Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ground Beef Gyros Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ground Beef Gyros

    Average Rating:

    233 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 233

    Sort by:

    • on July 02, 2011

      Pretty good, but I didn't get the real gyro taste. Will try again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2011

      WE LUV Gyro's, so I made these for supper tonite & they were pretty tasty!. I thought the sauce was a bit weak tasting from what I'm used to at the local Greek restaurant, so I doubled the cucumber, added a tsp. of kosher salt & a few herbs...PERFECT!!! The wife isn't crazy about anything "turkey" & I couldn't find any ground lamb, so I used ground beef. I've never had lettuce on a Gyro, so I omitted that. Other than that, 4 STARS & will DEFFO make again, but with ground lamb....I hope. THANKS for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2011

      Excellent!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2011

      Wonderful, just wonderful!! My entire family loved this, even my dd.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2011

      We just didn't like any part of this. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2011

      This is so easy and tasty. I used ground turkey, left out the sugar in the sauce and used garlic salt in place of regular salt. Super yummy. I love that I can recreate one of my favorite foods so easily at home. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2011

      Great gyros,I added some old fashioned uncooked oatmeal into the turkey mixture when I was making the patties and the texture came out really good,thank you for such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2010

      I really enjoyed this recipe. Obviously you can't duplicate the meat texture but that's not the important part for me. I thought the meat seasonings looked a little low so I doubled the oregano, garlic and onion powders and it turned out exactly as I would have expected. I love how easy this recipe is to make.

      The only negative thing I have to say is that slices a hand pressed burger thinly is easier said than done! Mine sort of crumbled, but who cares it still tasted good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2010

      After experimenting a bit with this recipe, I have found that using half ground chuck, half ground lamb, mixing up the meat with the seasonings and letting it sit in the fridge over night, works the best. For the tzatziki sauce, I buy it at Trader Joe's. Thanks, Cyrene.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2010

      This was great -- totally satisfied my gyro craving!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2010

      My family loved this, they already asked me to make more to keep on hand(hoping it freezes easily, I will update that later).We also made the Greek pita bread ourselves so I thought it really compared to take out with a far greater savings. I thought the sauce really made the dish. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2010

      Devoured! We made Greek pita bread (#203824) instead of store-bought pitas ... truly, truly enjoyed this meal! Meat and pitas can be made ahead of time and frozen for a super fast meal. This will be a regular on our menu.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2010

      Great for a low fat version! I also doubled the spices and used ground turkey instead of hamburger and Fat Free Sour Cream instead of yogurt (that's what I had on hand). I also added 1/4 tsp of dried dill to the gyro sauce. I will definitely be making this again instead of giving in to the high fat of lamb gyros. Thanks, Cyrene, for a great alternative.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2010

      This was awesome. I followed this recipe exactly as written except I had to use Italian Seasoning since I didn't have Oregano. It was delicious! I used ground pork since my grocery store was practically giving it away, and it was easy to cut. This will be made many more times!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2010

      Really good. Used extra garlic. Skipped the sugar. I used ground turkey. My entire family loved it. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2010

      The first time I made this, I thought that the spices with the meat would be too strong for my liking. I was wrong. It was good, but I could tell that the recipe could use the extra spice. Made it for the second time tonight as written in the recipe. OUTSTANDING!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      that was ok

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      I love this recipe. I know it may sound weird, but we like Ken's Creamy Cesar dressing on the Gyros. I found that using a serrated knife keeps the meat from falling apart. (I carefully cut--similar to cutting bread.) I also make Olga Bread like others have suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2010

      What a nice change of pace from hamburgers! My entire family enjoyed this meal. I took the advice of other reviewers and prepared the sauce and the meat a few hours in advance so the flavors were enhanced. I think I may try this recipe with boneless chicken breasts!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      Was very good. I made the tzatzki and beef mixture 4 hours prior to eating to let the flavors meld. I also doubled the spices in the meat. Was very good. SO refused to eat the tzatzki, which irritated me to no end as it really makes the dish......oh well was SO's loss and my gain!! Make sure to really WORK the meat and compress tightly to ensure it slices cleanly. ENJOY!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ground Beef Gyros

    Serving Size: 1 (344 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 436.3
     
    Calories from Fat 128
    29%
    Total Fat 14.2 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 81.6 mg
    27%
    Sodium 436.7 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.1 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 7.2 g
    29%
    Protein 31.6 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites