236 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow, this is a terrific recipe for Gyros. I wanted to use ground beef as ground lamb is so expensive and hard to find around here. You couldn't tell the difference in the taste! I think the oregano and garlic were the key. I almost added real onion instead of onion powder and am glad I didn't. Real onion would have made the meat too loose to cut into slices. Instead of making burger patties, I made it into one long low loaf and baked it in the oven at 350 for about 35 minutes. Came out perfect. It was nice and dense and as a result was very easy to slice for the sandwiches. The cucumber sauce was delish. I also used Olga Bread for the pita bread as it's such a delicious bread for gyros. My 11 year old dd was in heaven eating this. Thank you for posting. It will be a repeat in our home.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pam-I-Am June 26, 2007

These were really good. Even DH who loves traditional Greek food said they were good. I followed the list of ingredients but I also used the preparation method according to Gyros - an Authentic Recipe for Making Them at Home by kneading and smashing the meat because I wanted the right texture. I formed the meat in two small blocks and grilled them. Once they were grilled the logs were sliced thin and put in Pita breads that were topped with thinly sliced red onion, garden fresh tomatoes and Tzatziki by Evelyn/Athens. Not being a lamb lover, I finally have a Gyro I can enjoy. Thanks for posting!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SloppyJoe June 07, 2011

This was a delicious recipe, the only reason why I gave it four stars is because I had to make some modifications as suggested by other reviewers. For the meat, the smell wasn't quite there (pre-cooked) so I added some cumin, italian seasoning, oregano, onion salt, black pepper, and garlic powder. Then as suggested by another reviewer I kneaded the meat for about 10 minutes and pounded it on the counter for 10 minutes (I believed this gave it the gyro rotisserie look, as my first batch I omitted this step and it resembled a cooked meatloaf texture) forming afterwards into a rectangle loaf.
Now for the Tzatziki sauce: I used 8oz of plain greek yogurt, minced cucumber/garlic (used about 3 cloves), salt/pepper, and a pinch of dill (might use a little lemon juice next time).
Aside from that we topped them off with baby spring salad mix, tomatoes, feta cheese on grilled Naan bread (which I brushed with homemade bread oil).

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fleur_Mommy October 09, 2011

I am not going to rate this as I just didn't enjoy it at all. It tasted like a burger with suace on pita bread vs a bun. It has possibilities. The sauce was OK, a bit bland for me. I think mint and lemon would brighten it up - a more traditional flavoring. I love the flat pita and I did add the onion, tomato and lettuce. The beef to me just tasted like a burger. I am going to make it again this week and add some traditional seasoning, using ground turkey and some cream and egg to give it a more softer (non burger like) texture. I think that along with the seasoning, which it needs a lot will make a difference. What I may try is making them in a small loaf and then cutting the meat. I think making them burger size really dried them out. It is a great idea, but for me it just lacked flavor. Sorry

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook May 02, 2010

Wow, we loved this. I double the whole thing and served them on homemade naan-type bread. Great!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 February 13, 2011

I have made this a couple times now and it is great! The only thing that I do different is the sauce, I grate the cucumbers and then squeeze as much juice as possible out of them before mixing with the other sauce ingredients and ad a dash or two of celery salt.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugar momma February 03, 2010

This was an easy and tasty recipe. I added some mint and lemon juice to the tzatzki sauce (following one of the other tzatzki recipes here), but other than that made no changes. The meal was fantastic. They really taste like gyros, and I should know, I used to work in a Greek fast food place where we served them! I served this with spinach as a veg and made a complete dinner. Very tasty!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy - Ellie's Mommie May 26, 2003

It was very good!! I made a different tzatziki sauce (also found on Food.com). Not that this one wouldn't have been good. But the sandwich was awesome. The only substitution was I used ground turkey. I will make it again only next time try to find fresher Pita bread!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terri S. November 05, 2014

SAUCE: 5*****, just perfect. I thought the addition of the sugar was odd (what do I know?), but is is definitely necessary. Very tasty! Thanks for posting Cyrene

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagoland Chef du Jour June 04, 2011

I'm sorry. I just wasn't crazy about this. Not enough flavor for me. It was easy to put together, but I just don't think I will make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Valerie in Florida April 21, 2004
Ground Beef Gyros