Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ground Beef Gyros Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ground Beef Gyros

    Average Rating:

    235 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 235

    Sort by:

    • on June 26, 2007

      Wow, this is a terrific recipe for Gyros. I wanted to use ground beef as ground lamb is so expensive and hard to find around here. You couldn't tell the difference in the taste! I think the oregano and garlic were the key. I almost added real onion instead of onion powder and am glad I didn't. Real onion would have made the meat too loose to cut into slices. Instead of making burger patties, I made it into one long low loaf and baked it in the oven at 350 for about 35 minutes. Came out perfect. It was nice and dense and as a result was very easy to slice for the sandwiches. The cucumber sauce was delish. I also used Olga Bread for the pita bread as it's such a delicious bread for gyros. My 11 year old dd was in heaven eating this. Thank you for posting. It will be a repeat in our home.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2011

      These were really good. Even DH who loves traditional Greek food said they were good. I followed the list of ingredients but I also used the preparation method according to Gyros - an Authentic Recipe for Making Them at Home by kneading and smashing the meat because I wanted the right texture. I formed the meat in two small blocks and grilled them. Once they were grilled the logs were sliced thin and put in Pita breads that were topped with thinly sliced red onion, garden fresh tomatoes and Tzatziki by Evelyn/Athens. Not being a lamb lover, I finally have a Gyro I can enjoy. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2011

      This was a delicious recipe, the only reason why I gave it four stars is because I had to make some modifications as suggested by other reviewers. For the meat, the smell wasn't quite there (pre-cooked) so I added some cumin, italian seasoning, oregano, onion salt, black pepper, and garlic powder. Then as suggested by another reviewer I kneaded the meat for about 10 minutes and pounded it on the counter for 10 minutes (I believed this gave it the gyro rotisserie look, as my first batch I omitted this step and it resembled a cooked meatloaf texture) forming afterwards into a rectangle loaf.
      Now for the Tzatziki sauce: I used 8oz of plain greek yogurt, minced cucumber/garlic (used about 3 cloves), salt/pepper, and a pinch of dill (might use a little lemon juice next time).
      Aside from that we topped them off with baby spring salad mix, tomatoes, feta cheese on grilled Naan bread (which I brushed with homemade bread oil).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      I am not going to rate this as I just didn't enjoy it at all. It tasted like a burger with suace on pita bread vs a bun. It has possibilities. The sauce was OK, a bit bland for me. I think mint and lemon would brighten it up - a more traditional flavoring. I love the flat pita and I did add the onion, tomato and lettuce. The beef to me just tasted like a burger. I am going to make it again this week and add some traditional seasoning, using ground turkey and some cream and egg to give it a more softer (non burger like) texture. I think that along with the seasoning, which it needs a lot will make a difference. What I may try is making them in a small loaf and then cutting the meat. I think making them burger size really dried them out. It is a great idea, but for me it just lacked flavor. Sorry

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2011

      Wow, we loved this. I double the whole thing and served them on homemade naan-type bread. Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      I have made this a couple times now and it is great! The only thing that I do different is the sauce, I grate the cucumbers and then squeeze as much juice as possible out of them before mixing with the other sauce ingredients and ad a dash or two of celery salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2003

      This was an easy and tasty recipe. I added some mint and lemon juice to the tzatzki sauce (following one of the other tzatzki recipes here), but other than that made no changes. The meal was fantastic. They really taste like gyros, and I should know, I used to work in a Greek fast food place where we served them! I served this with spinach as a veg and made a complete dinner. Very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2014

      It was very good!! I made a different tzatziki sauce (also found on Food.com). Not that this one wouldn't have been good. But the sandwich was awesome. The only substitution was I used ground turkey. I will make it again only next time try to find fresher Pita bread!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2011

      SAUCE: 5*****, just perfect. I thought the addition of the sugar was odd (what do I know?), but is is definitely necessary. Very tasty! Thanks for posting Cyrene

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2004

      I'm sorry. I just wasn't crazy about this. Not enough flavor for me. It was easy to put together, but I just don't think I will make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2003

      This was great for all the hot days we've been having. Served it to some who have never had a real gyro and they were impressed. I loved the flavor of the both the tzatzki sauce and the meat filling but I had a problem getting the hamburger patties to slice into strips without breaking apart. Next time I may just make them pita sized like one of the other reviews. Thanks for a great summertime recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2003

      This was grat. I shaped my patties into pita-sized portions and grilled, so they just slid right into the pita. I also doubled the recipe, using 1/2 beef and 1/2 pork and the results were marvelous.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2003

      This was very yummy!! All the flavors that make you drool and want more! My husband took a bite and said it was a winner!. I wished I had this recipe when I was pregnant and craving gyros with my 1st-born!! Very easy to make too!..

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2003

      Oh my goodness! This was wonderful, yummy and so easy! I was thinking about gyros all day, but didn't have any lamb. Luckily I found this recipe, and am so glad that I did! I quickly used the leftovers to make myself another pita for lunch tomorrow... unless I eat it before then... it's just that good! Thanks so much! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2014

      What a great recipe! I ended up putting the meat in my Cuisinart along with the little Parsley and all the other ingredients and pulsed it for quite sometime. This gave the texture of gyros that everybody likes. The flavor was there and I can't wait to try it with ground lamb! I too made Olga Bread and it was phenomenal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2014

      Thanks for an easy mid week dinner Cyrene. But for us it was an okay meal for us, but nothing to rave about. Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2014

      Outta control delicious, easy and fast. I found everything at Target food section. I'm in love! Saved me from a night of spaghetti... Only modification, I blended the yogurt mix w cucumbers for added flavor

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2014

      Very, very good! I really enjoyed the seasonings in the meat. The only thing I would like to work on is the sauce. Plain yogurt tasted just a little too thin.... still looking for a way to make it a bit zestier and creamier. Overall, a delicious recipe that I will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2014

      I cooked this for dinner today and it was a hit. I added some Italian seasoning, garlic powder and onion powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2014

      My son is impossible to feed. I made this on a George Foreman Grill, it was delicious and my son LOVED it. Yay! thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 12

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ground Beef Gyros

    Serving Size: 1 (344 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 436.3
     
    Calories from Fat 128
    29%
    Total Fat 14.2 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 81.6 mg
    27%
    Sodium 436.7 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.1 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 7.2 g
    29%
    Protein 31.6 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes