Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ground Beef Goulash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ground Beef Goulash

    Average Rating:

    58 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 58

    Sort by:

    • on July 19, 2011

      This is REALLY good! It's so easy to make and it tastes fantastic. The only changes I made were that I used a pound of ground beef/pork that was left over after I made meatballs. I didn't add any salt because the soy sauce adds enough saltiness. And I used about 1 1/2 cups of elbow macaroni and just melted shredded cheddar over it. Seriously, I could eat this every day. It's so easy on the wallet, easy to make, and definitely easy to eat!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      Delicious recipe. I have made this many times now, and have developed a few changes. The 3 Tbsp. of soy sauce made the goulash a bit too salty for us, so now I only add about 1 Tbsp. I also use a can of tomato sauce, rather than tomato soup. I use a box of macaroni and cheese for the pasta and add in the powdered cheese, instead of Velveeta (less fat). Thanks for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      this was REALLY yummy!! my dear dear boyfriend was a bit skeptical at first when i told him what i was making...needless to say, he devoured it...then finished off the leftovers the next day! the flavor of this is so tasty, yet a little unusual (maybe cuz of the soy sauce). i didn't have a green pepper so i left that out, i also only used about 1 tbsp of soy sauce (which to me was plenty), and i used a full cup of macaroni, and instead of adding a can of water, i used a can of beef broth which really enhanced the flavor of the meat...then i topped it off with shredded cheddar (again, that's what i had). to me the beauty of this recipe is that this meal really is made with simple ingredients that you almost always have on hand...nothing fancy. we loved it and i'll definitely be making it again! thanks for a fast yummy EASY recipe! :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2006

      I screwed this recipe all up and it's still VERY good! I intended to make Mock Chop Suey, but realized after the meat defrosted that I forgot to buy vegetables this week. I still wanted a ground beef dish with rice and found this recipe. I had no green peppers and had a headache so I didn't feel like chopping an onion. I used onion flakes and pre-chopped garlic from a jar. I browned the meat with the onion flakes and garlic. After draining the fat, I added the water and soup, but I did not add soy sauce. I started pouring before I realized that the bottle in my hand was worcesteshire and not soy sauce. Doh! So at that point I added pepper and salt (I wasn't going to use salt with the soy sauce). Then I added the rice. Again, my headache impaired my judgment. Take my advice: Follow the recipe and do NOT add the rice until after the mixture has simmered! The rice soaked up the water too quickly and my dinner started to burn. Luckily I caught it just in time before it was completely ruined. I added more water and let it simmer until the rice was cooked. I used only parmesan cheese - no Velveeta. Despite all of my mistakes, it tasted really good! And my headache was gone after I ate! Coincidence? I look forward to making this again - correctly. Although I did like the worcesteshire sauce, so I'll probably keep that in...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2014

    • on January 21, 2014

      My family LOVED this recipe. I followed recipe exactly and it was great. I asked my 14 year old son what he wanted for dinner tonight and he asked for this. He calls it the "homemade hamburger helper". He has never had hamburger helper so he has no idea that this is WAAAY better! It is cheap to make and really filling so a little goes a long way. A new family favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2014

      This was delicious!!!<br/>There was about a spoonful left over. Great flavor and very easy to make. Will definitely make this again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2012

      This was pretty good. It is an interesting flavor...kind of unlike anything I've eaten before. What I really liked was that it is so modifiable. Tonight I threw in half a bag of frozen vegi's but I imagine you could do just about whatever you felt like. Thanks for the recipe gbmc3....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2011

      ONE OF MY FAVS!!!!. i add a can of corn, a can of diced tomatoes, and a can of tomato paste, then serve with saltine crackers. LOVE I p.s. I precooked my noodles befor adding them

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2011

      I couldn't get it to stay moist enough after I added the noodles! I added 1/2 a cup 3 times, but that probably was more user error than recipe, lol! What didnt burn was very good, even the kids liked it.
      Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      My DH had three helpings - so I'd say this rated at least five stars. I used half a box of shells and cheese and half of the cheese package (about 1 cup of shells.) Also didn't use the parmesan cheese as I thought there was enough cheese in with the shells & cheese. Thanks for a great, easy to make recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

      Easy, quick and yummy! I used ground venison, reduced the soy to 1 Tbl., added a touch of basil, and topped with shredded cheddar. Wonderful dinner and even picky kids were pleased. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      I must admit...I was skeptical at first BUT then that all changed when I dug in!!! This is AMAZING!!! I used orzo pasta and added a little more water as others suggested and it turned out great. Thanks for an easy night recipe that can be made in 30 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      Very Good!!! I followed this receipe exactly even with the 3 Tbsp of Kikkoman Soya sauce and I thought it was fine I think if you use a different brand of Soya you are going to get a different taste since all soya's taste differently. My kid's gobbled it up so it is definately kid approved. The only thing I did different is dice up(finely) celery and mushrooms since I have a hard time of getting one of my kid's to eat vegetables I try to hide them where I can. This was very good the first day, it was fabulous left over. It reminds me of a homemade hamburger helper but better and better for you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      I'm sorry gbmc3 and other fans, but this had too much soy sauce (I used "light" soy sauce and no salt). I only added 4 teaspoons, and the smell and taste was overwhelming. I used rice...it probably would've been better with macaroni. Just a little too strong on the soy end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      This recipe is excellent! I prepared this for my family with both macaroni noodles and with rice and my family couldn't get enough of it. I switched things up a bit and added an onion/red pepper mix instead of the chopped onion and green pepper and it was a tasty twist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

    • on December 29, 2008

      This was good. I started the receipe out exactly as posted, but to me the sauce didn't have enough flavor so I added some mustard powder, balsamic vinegar and italian seasoning. It turned out really good. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      Omitted the bell pepper as I did not have any . Used cheddar / marble cheese . Used a smaller macaroni ( Ditalini ) Recipe was GREAT ! Tasted alot like hamburger helper :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ground Beef Goulash

    Serving Size: 1 (233 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 238.6
     
    Calories from Fat 71
    30%
    Total Fat 7.9 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 49.1 mg
    16%
    Sodium 945.7 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.8 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    21%
    Protein 18.3 g
    36%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites