Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ground Beef with Hoisin Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ground Beef with Hoisin

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on December 03, 2001

      I served it over angel hair pasta, and it was a little dry. Next time, I think I will add a splach of red wine to make it more moist. It was tasty though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2005

      We liked this and will make it again! I sweated a carrot and celery stalks (diced) with the meat as it browned. I added 1 medium diced tomato. I would go heavier on the orange zest/juice and the ginger next time. I added 1/2 cup of cilantro after adding the meat back to the cornstarch mixture. Then I added some coarsely chopped cashews. Lastly I topped it with 1/3 cup sharp shredded white cheddar (pepper jack would be nice, too) and 1/2 cup of shredded fresh basil. Soy sauce was a nice balance to the mild sweet of the hoisin. Served over a little white rice AND a corn tortilla to see which we liked. I'd probably do rice/orzo/couscous for future times. You could also wrap in a lettuce leaf. Very versatile. Thanks, Tebo!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2003

      This was tasty and since I was using leftover browned ground beef, it was quick to put together. We had it with tortillas, cheese and salsa. Next time, I will use less orange juice/zest since the flavor was a little too orange for us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      We like things a little hot so I added 1tbsp Sriracha Sauce to the cornstarch/o.j. mixture. Then I added frozen peas in with the green onions. Served over rice this was a tasty, satisfying and easy meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      I didn't care for this recipe very much at all. I didn't have any fresh ginger so not sure if that makes the difference or not. I put this in a tortilla like others suggested and only topped it with some cheese. The ground beef had a strange flavor, I didn't taste the orange at all, there was a bit of a kick to it but other than that it was somewhat on the dry side. I can't imagine putting this over rice as there was no extra sauce. My husband thought the recipe was just ok. only one of my kids would even try it, and I did not like it at all. This isn't a recipe I will be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

    • on May 21, 2008

      We really liked the orange in the mix. Especially when combined with the salsa. It sounded strange to my boys (especially when I told them the name of the recipe & they both said, "Did you say Poison?!" lol), but we all really enjoyed the change from plain old tacos. Thanks for sharing Tebo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      The flavor combo in this is superb. I improvised a bit with sauteed onions, balsamic vinegar, skipped the corn starch. Very easy to make and super fast. I loved the sesame/garlic/hoisin/orange flavor combination. Creates deep rich asian flavor that can go with just plain white rice or whatever you desire.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      I give the recipe as written below 3 stars, it was good but I felt like something was missing the first time around. I made this again last night and tweaked it a bit. Now I give it 5 stars. In step 4 I added extra ginger and some crushed red pepper. Then in step 6 I added the hoisin, orange juice (no cornstarch), 2 tbls or so of tamari, 1 tbls or so of brown sugar, tsp or so of rice vinegar. I let it simmer for 5 mins or so and it thickened on it's own. I served it w/ orange scented jasime rice and topped it w/ a ton of fresh cilantro. First time around, DH thought it was ok. This time around, he's asking for left overs the night after! Great basic recipe that can easily be adjusted and tweaked to meet your taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2007

    • on July 25, 2006

      This was very good. I took your suggestion and made tacos with the meat. The sweet meat was both unusual and delicious! DH suggested next time making egg rolls with the meat :) We really enjoyed this recipe. Thanks for posting. Nick's Mom

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2006

      Hoisin is a favorite flavor at my house and I enjoyed it in this recipe. Next time I will use fresh ginger instead of bottled. I will also add a few more green onions. I used the beef as a topping for a lettuce salad. I think this would be good with waterchestnuts, corn and some beansprouts for next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2002

      Quick easy meal. We had this in tortillas as Tebo suggested. Hoisin is a favourite flavour of ours, just the right amount of 'sweet'. As well as what was suggested for toppings I included more green onions and sliced tomatoes too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ground Beef with Hoisin

    Serving Size: 1 (141 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 237.6
     
    Calories from Fat 111
    47%
    Total Fat 12.4 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 4.1 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 59.3 mg
    19%
    Sodium 271.5 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.4 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 19.3 g
    38%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes