Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ground Beef Gyros Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ground Beef Gyros

    Average Rating:

    235 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 235

    Sort by:

    • on June 17, 2010

      What a nice change of pace from hamburgers! My entire family enjoyed this meal. I took the advice of other reviewers and prepared the sauce and the meat a few hours in advance so the flavors were enhanced. I think I may try this recipe with boneless chicken breasts!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      Was very good. I made the tzatzki and beef mixture 4 hours prior to eating to let the flavors meld. I also doubled the spices in the meat. Was very good. SO refused to eat the tzatzki, which irritated me to no end as it really makes the dish......oh well was SO's loss and my gain!! Make sure to really WORK the meat and compress tightly to ensure it slices cleanly. ENJOY!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      Loved this. Such a great change of pace for my family...totally going into the rotation. Just make sure you make the sauce as far ahead of time as you can. Then it really doesn't need lemon juice or other adjustments...just time in the fridge for the flavors to develop. I made individual pita size patties and broiled them in the oven for the meat portion. It worked wonderfully and my whole family enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      Perfect, easy dinner when you're wondering what to make with ground beef. I put the mix of spices and salt in the coffee grinder, adding also a little coriander seed, then worked that into the ground beef with a little olive oil, though I didn't have time to marinate it. I made one large flat patty and grilled it under the broiler in the oven, both sides, then cut it in thin slices. The taste is perfectly like take out gyros!! I did skip the sugar in the yogourt - it really doesn't need anything else to be FABULOUS.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      This was a hit! Thanks. Although I used a different recipe for the tzatziki, the meat turned out great and really tasted authentic :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      OMG I love Gyros I am so glad I found this recipe I have not made it yet (we are having it tonight) but I will let you know how it goes over here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      I used ground veal. Yummy!!! It smells and taste just like the Gyros from my favorite greek restaurant. I am so glad I tried your recipe! This recipe is a keeper! Thank you very much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      This is definitely a keeper. I used a whole cucumber (peeled and seeded) for the sauce and 8oz of sour cream instead of yogurt. I kept everything else in the sauce the same. The sour cream made it slightly too thick, so I sprinkled it sparsely with salt a few times to help draw some liquid out of the cucumbers, helping to make it a little thinner. This was perfect. I also added a few dashes of pepper to the sauce. I kept everything exactly the same for the meat patties, but I used naan from the bakery instead of pitas (next time I want to make my own naan for this). After the patties were grilled and sliced, I laid a slice (piece?) on naan on my pannini press and layered meat and thinly sliced onions on it. I put on the top naan layer and closed the press for a few minutes. After removing from the press, I added the sauce, tomatoes and lettuce between the naan and closed it back up. My husband and I lived lived in Germany for a few years and there were kabab (gyro) stands on every street corner. We fell in love with them there, and this is so close to the taste we remember. Fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      My family and I loved this recipe! Although we did find the Tzatiki sauce to be to sweet and it didn't have enough cucumbers. The meat tasted EXACTLY like the lamb gyros we get from our local restaurant! Thanks for posting this recipe!!!!! We also think that the meat would make great hamburger patties.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      These were not bad at all. I did not however make the sauce just based on our taste preference but we loved the flavor of the meat. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      I was highly skeptical of this recipe since I've been visiting a local shop with wonderful gyros for many years now. Sadly, the shop closed last year and I've been looking for a new source for good gyros. I wasn't expecting much from something using beef instead of lamb, but it turned out extremely well! I added a bit more garlic than the recipe called for and used sirloin tip instead of cheaper ground beef. The sauce seemed to be lacking something, but I couldn't figure out what it was. Definitely a keeper though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      I used ground turkey for this recipie. While browning the turkey, I ended up doubling the onion and garlic powder b/c of personal tastes. I followed the advise of some other user reviews and made the sauce the day before, so the flavors would have time to mellow. I used greek yogurt instead of regular yogurt, garlic powder instead of fresh garlic (this was not my preference, but my fresh garlic had gone bad) and I didn't add the sugar to the sauce when it was made. However, i ended up adding the recommended amount of sugar to the sauce while I was making the filling b/c the sauce was still a bit too tart, and it really made the sauce delicious. Instead of making patties and them slicing them after they were cooked, I just let the meat stay as crumbles. We ate them on some flatbread wraps we bought from the store. The gyros were very good-not quite what you get in a restaurant, but they were definitely good for home-made. We will be adding this recipe to our repertoire. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      I have a tip for the sauce. Take a soft thin cotton material, place it in a colander, and empty the yogurt into it. Cover the yogurt with the material, and squeeze. Place the yogurt into the fridge for a couple of hours. Transfer the yogurt to a bowl and add olive oil, salt, and lemon juice to the recipe, and omit the onions and sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      I've made this twice, once with ground beef and the 2nd time with ground lamb. Unfortunately they both didn't live up to a Gyro you would get if you ate out. It seems to be missing something but I'm not sure what. Thanks anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      Thought it was crazy to even try to pass this one off on a family of true greek style gyro lovers. It worked, they loved, i laughed. They even hoped for leftovers the next day. Sorry. The sauce was not so easy to pass off, did add some sour cream adjusting, perfecto! Thank you for sharing. will be making more often. xxoo

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      I had a hankering for some gyros for some time. This recipe filled the void. Worked out really well. Not sure if anyone else tried this, but I but the meat mixture in a loaf pan filled about half way up and put in freezer until just firm. Took out and sliced width-wise (about 1/4 inch thick slices) and pan fryed in a bit of olive oil. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

    • on January 21, 2010

      I have found the secret to a great greek yogurt sauce (tzatziki) is to cut the yogurt with a bit of sour cream. Also, I like to omit the sugar, add a bit of lemon juice, mint, and fresh oregano - yum! Slather that on top of these delicious pitas and you're in business!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      We all loved these. I will makethis often this summer. Its a great way to enjoy burgers tahts different from the ordinary burgers on a bun. thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      I have been making these for a couple of years now, and I can't believe that I never rated it! These have a really authentic Gyro taste and I really enjoy it served with tzatziki sauce, spinach, and tomatoes on a pita. To save time and effort, I skip the step of forming into patties and just brown the ground beef and add seasonings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ground Beef Gyros

    Serving Size: 1 (344 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 436.3
     
    Calories from Fat 128
    29%
    Total Fat 14.2 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 81.6 mg
    27%
    Sodium 436.7 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.1 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 7.2 g
    29%
    Protein 31.6 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes