Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ground Beef Gyros Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ground Beef Gyros

    Average Rating:

    234 Total Reviews

    Showing 141-160 of 234

    Sort by:

    • on April 13, 2008

      Nice change from a regular hamburger! The flavor was great!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2008

      I've made this a couple of times now and I love it. Tip for those of you who have had trouble with the meat crumbling or falling apart; use a food processor to mix the meat up and it has a much denser consistency and will not fall apart. Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      I used another recipe for the tzatziki sauce. But the meat was delicious! I made it with ground turkey, and grilled it. I made some pita bread to go with it. Even my toddler loved it! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2008

      Thanks for the gyro recipe! I used this Tzatziki recipe. So my review is based on the meat only. I thought the amount of oregano was a bit overpowering. So I will reduce that next time. I also had the problem of the meat falling apart. I think I'm going to experiment and try putting 1 egg in the recipe and cooking more like a meat loaf. If that does not work I will use the other suggestions of putting into 1 large flat patty. I might even try using ground turkey because we eat that more. Thank you so much for the recipe! It was nice to have gyros at home rather then driving 30 min to get them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2008

      This Recipe was phenominal! I made it for my family tonight, but instead of Pita's, I made homemade tortillas and it was great! Just like my favorite Greek Restaurant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      A great and simple recipe when I'm having a Greek craving! The meat is extremely flavorful and makes the dish perfect. (We did ours under our broiler - no grill!) I actually decided to go a little bit crazy and make pizzas by adding some ricotta cheese, spinach and black olives along with the meat on top of the pita breads and baking them in the oven for a few minutes. Used the tzatziki sauce drizzled over the tops. Definitely a keeper - thanks so much for the idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      This was great and done in around 30 mins. So easy and totally satisfied my gyro craving. I recommend using Greek style plain yogurt for better sauce consistency. Also, I added a splash of lemon juice to the sauce. Otherwise, followed the recipe exactly. This has made it way into the rotation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

    • on February 14, 2008

      These tasted good, but the sauce needed something. I added a good squeeze of lemon juice. I wasn't sure how they would slice, but with a very sharp knife it was not a problem. The seasonings in the meat were just right, my DH actually asked "Is this lamb?" I smiled and said "It's good isn't it?"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      Quick and easy! These will be a staple in my house from now on! DH2B liked the sauce- even though he doesn't really care for onions or cukes. Silly man! These hold up well for left overs too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      I had saved this recipe a while back and am so glad I got around to making it! I opted for lean ground turkey. I'd never had a Gyro before, but DH was 'more than impressed' that I had got the seasonings right b/c they tasted just like the ones he orders while up in NYC. Thanks Cyrene, these are great and quick! I did notice that the yogurt sauce was much better the 2nd day after sitting, so going forward I'd likely make it ahead of time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      I made this recipe for dinner this evening, and it was a success. My husband and I both enjoyed it, and even our picky little 2 and 4 year old girls ate the meat from it (they aren't too big into the sandwich concept). Tastes a good deal like traditional gyro meat. I used ground sirloin (90% lean). Since it is winter, I broiled the meat in the oven--about 4-5 minutes. Sauce was tasty, and I did not find it overly sweet at all, as a few have mentioned. A nice accompaniment to the gyro. An easy meal to put together, and I will be making it again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      Easy and quick to make. Used my foreman grill. Healthy meal. What's not to like.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      This made a great meal and was quick to make. I liked the yogurt sauce..very tasty. I over-cooked the beef a little on the stovetop but it was still great. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      The Greek yogurt sauce, traditionally called tzatziki, is one of my specialties. For this recipe, I would suggest omitting the onion and salt, and adding about a teaspoon each of olive oil and red wine vinegar. Add a pinch of salt and pepper. For the finishing touch, I like to add about a teaspoon of dill; but if you're not a big fan, mint is the traditional herb. I would suggest adding one, or even both!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      These are really very good. I thought they were just a little bland and next time I will add some lemon juice and use real garlic in the meat. I did not have tomatoes, it is the middle of January and I don't like pink styrofoam tomatoes. I will try this again in the summer when we have our own ripe tomatoes and I am sure it will be better. I added a few sliced kalamata olives, could use black olives. Also next time, I am going to add some feta cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      This was so good! My son thinks we should eat these Gyros every day. I added a little lemon juice like someone suggested. I actually have more meat cooking now to make more! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      I love gyros and what a great way to have them. I do use tortilla shells instead of pita and sometimes just sour cream, onions and tomatoes instead of making the cucumber sauce. I have made these numerous times and have never rated it!! Its wonderful..my BF asks me to make these all time for lunches. I do make a oval meatloaf about 1" thick and bake for 350 for 30-45 mins. Sometimes I make 2-3 pounds of this! Its easier to slice in a meatloaf shape. Thanks so much for the recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      This is something I have been craving for months.There is no place to get these in my Northern Ca town Redding that I know of.Becareful not to over cook the meat as it will dry out. Used my panni grill and will do it again.I only had dried Mexican oregano so I smashed it in my palm. I never realized it was the oregano that gave the meat it flavor. Great recipe will make often. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      I like garlic and lemon so I added both to the meat seasoning and yogurt sauce. Also, after reading the reviews I decided to spice up the meat with cumin, paprika and added an egg and bread crumbs to help the meat adhere together. I know I changed the recipe to suit our personal tastes, but I think that this is a good recipe and thank you for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ground Beef Gyros

    Serving Size: 1 (344 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 436.3
     
    Calories from Fat 128
    29%
    Total Fat 14.2 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 81.6 mg
    27%
    Sodium 436.7 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.1 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 7.2 g
    29%
    Protein 31.6 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites