Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ground Beef Gyros Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ground Beef Gyros

    Average Rating:

    233 Total Reviews

    Showing 161-180 of 233

    Sort by:

    • on December 28, 2007

      I hate giving low stars but I was so excited to make these tonight but I didnt love them like I thought I would =[ The sauce wasnt that great to me and didnt really have that taste that im used to, and it was a bit runny. I grilled the ground beef on my George Foreman grill but it didnt have enough flavor....it needed more spices for my tastebuds. But I will say that it was a starting point and I will try and make homemade gyros again maybe with another sauce recipe and probaly with ground lamb with a bit more spices to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      TRULY OUTSTANDING!!! I love gyros, I never thought I could get that same taste at home with ground beef, with this recipe you can. I followed the recipe exactly, however I did use ground beef not turkey, they were perfect. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      WONDERFUL!!! I have made several times and they are always soooo good. Have also made w/ ground turkey. I like to add a pinch of thyme, cinnamon,and allspice to the filling. For the sauce, I use greek yogurt (thicker), omit the sugar, and add a little evoo, salt, and lemon juice. I use my George Foreman Grill and they are perfect everytime! I serve w/ roasted potatoes seasoned w/ greek seasoning and you can't ask for anything better-yum!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      Used ground turkey and this was fantastic! Thanks so much for giving us a healthy option for a craveable treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2007

    • on December 10, 2007

      These were great! We will definitely make them again. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2007

      This tastes just like the real thing minus all the fat! SO easy and delicious!! I made mine into a long flat loaf like other reviewers. Baked at 350 for 35 min, let sit for a few minutes, and sliced thin. I made Olga Bread (from this site) to go with. I added a little bit of dill to the sauce and cut back on the sugar. I look forward to making this again! Thanks fo sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      this was so easy and my husband loves it! We had it two nights in a row!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2007

    • on October 20, 2007

      I like this a lot, especially the sauce. For some reason though, the meat wasn't as flavorful, even though the ingredients used are fairly strong ones. If I make this again, I think I might double up on the seasonings. Even still, it was a nice change from normal lunch sandwiches. Thanks for the recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      Not the real deal, but plenty close enough without having to drive 20 miles to get one...Flavor and texture are good...You make one big burger...What could be easier??? I like my own version of the cucumber sauce so that's what I use (posted on this site)...Will make again... Thanks for the recipe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      We thought the tzatziki was right on the money. It was fantastic and I will use this recipe for it from now on. However, the beef was really bland and we were very disappointed with that. I had a hard time getting them sliced "thinly." We may try these again adding more spice. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      This was much better than I thought it would be. The sauce was great and the hamburger had really good flavor. My husband was really impressed and he's a chef. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2007

      Very Good and Super Easy. I used a little less sugar and red onions and cooked my burgers on the stove. Dinner was on the table so quick. Thank you for a different meal using ground beef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      Really great flavor! I didn't use the sauce recipe as I don't like cucumbers. I instead used Swiss Chard Tzatziki Swiss Chard Tzatziki which worked really well. I also followed the oven method and patted this into a round 2 inch loaf and cooked at 350 degrees for about 40-45 minutes. I like mine a little more spicy so I think next time I will add more pepper. Thanks for a great dinner that DH and his friends totally inhaled!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      This was SO darn good & easy!!! I also just made one flat meatloaf like patty. The meat was firm and easy to slice up. I'm impressed with the simplicity and authentic flavor of this recipe. Definitely deserves 5 stars!! Thank you! UPDATE: I made this again, but this time I used a large flour tortilla to wrap it all in. It turned out to be much easier & less messy to eat than with the pita. I also used baby spinach in place of the lettuce for more nutrition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2007

      I can't believe these tasted just like the gyros I get for take-out! My kids and I were amazed! I used ground beef and did as someone else suggested, making a flat, oval meatloaf and cooking it in the oven for half an hour or so. Let it sit for a few minutes and had no problem slicing it. And I added a bit of sour cream to the sauce, just for personal preference. Wonderful! My 11 year old ate four of them! Thank you for the wonderful dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      A simple, easy weeknight meal. I made it with arabian pita bread (Arabian Pita Bread). The yogurt sauce was excellent. After we ran out of the beef we continued to dip the pita in the sauce. The family declared the sauce "da bomb".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2007

      5 stars for how easy it is to taste so good. This took almost no effort or prep. I broiled the meat in the toaster oven exactly as suggested and it was great! I feel like I didn't even cook dinner tonight, it all came together so nicely. Sometimes I am so tired after all the chopping and stirring and measuring and watching, that I don't even enjoy what I've made (I'm not one of those real chefs on this site), but this was great. Less work and healthier taste than simple burgers or beefy mac.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2007

      Very good. I made the meat into little meatballs and baked them as suggested by others but I found them to be a little dry. The flavor was perfect tho and DH wanted to know where I got gyro meat from. I did not use the cucumber sauce, I made my own since I know everyone likes it. Thanks for posting, I'll be making this again but next time as directed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ground Beef Gyros

    Serving Size: 1 (344 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 436.3
     
    Calories from Fat 128
    29%
    Total Fat 14.2 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 81.6 mg
    27%
    Sodium 436.7 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.1 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 7.2 g
    29%
    Protein 31.6 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites