28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was wunderbar! I went heavy on the onions and pepper and served it over buttery mashed potatoes. My Mom had the idea of potatoes on bottom and sharp cheese melted over top, like an inside out shepherds pie! You can add just about any spice to this to jazz it up (try peppers and garlic or curry powder, yumm, i've already created 5 diff dinners from 1 recipe). also, I didn't cook it all the way through. I left it tender but firm and picked a bright green cabbage just so it would look pretty. This also goes well with warm crusty bread.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kaydia Ji March 14, 2005

just like Chef Kaydia Ji i served on a bed of mashed potatoes, and with melted cheese on top, for seasonings i used chilli powder, paprika, garlic powder and salt. DELICIOUS me and my husband loved it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justtoleavereview December 29, 2009

Easy to make, I didn't even measure just threw it all together and turned out great. Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anniesthisnthat August 29, 2008

Very good! I started this in a skillet and finished in a crockpot. I poured in a bottle of German beer so it wouldn't dry out. The aromas were amazing! Also took a shortcut ('cause I'm always in such a doggone hurry =p ) by using bagged pre-chopped cabbage for cole slaw. The prep and clean up were virtually nonexistent. Enjoyed by all 'round the table. Thanks, Bea, for a great dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glori-B December 27, 2014

I make something very close to this however I add a envelope of lipton onion soup mix and a little water, this makes a huge difference and boy is it good for being so easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DPar April 23, 2014

Okay. I doubled the recipe. It's a meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
makesharamel April 22, 2014

I too did not measure ingredients and it turned out great! I used a couple cloves of chopped garlic also. Was wonderful served with sour cream and hot sauce!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u January 05, 2014

Great start for a recipe but I noticed it needed more
moisture so I added 1/2 cup water 3 big tablespoons of
tomato sauce and about 4 Tablespoons of sweetened condensed milk.
The latter because I used curry spices red and yellow.
I served it over rice. My husband says to add some sugar to
balance the acidity and some salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ARM PCV January 17, 2013

This was simply easy to make, we served this over some noodles. I think it was lacking some flavor but that was MY fault. Next time I'm not going to be afraid to really lay the spices on. I think if I could have added some garlic, fresh rosemary, fresh cilantro, and maybe two different types of onions it would have been awesome. Something I will be making again as my husband said he did like it but felt it was missing something spice wise. Otherwise great recipe. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChrissyVas80 October 27, 2012

Very good base/inspiration though def a little bland which is why I gave 3 stars. Would however make again, probably with a lot more carrots (added nice color/texture/flavor balance). Very easy/quick dinner option and fairly healthy too. Like many readers I needed to add a fair amt of spice- paprika, curry, onion flakes, good squeeze of ketchup. I kept the lid on for the first few minutes until the cabbage started to cook down, but then lid off so it didn't get too soupy. Like many I also didn't worry about exact measurements- I used what I had for cabbage (two small ones from the garden), because I wanted it to be a little more vegetable to meat ratio than the photos indicated.

Healthy meal recommendations: Night one, before starting the prep, put on a pot of brown rice with one cube of bullion for some flavor. For four people: 1 cup rice, 2 cups water.
Night two, serve in whole wheat tortilla with a small amt cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
junkmmwnomad October 05, 2012
Ground Beef with Cabbage