236 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was really good. I made one loaf & baked in the oven instead of grilling patties. Will definitely make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alwayscookin May 03, 2009

Love this recipie. I use turkey for health reasons. Great recipie when you want something good but simple. Great for entertaining.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brandidt May 01, 2009

Changing my review from 07'. This recipe has become a favorite in our household. We mix it up with chicken, ground lamb (YUM YUM) or ground turkey. We tend to use fresh onion and garlic and for the sauce we use greek yogurt and a little dill. We don't always make patties and it does seem to be quicker that way without changing the taste. Thank you Cyrene for 2 years of yummy and inexpensive gyros.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tarteausucre April 30, 2009

Pretty good recipe! My picky children loved them! I prefer stronger spices and a different sauce....but all in all, not a bad quick yummy substitute. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Great Chef I'm Not April 30, 2009

Love this recipe! It's so easy and tasty too. The hubby actually gets excited when he finds out it's what we're having for dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amy_elizabeth918 April 28, 2009

DH was loving these Gyros. He was even surprised it was ground beef. He sopped the sauce with pita and had himself about 3 helping. The meat is very flavorful...however the sauce I had some issues with. I doubled it and added 2 tsp of sugar. It was way too sweet. I panicked and started adding salt but it still was too sweet. I finally added some mayo and some Worcestershire sauce. That seemed to do the trick. I was happy the sauce turned out. It kinda of tasted like a BBQ ranch dressing. Next time going to take it easy on the sugar and will probably add some sour cream. This recipe is quick, healthy and very good. I can't wait to make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
starkrazi April 26, 2009

This was so easy to make the tasted like the real deal. The sauce was refreshing. I used Fage 0% Greek yogurt and added a little dill/lemon seasoning. Served with a greek salad, it was a fantastic meal on a hot day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marta.melo April 26, 2009

Great recipe! Super simple, made it with ground buffalo! Will definitely make again. Did recipe as written, except I followed one reviewer and added lemon juice and mint to the tzatiki sauce. YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
azwildcat2001 April 24, 2009

I was on a sandwich kick for awhile and of course I had to try these! They were great with all the spices, due to a great mix of flavors. My wife likes doubling the recipe so we can have leftovers for work! Great idea too! Potzi

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PotziNPanz April 22, 2009

It was great. I love Gyros but my husband says it's like Greek version of hot dog meaning you don't know what's in it. So it's nice and simple and we all enjoyed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimsdream April 21, 2009
Ground Beef Gyros