12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We loved this. I used ground turkey and Mike didn't even notice, had he, he would have complained but intead, he raved. I also used fresh mushrooms, added 2 cloves of garlic and used an Italian seasoning blend rather than just the basil. I topped with Italian bread crumbs and left off the parm cheese. Also, rather than using milk I used sour cream for the mac and cheese. I just like it better for casseroles. Wont change a thing next time, and there will be many next times. Thanks for a great recipe. Goes nicely with the classic 'wedge' salad.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilysse April 26, 2006

I found this better than the macaroni one pot type meal that I usually make. The baking helps to meld the flavors. I used ground turkey instead of chicken.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stimied October 09, 2003

So delicious! My boyfriend and I could not get enough :) did not change anything about this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
briellehake May 01, 2013

This was quite good. I used 2 cloves fresh garlic and mushrooms plus ground turkey. I also used some Italian herb seasoning and Himalayan sea salt as it would have been bland.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michellew October 21, 2014

Seriously yummy recipe with a few tweaks for an adult crowd. I added a finely chopped 1/2 of jalapeno pepper, a sprinkle of cayenne, fresh ground pepper and sea salt, sautéed fresh mushrooms with the onion and topped it with crushed homemade buttery croutons tossed with fresh grated parmesan. TIP: Don't skimp on the basil, it's an integral part of the flavoring of the recipe (my opinion of course). Thanks for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
a_mead February 06, 2014

Thank you for this recipe. It is a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maribeth89 March 17, 2013

I gave this 4 stars. My 3 yrs & 4 yrs old newphews loved this casserole. I really liked it to. This was my first time using ground chicken and it was so easy to make. I used canola oil in place of the oil olive oil. I used a regular cooking onion in place of the sweet onion. I didn't have fresh basil on hand so I used a little dried basil leaves. I mixed the breadcrumbs & parmesan cheese together. Next time I make this I will mix the cheese in the casserole and top it with breadcrumbs. We will have this again! Thanks for posting a good recipe. Christine (internetnut)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut November 29, 2007

Went together easy and baked up nicely. Next time I'll add garlic and maybe a little more spice. Served with a green salad and hot bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Lady December 01, 2005

Very good! Easy and different, lighter than you'd think. I used ground turkey, fresh mushrooms and a whole grain macaroni and cheese mix. I added garlic to the sauteed onions and mushrooms. Thanks and we will have it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cknick November 28, 2005
Ground Chicken Casserole