25 Reviews

This was excellent! I'm only giving it 4 stars because I did make a few alterations. I added fresh mushrooms and subed vegetable stock, and instead of garlic salt I used 3 cloves of fresh garlic. I served it over brown rice with hawaiin rolls on the side. My hubby said it is "comparable to nothing" he's ever had, but "the best comfort food!". We also spiced it up with tobasco. The left overs were great! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DaniRoze February 28, 2009

This was very easy, cheap and good. Will make it again if I am looking for something simple to make. I did not have garlic salt and used vegetable broth instead of beef, it was still tasty. I just wish the sauce was thicker.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Monique #2 October 17, 2008

We loved it! It doesnt look like it will be good, but we were surprised! I addes baby carrots to mine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cgreene5 June 13, 2008

Turned out great - I used Low Salt or No Salt everything, so not salty, but I used extra spices, Italian, to give it a little more kick. Wonderful come home from the cold dinner, thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lesliecoy January 24, 2008

We really, really didn't like this. I followed the recipe to the letter, except for using A1 rather than Lea & Perrin's since that's what I had in the house. We ended up throwing this out - and I NEVER throw out food. It is easy, and it is cheap, but it tasted horrible.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RSL December 17, 2007

This is SERIOUSLY yummy...and as the description says, easy and cheap (three of my favorite words LOL!). I used "healthy request" mushroom soup, and I'm glad I did b/c the full-sodium stuff might have made this a bit too salty. I also browned the onions with the meat, used chicken broth, and threw in some mixed frozen pot pie veggies I wanted to use up. I was a little worried about the timing of the recipe b/c so many reviews list so many different cook times. I cooked it on high for about 5.25 hours, and it came out fine! Wouldn't want to go much longer, though...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian December 11, 2007

I was planning on doing a Banquet crockpot frozen dinner for supper, but when I got it out, it was so icy and the chicken was so freezer-burned that I threw it away. I don't really care for them anyway, but had one on hand because of the convenience. Well, this only took a few minutes longer to prepare (besides the browning of the meat), and it was so much better! Even better, I had all of the ingredients on hand. I browned the meat and the onion together, and I didn't have Lea and Perrins, so I used A1. I was skeptical about the potatoes cooking all the way since they were only about half covered with liquid, but they were fine. I cooked on high for about 6 hours. I was unsure with my first bite, but by the 3rd bite, I had made up my mind. My husband first said "This is okay." And then a few minutes later he said "Actually this is pretty good!" Served it alone in a bowl, with Lazy Irish Beer Bread and Honey Butter on the side.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark & Stacy August 17, 2007

This was good. We thought it tasted kind of like meatloaf, so we put some ketchup on it and it was real good. I would make it again. Not fancy food, but a good weeknight dinner. It was easy to make. I mixed the wet ingredients together and then put it on top of the turkey and it worked fine. I think next time I will cook the onions with the turkey first before I add them to the crock pot. I only cooked it for 5-6 hours in my crockpot on the low setting and it was cooked just fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin in Orygone March 08, 2007

This recipe was a huge hit in my home. The only thing I did different was I didn't brown the meat prior to putting in the crockpot, I crumbled it in raw and it was just fine. I also added salt and pepper and about a 1/2 cup of sour cream about 10 minutes before serving. Its great over rice! Thanks for sharing this one Miss Diggy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RGRLFRI February 19, 2007

We loved it. I added sliced carots for the vitamins and color. I have to watch salt intake so I used reduced sodium soup and didn't use garlic salt, minced fresh garlic instead.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bigred1442 July 25, 2006
Ground Turkey Crock Pot Dinner