239 Reviews

This was great for all the hot days we've been having. Served it to some who have never had a real gyro and they were impressed. I loved the flavor of the both the tzatzki sauce and the meat filling but I had a problem getting the hamburger patties to slice into strips without breaking apart. Next time I may just make them pita sized like one of the other reviews. Thanks for a great summertime recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacylu July 23, 2003

This was grat. I shaped my patties into pita-sized portions and grilled, so they just slid right into the pita. I also doubled the recipe, using 1/2 beef and 1/2 pork and the results were marvelous.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynn74873 July 22, 2003

This was very yummy!! All the flavors that make you drool and want more! My husband took a bite and said it was a winner!. I wished I had this recipe when I was pregnant and craving gyros with my 1st-born!! Very easy to make too!..

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LiisaN July 14, 2003

Oh my goodness! This was wonderful, yummy and so easy! I was thinking about gyros all day, but didn't have any lamb. Luckily I found this recipe, and am so glad that I did! I quickly used the leftovers to make myself another pita for lunch tomorrow... unless I eat it before then... it's just that good! Thanks so much! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bekah~ July 10, 2003

I used ground turkey. I used the suggestion from other reviewers and slammed the meat mixture on the counter for about 5-10 minutes to make it dense. WOW, it was a winner in our house hold. I did spruce up the cucumber sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doc's Mom April 25, 2016

Rating is for the meat only; I made these into meatballs and baked in the oven. I think next time I will add a little cinnamon and allspice to include those yummy Greek flavors of the Gyros I love. Served over spinach with kalamata olives, sliced onion and topped with Feta Dill Greek Yogurt dressing. Delish! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larawithoutau March 14, 2016

These are awesome! If you can find it, use Mediterranean Oregano. It is delicious! I followed someone else's instructions and squished and rolled the meat for 10 minutes before baking for 35 minutes at 350. So tasty! Thank you for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
victorianoire August 11, 2015

I love the challenge of a new recipe...staying busy, plotting and planning. It makes me forget that I'm growing older. Speaking of older, where was I...ohhh the gyro...this one's a real keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng May 09, 2015

What a great recipe! I ended up putting the meat in my Cuisinart along with the little Parsley and all the other ingredients and pulsed it for quite sometime. This gave the texture of gyros that everybody likes. The flavor was there and I can't wait to try it with ground lamb! I too made Olga Bread and it was phenomenal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kev September 05, 2014

Thanks for an easy mid week dinner Cyrene. But for us it was an okay meal for us, but nothing to rave about. Thanks again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Normans August 07, 2014
Ground Beef Gyros