77 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very very good. The sauce is what makes the recipe! I used flour tortillas so I didn't bother with the oil. Also used butter in the sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
invictus July 23, 2010

These were superb. I made a mistake, & added too much bouillon, but thank goodness, I hadn't added any salt. So even though salty, the sauce was good. Next time I'll be more careful. Loved the smoky flavor of this sauce- it's better than any restaurant sauce I've ever had. Thank you for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kizzikate June 12, 2010

I have been looking for a good enchilada sauce recipe for years and this one is perfect. I admit I didn't follow the rest of the recipe because I think we all have our own "favorite" way of preparing enchiladas but the sauce... YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
good2bdunn April 24, 2010

This Sauce was to die for!!! I have Been Looking for a homemade sauce for Beef Enchiladas!!!!!!!!!!Very good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaiden&Sariah'sMommy April 05, 2010

Awesome, awesome, awesome. This is my new go-to recipe for beef enchiladas. My husband was blown away.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kadiprimo February 21, 2010

Terrific recipe - I will never buy canned sauce again! I used flour tortillas, which is a bit different - but so good (my daughter won't eat corn tortillas anyway). The sauce is perfect, and so easy! I pretty much followed the recipe exactly. Only change I made was using veg. oil instead of shortening and added minced garlic when browning the flour mixture (instead of adding garlic powder to the sauce). Served with diced avocado and sour cream on the side.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
boomerthepug February 20, 2010

Wow! Definitely not low-fat, but it is so worth it! These were the best enchiladas that I have ever had! Thank you so much for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShayZ February 04, 2010

Mmmmmmm!! These were TERRIFIC!! I agree with some of the previous reviews that I will never buy the enchilada sauce in the can again. This was so easy to pull together. It is seasoned perfectly. Your recipe is right on. Thanks for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jill L. "Margaritta Lover" November 24, 2009

Absolutly wonderful! My Mexican inlaws (born and raised in Mexico) were impressed. This has got to be by far one of the BEST sauces I've ever had. Everything was perfect, spices, consistency, texture all of it. We had the usual rice and beans with it and it was excellent. Thank you so much for such and awesome recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
embolanos November 19, 2009

The sauce was really super! So easy to make and as my daughter said--it takes really fresh. I made the day ahead and doubled the recipe--one for the freezer and one for dinner. The one that sat in the fridge for a day turned out kind of mushy, more like enchilada casserole--prob should have left off the sauce on top until I was ready to bake--but my son said "it was really good tasting mush"!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CALaura September 28, 2009
Ground Beef Enchiladas