13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I served it over angel hair pasta, and it was a little dry. Next time, I think I will add a splach of red wine to make it more moist. It was tasty though.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clifford Boren December 03, 2001

We liked this and will make it again! I sweated a carrot and celery stalks (diced) with the meat as it browned. I added 1 medium diced tomato. I would go heavier on the orange zest/juice and the ginger next time. I added 1/2 cup of cilantro after adding the meat back to the cornstarch mixture. Then I added some coarsely chopped cashews. Lastly I topped it with 1/3 cup sharp shredded white cheddar (pepper jack would be nice, too) and 1/2 cup of shredded fresh basil. Soy sauce was a nice balance to the mild sweet of the hoisin. Served over a little white rice AND a corn tortilla to see which we liked. I'd probably do rice/orzo/couscous for future times. You could also wrap in a lettuce leaf. Very versatile. Thanks, Tebo!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sidMILB April 25, 2005

This was tasty and since I was using leftover browned ground beef, it was quick to put together. We had it with tortillas, cheese and salsa. Next time, I will use less orange juice/zest since the flavor was a little too orange for us.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ducky July 27, 2003

We like things a little hot so I added 1tbsp Sriracha Sauce to the cornstarch/o.j. mixture. Then I added frozen peas in with the green onions. Served over rice this was a tasty, satisfying and easy meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
s-t December 15, 2009

I didn't care for this recipe very much at all. I didn't have any fresh ginger so not sure if that makes the difference or not. I put this in a tortilla like others suggested and only topped it with some cheese. The ground beef had a strange flavor, I didn't taste the orange at all, there was a bit of a kick to it but other than that it was somewhat on the dry side. I can't imagine putting this over rice as there was no extra sauce. My husband thought the recipe was just ok. only one of my kids would even try it, and I did not like it at all. This isn't a recipe I will be making again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ilovemykids1234 February 12, 2009

We really liked the orange in the mix. Especially when combined with the salsa. It sounded strange to my boys (especially when I told them the name of the recipe & they both said, "Did you say Poison?!" lol), but we all really enjoyed the change from plain old tacos. Thanks for sharing Tebo!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** May 21, 2008

The flavor combo in this is superb. I improvised a bit with sauteed onions, balsamic vinegar, skipped the corn starch. Very easy to make and super fast. I loved the sesame/garlic/hoisin/orange flavor combination. Creates deep rich asian flavor that can go with just plain white rice or whatever you desire.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dmitry March 05, 2008

I give the recipe as written below 3 stars, it was good but I felt like something was missing the first time around. I made this again last night and tweaked it a bit. Now I give it 5 stars. In step 4 I added extra ginger and some crushed red pepper. Then in step 6 I added the hoisin, orange juice (no cornstarch), 2 tbls or so of tamari, 1 tbls or so of brown sugar, tsp or so of rice vinegar. I let it simmer for 5 mins or so and it thickened on it's own. I served it w/ orange scented jasime rice and topped it w/ a ton of fresh cilantro. First time around, DH thought it was ok. This time around, he's asking for left overs the night after! Great basic recipe that can easily be adjusted and tweaked to meet your taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VanessaLynn February 18, 2008
Ground Beef with Hoisin