11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

If there were ten stars, I'd give this eleven!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ds123jam July 08, 2012

Awesome! I didn't have the cardamom or the turmeric, so I just made everything else just as written and my husband ate nearly all of it himself!! This is a certain keeper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yvettewoodall April 26, 2010

Good! I made this just as the recipe stated. I couldn't believe that I had all the ingredients on hand, except for the bell peppers. I really enjoyed this with the different herbs and spices. Nothing was overpowering, just well balanced and tasty. I added a few crumbled corn chips, fresh tomatoes, and salsa for a wonderful taco like salad. This filling can be used for so many different dishes (nachos, tacos, tiny meat pie filling etc). Because of the amounts of bell peppers and onions I will probably use diced canned Mexican style tomatoes next time instead of the salsa picante sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. B April 19, 2010

I found that although the taste was good, it was very dry. On looking at he recipe again, I think that it may be because I used ground turkey breast!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JRH March 10, 2007

Tried this tonight. I had ground turkey in the fridge that needed to be used as well as 1/2 can of blackbeans and a bag of romaine salad; as well as all of the other ingredients (I always have the spice for everything- I'm a spice nut. It was really good. I did not have low fat cheddar so I used regular. Other than that I made no subsitutions. Thanks for a great recipe. I'll send the picture tomorrow. I actually added a lot of hot sauce (Franks); I love spice, and as usual I estimated on the spices. I don't even know where my measuring spoons are anymore; I do have a good eye for the amounts so I would have been very close. This is definitely a keeper. My husband suggested we use the leftovers with fajitta's tomorrow so he obviously liked it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef at Heart March 01, 2007

This is an excellent, easy recipe. I served it as do-it-yourself salad and pasta bar. Choices included thin spaghetti or torn green leaf lettuce, cheddar cheese, sour cream, and minced red onion. My husband and I loved it. I look forward to enjoying the leftovers!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Mimi January 15, 2006

What a great recipe. I didn't have turkey so used extra lean ground beef. The next day I used the leftovers (minus the lettuce) like you would Cincinatti Chili. I put cooked spaghetti on the bottom, then the turkey mixture and topped it with cheddar cheese. My husband loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debby H March 02, 2005

This is awesome! We have made this several times now with a few slight additions. We serve the turkey and black bean mixture over shredded romaine lettuce, diced roma tomatoes, chopped cilantro, chopped green onion and sliced black olives. Then, we top the turkey/bean mixuture with 2% sharp cheddar cheese and my homemade low fat chipotle ranch dressing. Yummy and better than any restaurant quality full fat taco salad. Thanks Karyl Lee!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shimmerchk February 01, 2005

Abolutely delicious and very easy to make. I substituted ground chicken as I had it on hand, made it the day before to let the flavours blend, and then gently warmed it before serving over the salad greens. Great for lunch or dinner and very filling. Both my husband and son are still raving about it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aquababe January 12, 2005
Ground Turkey and Black Bean Salad Toss