Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ground Beef Gyros Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ground Beef Gyros

    Average Rating:

    234 Total Reviews

    Showing 121-140 of 234

    Sort by:

    • on October 13, 2008

      Love this recipe. Will make this again and again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      Really good recipe! Like other reviewers, I used minced garlic and added a bit of lemon juice. I also substituted chicken for the beef. I was able to use fat-free yogurt and got the same creamy effect. Tasted just like my favorite diner's gyros! My husband asked that this be added to our dinner rotation. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      Awesome recipe! DH says it would be the best recipe EVER if it was made with lamb instead of ground beef. Definitely a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      Very good recipe. It is a bit deceiving though because your recipe makes 4 sandwiches, however the nutritional calculations are for 12 servings? Anyhow, I recalculated in my private recipes and tweaked a bit to lower the fat. I made 6 patties instead of four and used lowfat yogurt. The rest remained the same. New numbers were: 265 calories and 9 grams of total fat per serving, but still very do-able for those trying to watch what they eat. Very tasty. Oh yes, and I added dill to the cucumber sauce as well. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      We absolutely loved these! Easily adaptable for my family members who all have different taste. Will make again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      This was the third time I made this recipe and it was great. I did make some changes, in how it is cooked. I diced a quarter of a sweet onion and sauted it in olive oil. Then I mixed the beef up with the spices and cooked that in the pan. The result was similar to the consistency of taco meat. The taste was great and it was easier for us to handle. We just filled up the pita with meat, lettuce, tomato, sauce (which I got store bought), and feta. It was great! I added some chopped Kalamata olives to mine as well. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      Very delicious! Even my Egyptian husband was impressed (which was exactly what I was going for)! I also think I overcooked the meat, but I'm still kind of a novice in the kitchen. For the sauce, I cut the sugar and added a little fresh mint. Overall, they were really a treat. I will definitely make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

    • on August 18, 2008

      These taste amazing! I lived for many years closeto large Greek community and the best Greek resturants and bakeries. Since I've moved, I've learned how to recreate my favorites at home but I never did attempt the Gyro because I don't have easy access to lamb. If you like Gyros, you'll like this recipe. What a wonderful find. Thank you for sharing it :]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      These were really good. And the cucumber sauce was GREAT. I think I might have overcooked the beef though, it was tough. Otherwise, great version of gyros

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      so quick and easy, a great change from burgers. The first time i made them too large for our pitas, but practice makes perfect, and certainly look forward to many more practice runs!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      FANTASTIC!!! My husband and I serve these in naan bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      These were pretty good. I had never had a gyro before, but my husband has and he loves them. He said the seasonings on the meat was perfect...everything was great. The only thing he decided he'd change (or have me change next time I make them ;) ) is more cucumber in the sauce. It just seemed really yogurt-y. I think that next time I will use more cucumber and put it & yogurt in a food processor to mix it evenly throughout. I really enjoyed my first gyro! It won't be my last!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      Yum! Served on wheat tortillas! The seasoning in the meat is great! I served them for our main meal, and feel that this recipe serves 4, not 12. I added salt to the sauce, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      Just okay for me. Used ground turkey instead of beef-also did not make as gyro. Served with warm pita bread and Greek Salad. Will try with ground beef next time! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2008

      Great recipe! Superfast and easy, the whole family enjoyed them. Wrapped some flatbread in foil and heated on the grill while the meat was cooking. Will make again. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2008

      Love Love Love this recipe! I love gyros and this lets us have them without all of the fuss.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2008

      We LOVED this!! It was very good, and even my 2 1/2 yr old ate a lot of it, and she is SO picky! My 14 month old liked it too!! (in very small bits!) DH thought it would be hard to cut so he wanted to just crumble it, but I made him try, and he said it was so easy to slice it! We will use this again for sure, but we'll 1/2 the sauce next time, tastes great, it's just too much for us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2008

      I made this the night before last. My family loved it! My son, who really isn't a huge gyro fan, LOVED the ground beef version. I made the sauce as well and it was great, too! Will definately be making this one often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2008

      This was great. I added fresh mint to the tzaziki sauce, and used honey instead of sugar. I also used fresh garlic and extra herbs in the beef mixture. The recipe says it serves 12, but one pound of beef just doesn't go that far in my house - it ended up making about 5 servings. Thanks for the yummy and easy recipe Cyrene!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ground Beef Gyros

    Serving Size: 1 (344 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 436.3
     
    Calories from Fat 128
    29%
    Total Fat 14.2 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 81.6 mg
    27%
    Sodium 436.7 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.1 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 7.2 g
    29%
    Protein 31.6 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites