10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Everyone enjoyed this for lunch. I was happy that this was so very easy to make. I used an extra 1/2 teaspoon of both the oregano and basil. I found that 8 ounces was enough tomato sauce. In step three I just added the zucchini on top of the dish not mixing it in as it cooked. The zucchini held it's shape better that way. I'll make this recipe again. Made for *Zaar Cookbook Tag 2009* game

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J December 20, 2009

I made this slightly differnt but with great results. Firstly, I omitted the corn, it just sounded wrong with the other ingredients. To me this recipe was sreaming for mushrooms, so I added about 2 cups of sliced fresh mushrooms, used fresh onion and fresh herbs. Topped it off with parmesean and a little feta and it was wonderful. Served over brown rice. Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsSally June 03, 2009

I needed something quick and easy for dinner. I also wanted something that I had everything on hand. I made exactly as written. My family added some hot sauce to it but I thought it was good as is.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol July 19, 2010

Great meal!! Didn't have any ground beef thawed, so I used ground turkey, and simmered it in a can of beef broth......Great tasting meal . Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
johnbyrdok October 04, 2009

Somehow had all of these ingredients on hand and needed something to do with them - this was perfect! I added a can of tomato sauce and water and once it came to a boil I added medium shell pasta. Simmered it until the pasta was cooked through, seasoned it again and dinner was ready! Thanks for posting, it fed us for a week ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kishka October 02, 2011

I loved this meal! I took out the diced tomatoes and just added a small can of tomato sauce. I also put in a total of about 4 zucchini instead of just the 1. I also put more parmesan cheese and added mozzerella. It was super easy and very good. My fiance looked at it and said he didn't want to try it because it didn't look great, but he ended up eating two bowl fulls. :) This will definitely become one of our regular meals.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aidan'sMom February 04, 2009

Made for 1-2-3 Hit Wonders. This was great. DH & I really enjoyed it. I liked the fact that it is low in carbs. I'm not doing a low carb diet, but I am watching my intake. I did add a can of tomato sauce as it looked a little dry to me. I will make this again as it was quick and easy. Thanks for posting this Hokies!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft January 20, 2009

I feel so cheap to leave a poor review. But I brough a serving for my lunch. I didn't like the taste. I felt like the basil and oregano were not right with the whole recipe. I felt like they were overpowering. And I was not sure of the corn being with all the remaining ingredients. And I like corn in some recipes. It's too dry. It could be great to add tomato sauce. The zucchini was great in this. I'm sorry Melissa. I thought I would like it when I tagged it. Made for Holiday tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette December 13, 2008

There are nights when one needs a simple one pot meal that comes together quickly but still delivers on flavor and taste. This included items commonly found in my kitchen and I decided to prepare it using ground turkey. This is a rather common substitution for me and I now prefer the milder flavor of the ground poultry over beef. Loved the combination of ingredients here and found mine was fully cooked in 15 minutes. Next time, I might at a little broth and tomato paste or perhaps some tomato paste as I found myself wanting a little more sauce in the skillet. Thanks! Made for the Went to the Market Game. (Updated 5/14: Wanted to add that this has turned out to be a versatile staple for my solo household. I added a little tomato paste and broth as mentioned above and served it over brown rice, whole wheat and spaghetti squash. Even when so far as to play with the spices each time I reheated as well as changing the cheese topping (e.g., adding a little chili powder to the skillet and topping with jalepeno jack cheese). Each meal was different and fresh without that ho hum leftover feel. Thanks again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni May 14, 2008

We really liked this dish. It was nice and tasty and easy to fix and serve in no time. I served it with borwn rice. Thanks for posting. I will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marisa2008 April 16, 2008
Ground Beef Zucchini Skillet Meal