239 Reviews

I've made this before but I see that I had not reviewed it. I think it is a great short-cut recipe. The oregano really makes the difference. Today I am trying it with ground turkey and using the tip left in other reviews to knead the meat. (a little strange!) I also am baking it in the oven like a meatloaf. Tonight the oven works best but I think it will taste great either way. I'm interested to see how the texture comes out with the kneading. As written it had the texture of a hamburger.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Tweaker January 24, 2013

Used Venison for the Meat, added 1/4 tsp more of everything to the meat to help with the Taste. Was Great! We will be doing this one again! :.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MontanaPete1 January 04, 2013

The recipe for the gyros themselves was wonderful! I'm so excited to make this again. I'm so happy we can enjoy something that we used to only be able to eat when we wanted to splurge and spend the money eating out. Thank you!

However here is why it only got 3 stars!!!
I don't mean to sound rude but I thought the sauce was horrible. I have had Tzatziki Sauce from many different places and none of them tasted anything like that. This sauce taste like sweet yogurt with cucumbers in it :( I have researched many different Tzatziki sauce recipes now and would like to warn others that if you want it to taste like something you've eaten at a restaurant use a different recipe for the sauce! The one I like best uses plain yogurt or greek yogurt, salt, cucumber, onion, garlic, lemon juice and most importantly DILL! No sugar!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beautifly19 October 10, 2012

I'm a vegetarian, but subbing the meat with a some textured veggie protein and chickpeas to make something like a felafel, I may be able to sneak this veggie meal past my husband(a meat and potato guy) and not have to cook two different "meats"(one soy based)...thanks for the help

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cinderella90 September 27, 2012

Huge hit with my hubby and myself.... Not so much with the kids... But who care and we will have this often!!! Big Yum!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mjsdreams1 September 18, 2012

I can't believe it....we raise cattle, so I never had any use for turkey burgers, but age is forcing a diet change and I made with ground turkey. This was great! Although I altered Yogurt Sauce, replaced sugar and onions with dill and lemon, onion seemed a bit redundant since it was a garnish in the pita. Wife and three teenage kids enjoyed very much and appreciate a healthier lunch. Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cowzrus July 15, 2012

We tried this recipe this evening. Once again, it was a hit! We love the Halifax-style donairs, and this reminded us very much of them. I was going to buy store-made tzatziki sauce to save time, but our store was all out. Being from the Maritimes, donair sauce is a regular find in our stores. We used that instead and our tummies are quite happy! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicster8 June 12, 2012

Love it....10 stars, Also, you can OAMC this!!

make a very dense meatloaf with the meat, cook as usual cut in strips and flash freeze on wax paper. You can now take the frozen strips out and nuke until hot (all microwaves differ) put on pita and go.

Also the strips are Killer on salad!!

I make at least 5 lbs of this PER MONTH!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RebelQueen January 02, 2012
Ground Beef Gyros