Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ground Beef Gyros Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ground Beef Gyros

    Average Rating:

    235 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 235

    Sort by:

    • on December 09, 2013

      It was very good. I baked in the oven cause it was to cold out to grill. 4 stars only because it lacked a bit in flavor. Extra seasoning to the meat would help Def will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2013

      Will definitely be doing this again. I used ground lamb and then made into a mini loaf, baked at 350 for 35 minutes and sliced very thinly. The sauce was also very good with a little lemon zest and fresh mint. Thank You.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2013

      Very tasty version of Gyros. My DH is allergic to lamb, so I wanted to try one with just ground beef. I lightened up on the oregano to 1 tsp., because DH isn't really crazy about the flavor of it. I kneaded and worked the meat by slamming on the counter, then formed it in a loaf pan, and took it out and baked it on a wire rack. Worked perfectly. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2013

      Delicious! Since a lot of reviewers were complaining about the hamburger taste, I added half of a ground zucchini to the meat. It turned out great! I also made homemade flour tortillas #204109, which are better than pitas any store bought tortillas. For the sauce, I used Cucumber Sauce for Gyros since I had all of its ingredients on hand. The only other change I made was to add feta cheese. It came together well! Next time I'll add banana peppers and kalamata olives. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2013

      Very easy and tasty weekday meal. I cheated and made them more like ground beef tacos, so I am not rating on meat consistency, but flavor. I found them a tad too peppery and might cut it in half next time. The sauce does help cool down the spiciness though. Will definitely make these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2013

      Thankyou this was a great recipe! I shaped the meat mixture into a log and baked it in the oven for 35 minutes as suggested from another reviewer. I used prepared tzatsiki sauce and topped it with diced tomatoes, red onions and black olives. I will definitely be making this again...we really enjoyed it. I have uploaded a photo for you as well:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2013

      I've made this before but I see that I had not reviewed it. I think it is a great short-cut recipe. The oregano really makes the difference. Today I am trying it with ground turkey and using the tip left in other reviews to knead the meat. (a little strange!) I also am baking it in the oven like a meatloaf. Tonight the oven works best but I think it will taste great either way. I'm interested to see how the texture comes out with the kneading. As written it had the texture of a hamburger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2013

      Used Venison for the Meat, added 1/4 tsp more of everything to the meat to help with the Taste. Was Great! We will be doing this one again! :.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2012

      The recipe for the gyros themselves was wonderful! I'm so excited to make this again. I'm so happy we can enjoy something that we used to only be able to eat when we wanted to splurge and spend the money eating out. Thank you!

      However here is why it only got 3 stars!!!
      I don't mean to sound rude but I thought the sauce was horrible. I have had Tzatziki Sauce from many different places and none of them tasted anything like that. This sauce taste like sweet yogurt with cucumbers in it :( I have researched many different Tzatziki sauce recipes now and would like to warn others that if you want it to taste like something you've eaten at a restaurant use a different recipe for the sauce! The one I like best uses plain yogurt or greek yogurt, salt, cucumber, onion, garlic, lemon juice and most importantly DILL! No sugar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2012

      I'm a vegetarian, but subbing the meat with a some textured veggie protein and chickpeas to make something like a felafel, I may be able to sneak this veggie meal past my husband(a meat and potato guy) and not have to cook two different "meats"(one soy based)...thanks for the help

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2012

      Huge hit with my hubby and myself.... Not so much with the kids... But who care and we will have this often!!! Big Yum!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2012

      I can't believe it....we raise cattle, so I never had any use for turkey burgers, but age is forcing a diet change and I made with ground turkey. This was great! Although I altered Yogurt Sauce, replaced sugar and onions with dill and lemon, onion seemed a bit redundant since it was a garnish in the pita. Wife and three teenage kids enjoyed very much and appreciate a healthier lunch. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2012

    • on June 30, 2012

      Loved it! Used Olga Bread for the pita.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2012

      We tried this recipe this evening. Once again, it was a hit! We love the Halifax-style donairs, and this reminded us very much of them. I was going to buy store-made tzatziki sauce to save time, but our store was all out. Being from the Maritimes, donair sauce is a regular find in our stores. We used that instead and our tummies are quite happy! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      Love it....10 stars, Also, you can OAMC this!!

      make a very dense meatloaf with the meat, cook as usual cut in strips and flash freeze on wax paper. You can now take the frozen strips out and nuke until hot (all microwaves differ) put on pita and go.

      Also the strips are Killer on salad!!

      I make at least 5 lbs of this PER MONTH!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2011

      The flavors were wonderful. I used italian seasoning rather than oregano, but otherwise made it exactly as written. The only problem I had was that the sauce, which I made up early in the day and left in the fridge, was much too runny.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2011

      Really good, next time I will increase the cucumber in the sauce and decrease the onion. It was tasty and since I am not eating bread I made mine into a salad, my husband loved his pita and thought this was a fast easy option. I will make it again for sure. Thanks Cyrene.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2011

      Delicous and easy! I also use Morning Star Farms burgers seasoned with Greek spices in place of the meat when in a time crunch. We have this dish at least once a month. It's such a healthy all in one meal. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2011

      Really good, quick weeknight meal. My entire family loved it! Served it with trader joes tzatziki and greek pita. Greek salad on the side, great dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ground Beef Gyros

    Serving Size: 1 (344 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 436.3
     
    Calories from Fat 128
    29%
    Total Fat 14.2 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 81.6 mg
    27%
    Sodium 436.7 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.1 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 7.2 g
    29%
    Protein 31.6 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites