11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a big hit with my boys. They wanted me to make it again the next night! I did as one reader suggested and used cream of chicken as well as cream of mushroom soups. I also added the onion soup mix. I put corn , mushrooms and garlic powder in it along with a little chili powder for an added zing. Will definitely make this again. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzanne Valerie May 06, 2010

This was very easy to make but I don't think I'll make it again. It was OK but nothing special. A bit bland but maybe would be better with the onion soup mix like some suggested. I did the crescent rolls over the top rather than the bread-maybe that made a difference too. It was worth a try though. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rschott71 January 14, 2009

Once I got started on this, I went a little crazy with it. I used 96% fat free ground beef. I added a can of cream of mushroom in with it as well as the cream of chicken (both the 98% fat free) and did as new chef mentioned and added the onion soup mix. I also added crescent rolls to the top instead of bread because I didn't have bread. And, I had some corn, peas, and carrots I needed to use, so I tossed them in too. My family said they'd like to have this on the table once a week! YAY!!! Definitely comfort food even with the low fat items. Thanks for the great idea!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SmoochTheCook December 02, 2008

Was good but a little dry, I used cream of mushroom soup w/garlic and milk instead of water I also topped with crossants

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
844680 May 23, 2008

I'm all about easy and using stuff I've had around for forever from another recipe, so while the hamburger was browning, I added the last packet of onion soup that I've had for about 4 years. The other reviews all mentioned a lack of flavor, and this was so good!! Also, instead of bread, I took a roll of crossants from Pilsbury, and rolled them out flat, covering the noodle/meat mixture. Turned out SO good and so creamy!! Kids loved and will definately make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lampwilkins April 14, 2008

I added frozen mashed onion to the ground beef and fried them. I used a can of evaporated milk instead of water. Added powdered garlic. Added a small can of mushrooms while everything was simmering. Also used non egg noodles...I will add bread crumbs to the top or the dish when baking. I added a tiny bit of celery salt too. When finished the noodles took up some of the flavor so I will make sure that I add a little more spices to the dish before hand. We added peas to the kids meals and they loved it! I will add more then 1/4th cup of water next time since the noodles took up a lot of the juice too. It got a little dry. Oh and the bread crumbs didn’t do anything but dry it out…so I will do the bread topping like you suggested originally or I will do the biscuits.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seasons February 06, 2008

Not bad. I added onions to the ground beef and a can of mixed veggies to the soup mixture. May add one more can of soup, mixture looked too thin. My son asked for more ground beef next time. Keeper for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marmaduke July 01, 2005

I added cajun seasoning like sugarpea and I also mixed in a can of Veg-All to give it a bit of bulk. This is a good meal if it's close to grocery day and you are looking for something in your cupboards for the family!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grouchgirl June 02, 2005

Good plain food, just basic and pleasing for when that is just what you need, didn't do bread cubes topped it off with shredded parmesan(we love cheese)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lets.eat February 20, 2005

Definitely comfort food.Took Dorel's suggestion to heart and spiced this up with 2tsp of cajun seasoning #36405 and browned a chopped onion with the ground beef. I also skipped the bread cubes and placed biscuits atop the casserole after baking it for 10 minutes and finished baking it and the biscuits in another 15 minutes at 400°.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea November 20, 2004
Ground Beef, Noodle, Cream of Chicken Soup Casserole