cheese which melted pretty fast as I stirred -- I added beans & corn & olives to see how thick it would be & decided on the 15-oz can of tomato sauce which I then added. I transferred to the empty pasta pot (large size w/2 handles - dutch oven type) and continued heating while I added in the pasta and stirred well. I added some shredded cheese and stirred, then topped with shredded cheese. Baked at 350 for 35 mins. Mine turned out pretty spicy, probably b/c I added the crushed red pepper flakes in addition to using the hot taco packet. I really like it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Misty G March 14, 2012

The hubby gave thumbs up for this recipe! I personally don't like ground turkey, and after trying several ground turkey recipes, this one is by far the winner! With the taco seasoning, you can hardly tell it's not ground beef. Plus, the ground turkey is healthier and cheaper! I added a can of corn and mixed it with the black beans before layering. I realized I didn't have enough sour cream, so I melted an 8 oz. package of low-fat neufch√Ętel cream cheese and it worked out fine. Our only dislike about the recipe was how soggy the tortillas were.. the ones at the bottom of the pan were okay, because they crisped up with the oil I used to grease the pan, but the ones in the middle layer were mush. Next time (and there WILL be a next time), I think I might try using tortilla chips instead. Hopefully they won't get as soggy! Otherwise, thanks for a fantastic recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heidi T. March 07, 2011

WOW! This is one great recipe. I thought I had all the ingredients on hand, but at the last minute I had to double it (due to very welcome unexpected guests). I used double the turkey,onions, tortillas, cheese (colbyjack and 4 Mexican), and sour cream, but only 1 jar of salsa, 1 pckt of taco seasoning and 1 can of beans (chili, not black). Everyone loved it! And it's so easy to make. Thank you 'lil cooker!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karrifreel2 November 18, 2010
Ground Turkey Tortilla Casserole