235 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was great for all the hot days we've been having. Served it to some who have never had a real gyro and they were impressed. I loved the flavor of the both the tzatzki sauce and the meat filling but I had a problem getting the hamburger patties to slice into strips without breaking apart. Next time I may just make them pita sized like one of the other reviews. Thanks for a great summertime recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacylu July 23, 2003

This was grat. I shaped my patties into pita-sized portions and grilled, so they just slid right into the pita. I also doubled the recipe, using 1/2 beef and 1/2 pork and the results were marvelous.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynn74873 July 22, 2003

This was very yummy!! All the flavors that make you drool and want more! My husband took a bite and said it was a winner!. I wished I had this recipe when I was pregnant and craving gyros with my 1st-born!! Very easy to make too!..

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LiisaN July 14, 2003

Oh my goodness! This was wonderful, yummy and so easy! I was thinking about gyros all day, but didn't have any lamb. Luckily I found this recipe, and am so glad that I did! I quickly used the leftovers to make myself another pita for lunch tomorrow... unless I eat it before then... it's just that good! Thanks so much! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bekah~ July 10, 2003

What a great recipe! I ended up putting the meat in my Cuisinart along with the little Parsley and all the other ingredients and pulsed it for quite sometime. This gave the texture of gyros that everybody likes. The flavor was there and I can't wait to try it with ground lamb! I too made Olga Bread and it was phenomenal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kev September 05, 2014

Thanks for an easy mid week dinner Cyrene. But for us it was an okay meal for us, but nothing to rave about. Thanks again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Normans August 07, 2014

Outta control delicious, easy and fast. I found everything at Target food section. I'm in love! Saved me from a night of spaghetti... Only modification, I blended the yogurt mix w cucumbers for added flavor

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sindee B. June 19, 2014

Very, very good! I really enjoyed the seasonings in the meat. The only thing I would like to work on is the sauce. Plain yogurt tasted just a little too thin.... still looking for a way to make it a bit zestier and creamier. Overall, a delicious recipe that I will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Violet_angel May 01, 2014

I cooked this for dinner today and it was a hit. I added some Italian seasoning, garlic powder and onion powder.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
napervillemom February 11, 2014

My son is impossible to feed. I made this on a George Foreman Grill, it was delicious and my son LOVED it. Yay! thanks for the great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brookteal January 07, 2014
Ground Beef Gyros