Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ground Beef Gyros Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ground Beef Gyros

    Average Rating:

    235 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 235

    Sort by:

    • on May 01, 2009

      Love this recipie. I use turkey for health reasons. Great recipie when you want something good but simple. Great for entertaining.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      Changing my review from 07'. This recipe has become a favorite in our household. We mix it up with chicken, ground lamb (YUM YUM) or ground turkey. We tend to use fresh onion and garlic and for the sauce we use greek yogurt and a little dill. We don't always make patties and it does seem to be quicker that way without changing the taste. Thank you Cyrene for 2 years of yummy and inexpensive gyros.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      Pretty good recipe! My picky children loved them! I prefer stronger spices and a different sauce....but all in all, not a bad quick yummy substitute. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      Love this recipe! It's so easy and tasty too. The hubby actually gets excited when he finds out it's what we're having for dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      DH was loving these Gyros. He was even surprised it was ground beef. He sopped the sauce with pita and had himself about 3 helping. The meat is very flavorful...however the sauce I had some issues with. I doubled it and added 2 tsp of sugar. It was way too sweet. I panicked and started adding salt but it still was too sweet. I finally added some mayo and some Worcestershire sauce. That seemed to do the trick. I was happy the sauce turned out. It kinda of tasted like a BBQ ranch dressing. Next time going to take it easy on the sugar and will probably add some sour cream. This recipe is quick, healthy and very good. I can't wait to make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      This was so easy to make the tasted like the real deal. The sauce was refreshing. I used Fage 0% Greek yogurt and added a little dill/lemon seasoning. Served with a greek salad, it was a fantastic meal on a hot day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      Great recipe! Super simple, made it with ground buffalo! Will definitely make again. Did recipe as written, except I followed one reviewer and added lemon juice and mint to the tzatiki sauce. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      I was on a sandwich kick for awhile and of course I had to try these! They were great with all the spices, due to a great mix of flavors. My wife likes doubling the recipe so we can have leftovers for work! Great idea too! Potzi

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      It was great. I love Gyros but my husband says it's like Greek version of hot dog meaning you don't know what's in it. So it's nice and simple and we all enjoyed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      I used this recipe to make turkey gyros, and it came out great. I used different recipe for tzatziki, because I don't like onions, but the meat itself I will definitely be making often. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      These were very good. I prefer the ones on here made with Flank Steak, but these are good if I don't have the steak. Thanks for sharing!! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      These were good. We used tzatziki we already had, so didn't try the sauce recipe, but the meat was good. Baked in a meatloaf at 350 for about 40min. The meat didn't have much flavor, but in a pita with lots of veggies (especially red onions), and lots of tzatziki, it was a great fresh meal. Will also try with ground turkey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      These were really good. My entire family likes them. I doubled the ingredients for the filling, used ground turkey and baked like a meatloaf. I have made this twice in the past month. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      Just my 2 cents worth. They are great and we really enjoyed them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      We loved it. Tasted just like gyros at our local Greek place. I substitued venison for the ground beef. I doubed the recipe and placed in in the fridge for a couple of days to let the spices meld. I also make the Pita Bread #60108 to go with these. I made into oblong patties to fit pita and did not slice. Did not use lettuce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      We absolutely LOVED this and it totally tasted like eating an authentic Gyro! I was SUPER skeptical about this recipe since I'm used to lamb gyros but I had a craving and had the beef...so I gave it a shot. I increased all seasoning in the beef by quite a bit (eyeballed it) and used Tzatziki (which was EXCELLENT!) for the Tzatziki. We LOVED, LOVED, LOVED it! My husband tasted the beef without the sauce and felt it tasted like a plain burger to him. I think you definitely want the sauce and the fillings to make this a true tasting Gyro. I served this with sliced onions and sliced tomatoes. No lettuce since I've never seen it served with lettuce in any of the restaurants I've eaten it in. GREAT recipe and will definitely make again. Thank you !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      This is VERY much a Greek Gyro recipe. I did however, find that the meat had very little flavor, but I also left out the salt. Won't do that next time. But the sauce and the rest were wonderful! I just need to find out how to make the pita bread all light and fluffy, because even heated, mine was kinda stiff. Anyway! A+ recipe. Can't wait to try it again! Even hubby said he was willing for another shot, since all the other flavors were exact!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

      My husband and I didn't like the sauce at all! It was too bland for our tastes. We ended up just putting ranch dressing on instead. Not high cuisine, but we liked the gyros a lot better without the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      My kids really enjoyed this meal. I didn't make patties, though. I just cooked up the meat, defatted it and add the herbs and other seasonings and cooked a little more. Used shredded cabbage instead of lettuce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      This was a fantastic recipe. The tzatzki sauce was extremely easy, though I didn't buy the greek yogurt I used regular plain yougurt that I allowed to drain. But the flavor was exactly what I was looking for and the recipe was extremely easy. The meat mixture was also very easy and delicious. I shaped mine into a sort of loaf and then sliced thin to serve, I baked for about 30 mins at 350 degrees. Also served this with greek pita bread Greek Pita Bread. Thank you for posting cyrene, this was a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ground Beef Gyros

    Serving Size: 1 (344 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 436.3
     
    Calories from Fat 128
    29%
    Total Fat 14.2 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 81.6 mg
    27%
    Sodium 436.7 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.1 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 7.2 g
    29%
    Protein 31.6 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes