8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great recipe! This has become a regular, though in my opinion, the crock pot isn't necessary to get a flavorful meal. I cook the turkey and onions first, then add the rest of the ingredients in a frying pan or sauce pan and let simmer for 20-30 mins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blizotte December 08, 2014

We thought this was very good, and very easy. I cut the recipe in half because there are only two of us, but other than that I followed it as written (used red wine and 99% fat free ground turkey). I cooked it in the crock pot and because I halved the recipe, only cooked it for 5 hours on low. I will definitely make it again and add some additional veggies like another reviewer suggested.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kls486 April 11, 2011

So delicious! We used some freshly baked hamburger buns and top-notch ground turkey from the farmer's market. I only had one-and-a-half pounds of turkey but the proportion was fine. I added a diced carrot and green pepper to give it a little more veggie value. Like the other reviewers, I simmered it on the stove top. I'll be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Midwest-meets-West-Coast! July 11, 2010

Hey, these were great! I didn't change a thing except to make it on the stove. I hate the taste/texture of ground turkey and this hid it quite well! My only complaint is this very saucy and will make your bun soggy quickly. Don't know what to do about that except to maybe cook it a bit longer than I did. Kids and hubby scarffed them down.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mandy #5 May 26, 2010

This is such a great sloppy joe recipe! It's quick, easy and so much better then anything that comes out of a can. I, too, did not make this in the CrockPot; I made this on the stove top and let it simmer for about 15-20 minutes. I topped them with colby jack cheese slices on a whole wheat bun and it's been a hit in our house every time I've made these. This is such a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VanessaLynn February 10, 2010

This was wonderful! I made this on the stove top. I only made 1/2. Next time I will make the whole thing. I wanted to make sure this was good 1st. I have gone through so many recipes on recipezaar that were not good. As soon as I said I was making SloppyJoe's the kids starting complaining! They are not complaining anymore! They all thought it was awesome! Thankyou for a great recipe I will be making often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Princess O March 15, 2009

Very good and very easy recipe. Since I cooked the Sloppy Joes on the stove instead of the crock pot, I omitted the tomato sauce and used almost an entire 12 oz. of tomato paste instead, it turned out nice & thick. I also omitted the salt and used mustard powder instead.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Auntrat February 09, 2009

I'm rating this b/c this is exactly how I make my Turkey Joe's! They are so good and I don't feel guilty about eating them. The only thing I haven't tried is the liquid smoke. I will definitely be adding that into the mix. Also, Balsamic vinegar is really good with it too! Oh ..just noticed that I don't put it in the crockpot I just let it simmer for 20 min or so. I'll have to try that way too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WineLover77 May 12, 2008
Ground Turkey Sloppy Joes