Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ground Beef Gyros Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ground Beef Gyros

    Average Rating:

    234 Total Reviews

    Showing 201-220 of 234

    Sort by:

    • on October 28, 2006

      These were surprisingly yummy. I was upset when my husband ate the left overs. I added feta cheese and we ate these "open faced." That means I piled the ingredients on to the plate and put the pita on the side. I also toasted the pita in a toaster over. As suggested by another reviewer I added about 1 tsp of lemon juice to the sauce. I'll make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2006

      Yum! I love gyros and don't feel like going to the mall just to get one (why don't we have Greek drive-thrus? lol). So, I tried this and it was very good. I was surprised I must admit. I served them with tomato and onion and the sauce with a nice greek salad. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2006

      I made this last night for dinner and everyone loved them. I will definately make this again. We thought the sauce was great, not too sweet. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2006

      I used ground turkey and thought the spices were just right (except the salt, which I think was a bit much so next time will add it after cooking).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2006

      I used the broiler for stated time, came out awesome, looking forward to making this again, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2006

      I also had difficulties getting the meat in the pita bread. The meat mixture was excellent but I found the sauce a little sweet. However, this was the first time that I have ever had a gryos so my review could have been better. Thank you,I will probably make these again with some of the others' suggestions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2006

      Its fast and so yummy! I love making this in the summer. Refreshing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2006

      This was very easy and tasted wonderful...my better half ate all the patties and declared it a winner in his book.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2006

      Made this last night and everyone loved it. No leftovers! Made the hamburger patty's to fit the pita bread. I'm using the left over yogurt sauce on regular lunch sandwiches. Great weeknight meal. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2006

      I did not change a thing, and this was wonderful! We enjoyed both the sauce and the flavor of the meat itself! Thank you so much for posting your recipe, we will have it again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2006

      Kids loved it. I didn't make the yogurt sauce but used sour cream instead. Also used Greek pita flat bread. I also grilled the onions in the with the meat. Didn't have any lettuce on hand so I used avacados instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2006

      A very tasty and easy recipe! I was pleasantly suprised to find the flavor is really like gyros! Instead of grilling the meat, I cooked it in a skillet, breaking up into coarse chunks. For the sauce, I used low-fat yogurt, and added a little lemon and pepper, but no sugar. Everyone in my family loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2006

      I was really surprised at how good this is and how easy it was to make. Rather than grill "burgers", I just made a meatloaf and baked it. I think this made it easier to slice thin. The sauce is also good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2006

      I can't wait to try this - will try it using part ground beef and part ground lamb. I'll probably eliminate the sugar from the sauce and add some sour cream and serve on the flat pita bread not the pocket type. With a greek salad it should take me back to my favorite greek rest. the Greek Isle in Plano, TX.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2005

      These were ok. The burgers came out very moist but I thought they had too much oregano. I made the sauce as directed, but ended up adding some sour cream, salt and more garlic to make it more to our tastes. I'm giving this four stars because I really do like the idea and I will probably make these again playing around a little with the seasonings to make it more palatable to my family. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2005

      These were good for sandwich night, but I found the hamburgers a bit dry and hard to slice, but I may have left them in the broiler too long. I also bought the wrong kind of pitas - bought Greek pita bread instead of the other kind, so we just added everything on the pita and rolled them up like burritoes -- good and fillling. I also found the dressing a bit too different for our tastes - maybe next time I'll try it with sour cream instead of yogurt. These were good for a change of pace, but I think we'll go back to traditional hamburgers. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2005

      Scrumdiddlyumpshus! I used minced garlic instead of powder, and onion salt instead of powder and salt. It's great! I wasn't overly thrilled with the sauce as I found it a bit too sweet, but maybe without so much sugar? I'll definitely make this recipe again and THANK YOU FOR SHARING IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2005

      Well I'm really sorry but we found these absolutley without taste! They were very dry hamberger and couln't taste the garlic or onion powder, perhaps we're used to fresh garlic and onions. We also found the sauce very mild and too sweet. Quite disappointing after reading all the rave reviews, sorry but we would'nt make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2005

      I crave Gyros from time to time, never felt ambitious enough to try to make them myself. This recipe just looked too darn easy to pass up - and it delivered wonderfully. I prepared the sauce early in the day so the flavors had time to marry before dinner time. The difference between the taste immediately following preparation and the taste after it had been allowed to stew in the fridge for a couple of hours was remarkable. I highly recommend allowing the sauce this extra time, and tasting it after a bit so as to add another dash of sugar to cut the bitter taste of the yogurt a bit of necessary. Definitely satisfied my most recent craving! It's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2004

      I'm definitely won over by this recipe! I used ground beef, had trouble splitting the patties in half so served a whole pattie in a pita half as a glorified hamburger..did it ever taste good with the cucumber/yogurt mix slathered over it and all the trimmings. Actually, I used naan bread in place of pita bread which was an equal substitute since it splits down the middle same as pita..I'm going to add more trimmings next time we have this, as some other reviewers have suggested..thanks for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ground Beef Gyros

    Serving Size: 1 (344 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 436.3
     
    Calories from Fat 128
    29%
    Total Fat 14.2 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 81.6 mg
    27%
    Sodium 436.7 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.1 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 7.2 g
    29%
    Protein 31.6 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites