77 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The sauce is delicious! I used about 1 1/2 cups water, but next time I'll use 2 cups like the recipe says (I was afraid the sauce would be too thin but it wasn't) The sauce had lots of flavor. I had to use chicken bouillon granules, but it still tasted great! And I added a dash of cayenne pepper for spice. Next time I'll add a little of the sauce to the ground beef so it is flavored a little more. I used flour tortillas and didn't fry them. Overall, a really good enchilada recipe, thank you for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karamia April 13, 2009

Please excuse my recent post. This really bothered me so kept searching for what went wrong! Sure enough I found a gross error in my conversion when original p,anoint a smaller batch and then increasing it to a double batch. Again my apologies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
craig@thebeachguys.com January 29, 2015

Easy recipe, great flavor! Much better sauce than anything you can buy, and less expensive!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
godsgal1 January 06, 2014

Hey thanks so much for sharing this recipe! I took the time to read the reviews, as I haven't made enchiladas in a long time & then my husband asked for them! The sauce worked quite well. I made half of it for 4 enchiladas. I used 1 tbsp light butter instead of the shortening, and only 1 tsp of chicken bouillon. I did season up the beef (we use extra lean) w/ taco seasoning, and used some enchilada sauce in the filling, too. The olives were a nice touch (put some in the filling, too) & I used low fat Mexican cheese. I skipped the oil part, as others did, and used whole wheat tortillas. Thanks so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS June 26, 2013

This recipe is delicious. The sauce is what puts it over the top. It is incredible!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheHouseCafe April 19, 2013

THIS IS THE BEST ENCHILADAS! I have ever had!! Most excellent recipe! I did change it a bit .... left out the 1/2c oil and heating the tortillas. I just placed the cooked meat in the tortillas and folded and placed in baking dish. I used half ground beef and half ground turkey meat as this was what I had on hand to complete the measurement for the meat in recipe. I also used a assortment of shredded cheeses on top (Monterey Jack, Cheddar and Mozzarella) The enchilada sauce was the best and will never buy store brought again. Thank you so much for sharing this fabulous recipe!! A keeper in our favorites from Zaar :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha D. March 12, 2013

Great Recipe! So easy to make and absolutely delicious! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aprillaz January 07, 2013

Wonderful! Easy! Big hit! After reading thevreviews I decided to make double batch of sauce. Good thing I did. it was awesome. Added green chilies to meat mixture. Used flour tortillas cuz my son doesn't like corn and added smoke paparika to the sauce. Will make again. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rechelle September 13, 2011

Tis sauce has a great flavor, not just tomato sauce tasting. Made as written, even dipping the tortillas in the sauce before filling (same way my mom did). I left out the black olives for DH but used the rest of the ingredients. Will make these again! Made for All You Can Cook Buffet Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH September 07, 2011

The sauce is the bomb! We will be using this recipe 4ever! Thanks Sheri-BDB

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jamie in North Carolina October 24, 2010
Ground Beef Enchiladas