235 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

It was very good. I baked in the oven cause it was to cold out to grill. 4 stars only because it lacked a bit in flavor. Extra seasoning to the meat would help Def will make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bella_4624_19 December 09, 2013

Will definitely be doing this again. I used ground lamb and then made into a mini loaf, baked at 350 for 35 minutes and sliced very thinly. The sauce was also very good with a little lemon zest and fresh mint. Thank You.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Naturelover November 08, 2013

Very tasty version of Gyros. My DH is allergic to lamb, so I wanted to try one with just ground beef. I lightened up on the oregano to 1 tsp., because DH isn't really crazy about the flavor of it. I kneaded and worked the meat by slamming on the counter, then formed it in a loaf pan, and took it out and baked it on a wire rack. Worked perfectly. Thanks so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
redneckgetaway51 November 08, 2013

Delicious! Since a lot of reviewers were complaining about the hamburger taste, I added half of a ground zucchini to the meat. It turned out great! I also made homemade flour tortillas #204109, which are better than pitas any store bought tortillas. For the sauce, I used Cucumber Sauce for Gyros since I had all of its ingredients on hand. The only other change I made was to add feta cheese. It came together well! Next time I'll add banana peppers and kalamata olives. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Clover July 02, 2013

Very easy and tasty weekday meal. I cheated and made them more like ground beef tacos, so I am not rating on meat consistency, but flavor. I found them a tad too peppery and might cut it in half next time. The sauce does help cool down the spiciness though. Will definitely make these again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 May 20, 2013

Thankyou this was a great recipe! I shaped the meat mixture into a log and baked it in the oven for 35 minutes as suggested from another reviewer. I used prepared tzatsiki sauce and topped it with diced tomatoes, red onions and black olives. I will definitely be making this again...we really enjoyed it. I have uploaded a photo for you as well:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Decadent1 March 26, 2013

I've made this before but I see that I had not reviewed it. I think it is a great short-cut recipe. The oregano really makes the difference. Today I am trying it with ground turkey and using the tip left in other reviews to knead the meat. (a little strange!) I also am baking it in the oven like a meatloaf. Tonight the oven works best but I think it will taste great either way. I'm interested to see how the texture comes out with the kneading. As written it had the texture of a hamburger.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Tweaker January 24, 2013

Used Venison for the Meat, added 1/4 tsp more of everything to the meat to help with the Taste. Was Great! We will be doing this one again! :.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MontanaPete1 January 04, 2013

The recipe for the gyros themselves was wonderful! I'm so excited to make this again. I'm so happy we can enjoy something that we used to only be able to eat when we wanted to splurge and spend the money eating out. Thank you!

However here is why it only got 3 stars!!!
I don't mean to sound rude but I thought the sauce was horrible. I have had Tzatziki Sauce from many different places and none of them tasted anything like that. This sauce taste like sweet yogurt with cucumbers in it :( I have researched many different Tzatziki sauce recipes now and would like to warn others that if you want it to taste like something you've eaten at a restaurant use a different recipe for the sauce! The one I like best uses plain yogurt or greek yogurt, salt, cucumber, onion, garlic, lemon juice and most importantly DILL! No sugar!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beautifly19 October 10, 2012

I'm a vegetarian, but subbing the meat with a some textured veggie protein and chickpeas to make something like a felafel, I may be able to sneak this veggie meal past my husband(a meat and potato guy) and not have to cook two different "meats"(one soy based)...thanks for the help

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cinderella90 September 27, 2012
Ground Beef Gyros