Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ground Beef Gyros Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ground Beef Gyros

    Average Rating:

    235 Total Reviews

    Showing 221-235 of 235

    Sort by:

    • on November 09, 2004

      I'm definitely won over by this recipe! I used ground beef, had trouble splitting the patties in half so served a whole pattie in a pita half as a glorified hamburger..did it ever taste good with the cucumber/yogurt mix slathered over it and all the trimmings. Actually, I used naan bread in place of pita bread which was an equal substitute since it splits down the middle same as pita..I'm going to add more trimmings next time we have this, as some other reviewers have suggested..thanks for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2004

      REALLLLLLLLY good. the dressing was awesome, and the meat actually tasted similar to the gyro meat (spice-wise, just not as greasy). Although I couldn't figure out how to open the pita pockets, LOL, so they were more like "Gyro-Tacos". :) The only thing I'd try next time would be to use sweeter onions next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2004

      Nice change of pace burger with good taste. I used ground beef and green onions and made them under the broiler. I only used 6 oz of yogurt since that is the size container now sold in the store. I served these as burgers in a half pita. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2004

      I hafta agree with Valerie, this is nothing more than turkeyburgers in Pita bread with yogurt sauce instead of on a bun with hamburger fixins. Not bad, but definately not worth 5 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2004

      These were very good! I made the ground beef into pita sized patties like someone else did. They reminded me of falafels in flavor and texture. The cucumber yogurt sauce was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2004

      We really enjoyed the taste of these gyros. I had the same problem stacylu described when I tried to slice the patties. I think I will probably just brown the hamburger and serve it in the pita like taco meat. I used half the sugar because we don't like sweet. Thanks for a good dinner, we'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2004

      Oh yes! I love gyros and haven't had them in so long. This recipe is wonderful; I can't believe how much they tasted like the real thing, even though they are made with ground beef. I added 2 tablespoons of sour cream to the sauce (and even a non-cucumber eater ate it and said he should have put more on it). I broiled the patties in the oven, cause I was too lazy to start up the grill. I also added some cubed feta cheese to it, served in flat bread instead of pita bread alongside a simple Greek salad. I managed to beat everyone off so I could have the last one for lunch today; I too will have to make a double batch next time. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2004

      Awesome and easy to make--Who would have thought that something so simple would taste so good..and satisfy a craving for gyros..thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2004

      Very Yummy!!!! I sliced my patties and stuffed in pocket. I have told everyone about this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2003

      Tried your Gyros today and thought they were out of this world. I served them with Pita bread, grilled onions, grated cheese, lettuce and black olives. The Cucumber/Yogurt Dip went so well with it. Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2003

      this was amazingly good! my husband and I ooooed and aahhhhed all thru lunch! We added a little hot sauce on top for anyone who likes spicy. Also good with oven baked fries!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2003

      Excellent recipe enjoyed by all.I grilled the beef patties until done and served them on warm pita bread with all the toppings and rolled them up. My son said it tasted like his favorite gyro served at the mall. I did not add the sugar but used an equal amount of lemon juice as that is how I usually make tzatziki sauce. Will be making many more times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2003

      This was great, I can survive when we move back to the states. The patties are super easy to make, but will have to double the recipe next time. I used a different tatziki recipe as this one didn't sound like the tatziki I am use to, I used a little olive oil and vinegar eliminating the sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2003

      Made these last night using my george forman grill to cook the patties. Followed the recipe except for adding lemon juice to the tzatziki sauce and eliminating the sugar. We all enjoyed this delightful dinner, perfect for a hot summer evening. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2003

      Yum!!!! I made this for dinner last night and liked it so much that i had to make it again to share at work for lunch today. The second time around i did make some adjustments. I have non cucumber eaters so i made a sauce with yogurt,garlic powder, a squirt of lemon juice and chopped fresh mint. I added 1 1/2 teaspoons dried parsley to the meat mixture. I formed the meat mixture into 1 large oval patty about 1 inch thick and baked it in the oven at 350 degrees for about 45 minutes.I added sliced cucumbers along with the other vegies for those who wanted them. Everyone at work asked for the recipe. Thanks for this easy, quick and very tasty sandwich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1... 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ground Beef Gyros

    Serving Size: 1 (344 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 436.3
     
    Calories from Fat 128
    29%
    Total Fat 14.2 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 81.6 mg
    27%
    Sodium 436.7 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.1 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 7.2 g
    29%
    Protein 31.6 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes