Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ground Beef with Cabbage Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ground Beef with Cabbage

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on March 14, 2005

      This was wunderbar! I went heavy on the onions and pepper and served it over buttery mashed potatoes. My Mom had the idea of potatoes on bottom and sharp cheese melted over top, like an inside out shepherds pie! You can add just about any spice to this to jazz it up (try peppers and garlic or curry powder, yumm, i've already created 5 diff dinners from 1 recipe). also, I didn't cook it all the way through. I left it tender but firm and picked a bright green cabbage just so it would look pretty. This also goes well with warm crusty bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      just like Chef Kaydia Ji i served on a bed of mashed potatoes, and with melted cheese on top, for seasonings i used chilli powder, paprika, garlic powder and salt. DELICIOUS me and my husband loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      Easy to make, I didn't even measure just threw it all together and turned out great. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2014

      I make something very close to this however I add a envelope of lipton onion soup mix and a little water, this makes a huge difference and boy is it good for being so easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2014

      Okay. I doubled the recipe. It's a meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2014

      I too did not measure ingredients and it turned out great! I used a couple cloves of chopped garlic also. Was wonderful served with sour cream and hot sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2013

      Great start for a recipe but I noticed it needed more
      moisture so I added 1/2 cup water 3 big tablespoons of
      tomato sauce and about 4 Tablespoons of sweetened condensed milk.
      The latter because I used curry spices red and yellow.
      I served it over rice. My husband says to add some sugar to
      balance the acidity and some salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2012

      This was simply easy to make, we served this over some noodles. I think it was lacking some flavor but that was MY fault. Next time I'm not going to be afraid to really lay the spices on. I think if I could have added some garlic, fresh rosemary, fresh cilantro, and maybe two different types of onions it would have been awesome. Something I will be making again as my husband said he did like it but felt it was missing something spice wise. Otherwise great recipe. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2012

      Very good base/inspiration though def a little bland which is why I gave 3 stars. Would however make again, probably with a lot more carrots (added nice color/texture/flavor balance). Very easy/quick dinner option and fairly healthy too. Like many readers I needed to add a fair amt of spice- paprika, curry, onion flakes, good squeeze of ketchup. I kept the lid on for the first few minutes until the cabbage started to cook down, but then lid off so it didn't get too soupy. Like many I also didn't worry about exact measurements- I used what I had for cabbage (two small ones from the garden), because I wanted it to be a little more vegetable to meat ratio than the photos indicated.

      Healthy meal recommendations: Night one, before starting the prep, put on a pot of brown rice with one cube of bullion for some flavor. For four people: 1 cup rice, 2 cups water.
      Night two, serve in whole wheat tortilla with a small amt cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2010

      This recipe is so good and easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2010

      Loved it. My kids ate it all up. we served it with rice. I think i may have added paprika, like another poster did. Overall, tastes good and very easy to prepare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      Good, but a little bit bland. Maybe adding some spices to the meat will help?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      Oh I believe I just found a new favorite comfort food. This is delicious!! I thought I'd leave my 5 stars and review before I get up to fill my bowl again. Served this over rice. YUM! Made for PAC Spring 09. Update: made this again today and served it wrapped in flour tortillas. STILL deserves more stars than I'm allowed to give it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2009

      Good! And super easy too with minimal clean up. Didn't have onion so I used some onion powder and onion flakes. Omitted the bay leaf because I added about half a cup of chicken broth. (My beef was pre-cooked and dry before that.) My husband added a pinch of cumin and that was a good idea. I served it over brown rice and my husband liked it so much he's excited about leftovers for his lunch tomorrow. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      This recipe is sooo good and easy to make. My family loves it. I will definitely make it again and again. Thank you so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      I'm so happy to have found this recipe. Many years ago I use to make something similar and I completely forgot about it. Can't wait to make yours. Thank you so much for posting. This truly is comfort food at its best.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

    • on December 18, 2008

    • on January 29, 2008

      This is super easy to prepare with minimal ingredients. We really enjoyed it and will make it often in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      Delicious! My husband, who grew up in the USSR, says this reminds him of something his mom used to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ground Beef with Cabbage

    Serving Size: 1 (244 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 210.5
     
    Calories from Fat 103
    48%
    Total Fat 11.4 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 51.0 mg
    17%
    Sodium 93.6 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.4 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    16%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 15.9 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites