Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ground Beef Enchiladas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ground Beef Enchiladas

    Average Rating:

    76 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 76

    Sort by:

    • on March 17, 2011

      These turned out well but I did add some smokey paprika to the sauce to ramp up the flavor a bit more. I think next time will add chopped green chilis to the beef mix also. Southwest flour tortillas also added to the flavor. I skipped the messy step of dipping the tortillas in sauce. I ladled a little on the tortilla, swirling it around the tortillas, then added the beef mix and cheese, rolled them up and added the remaining sauce on top and this worked well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      This was really quite good. I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5, because I did have to make quite a few changes to suit our tastes. I ended up throwing the first batch of sauce out, I made it as directed, with shortening, but when I tasted it, I could TASTE the shortening. Not good. I made the sauce again, with butter, and it was fantastic! The beef mixture was way too bland, so I added a can of Rotel tomatoes, a 6oz can of tomato paste, a couple of tablespoons of taco seasoning, and some water. I let it cook down, until all the liquid had evaporated, and stirred in a ladle of the enchilada sauce, and it was GREAT! Everything else I kept the same, except I also used flour tortillas, and did not fry them. This was a wonderful springboard recipe, and I thank you so much for posting, it, we really enjoyed it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      My family loves this sauce!! But if using high-sodium Knorr beef bouillon granules, it's important to taste the finished sauce before adding any salt. I've found it's best to omit the salt altogether. Also, I like to replace a tablespoon of the shortening with a tablespoon of bacon fat for a quick way to increase the great flavor of this enchilada sauce. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      Great sauce and very easy to make. I was excited I even had some Mexican oregano I'd just bought. I just wish I hadn't added (2 tsp) of beef bouillon paste, it made it salty. I'll be buying the granules for the next time! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2005

      I agree with Melany, I will never buy canned sauce again! Thanx for the recipe, especially now that I am in a place where even the canned sauce is hard to find! TIP: when making the roux, melt the shortenong, then remove it from the heat completely, then stir in the flour and spices. You can return it to the heat afterwards, and not have to worry about burning the sauce. The shortening shouldn't put off smoke at any point. If it does, it's too hot, and that can go for grease in any recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2003

      These are fantastic! This was my first time making a homemade enchilada sauce, and I'll never buy canned again! Very filling, nicely spiced, and tasty. I will make this recipe again and again. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      I'm giving it 5 stars for the enchilada sauce alone! The enchiladas were good for what they were, but the sauce is amazing! I will never buy canned sauce again! This enchilada sauce is exactly what I was looking for! I've made it twice and the second time froze it for later use. I agree that the quality of the chili powder makes all the difference. My DH thinks everything needs pepper, so I added white pepper to taste and we added some sugar because our chili powder was sub-par and it tasted a little bitter. I did make it to exact recipe the first time and used a different chili powder the second, so I knew it was the chili powder. Also, use New Mexico chili powder for a spicier sauce! Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      Yummy! Whole family loved it. This was pretty easy, sauce was great. Will be in our regular mexican night rotation. Used flour tortillas instead because it's what I had and they came out delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      Yummy! Used butter instead of shortening, no other changes. This was more meat and more enchilada sauce than I needed for twelve enchiladas. Even so, next time I'd double the sauce recipe and put some back in the freezer. I switched to Penzeys spices a number of years ago and chili powder is one of their products that I like best. I do think it makes a big difference here. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      A keeper! I would add to season your beef a bit but the sauce was awesome!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      The sauce is delicious! I used about 1 1/2 cups water, but next time I'll use 2 cups like the recipe says (I was afraid the sauce would be too thin but it wasn't) The sauce had lots of flavor. I had to use chicken bouillon granules, but it still tasted great! And I added a dash of cayenne pepper for spice. Next time I'll add a little of the sauce to the ground beef so it is flavored a little more. I used flour tortillas and didn't fry them. Overall, a really good enchilada recipe, thank you for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2014

      Easy recipe, great flavor! Much better sauce than anything you can buy, and less expensive!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2013

      Hey thanks so much for sharing this recipe! I took the time to read the reviews, as I haven't made enchiladas in a long time & then my husband asked for them! The sauce worked quite well. I made half of it for 4 enchiladas. I used 1 tbsp light butter instead of the shortening, and only 1 tsp of chicken bouillon. I did season up the beef (we use extra lean) w/ taco seasoning, and used some enchilada sauce in the filling, too. The olives were a nice touch (put some in the filling, too) & I used low fat Mexican cheese. I skipped the oil part, as others did, and used whole wheat tortillas. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2013

      This recipe is delicious. The sauce is what puts it over the top. It is incredible!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2013

      THIS IS THE BEST ENCHILADAS! I have ever had!! Most excellent recipe! I did change it a bit .... left out the 1/2c oil and heating the tortillas. I just placed the cooked meat in the tortillas and folded and placed in baking dish. I used half ground beef and half ground turkey meat as this was what I had on hand to complete the measurement for the meat in recipe. I also used a assortment of shredded cheeses on top (Monterey Jack, Cheddar and Mozzarella) The enchilada sauce was the best and will never buy store brought again. Thank you so much for sharing this fabulous recipe!! A keeper in our favorites from Zaar :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2013

      Great Recipe! So easy to make and absolutely delicious! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2011

      Wonderful! Easy! Big hit! After reading thevreviews I decided to make double batch of sauce. Good thing I did. it was awesome. Added green chilies to meat mixture. Used flour tortillas cuz my son doesn't like corn and added smoke paparika to the sauce. Will make again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2011

      Tis sauce has a great flavor, not just tomato sauce tasting. Made as written, even dipping the tortillas in the sauce before filling (same way my mom did). I left out the black olives for DH but used the rest of the ingredients. Will make these again! Made for All You Can Cook Buffet Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2010

      The sauce is the bomb! We will be using this recipe 4ever! Thanks Sheri-BDB

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2010

      Very very good. The sauce is what makes the recipe! I used flour tortillas so I didn't bother with the oil. Also used butter in the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ground Beef Enchiladas

    Serving Size: 1 (458 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 904.7
     
    Calories from Fat 610
    67%
    Total Fat 67.8 g
    104%
    Saturated Fat 23.8 g
    119%
    Cholesterol 136.6 mg
    45%
    Sodium 1614.0 mg
    67%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.8 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 6.5 g
    26%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    21%
    Protein 40.6 g
    81%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites