77 Reviews

These turned out well but I did add some smokey paprika to the sauce to ramp up the flavor a bit more. I think next time will add chopped green chilis to the beef mix also. Southwest flour tortillas also added to the flavor. I skipped the messy step of dipping the tortillas in sauce. I ladled a little on the tortilla, swirling it around the tortillas, then added the beef mix and cheese, rolled them up and added the remaining sauce on top and this worked well.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Texas Shorty March 17, 2011

This was really quite good. I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5, because I did have to make quite a few changes to suit our tastes. I ended up throwing the first batch of sauce out, I made it as directed, with shortening, but when I tasted it, I could TASTE the shortening. Not good. I made the sauce again, with butter, and it was fantastic! The beef mixture was way too bland, so I added a can of Rotel tomatoes, a 6oz can of tomato paste, a couple of tablespoons of taco seasoning, and some water. I let it cook down, until all the liquid had evaporated, and stirred in a ladle of the enchilada sauce, and it was GREAT! Everything else I kept the same, except I also used flour tortillas, and did not fry them. This was a wonderful springboard recipe, and I thank you so much for posting, it, we really enjoyed it!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blueguitargirl1985 February 21, 2011

My family loves this sauce!! But if using high-sodium Knorr beef bouillon granules, it's important to taste the finished sauce before adding any salt. I've found it's best to omit the salt altogether. Also, I like to replace a tablespoon of the shortening with a tablespoon of bacon fat for a quick way to increase the great flavor of this enchilada sauce. Thanks!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb's Recipes May 11, 2010

Great sauce and very easy to make. I was excited I even had some Mexican oregano I'd just bought. I just wish I hadn't added (2 tsp) of beef bouillon paste, it made it salty. I'll be buying the granules for the next time! Thanks for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scotland April 07, 2009

I agree with Melany, I will never buy canned sauce again! Thanx for the recipe, especially now that I am in a place where even the canned sauce is hard to find! TIP: when making the roux, melt the shortenong, then remove it from the heat completely, then stir in the flour and spices. You can return it to the heat afterwards, and not have to worry about burning the sauce. The shortening shouldn't put off smoke at any point. If it does, it's too hot, and that can go for grease in any recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
m a n t e e g a February 08, 2005

These are fantastic! This was my first time making a homemade enchilada sauce, and I'll never buy canned again! Very filling, nicely spiced, and tasty. I will make this recipe again and again. Thank you so much!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melany * March 18, 2003

I'm giving it 5 stars for the enchilada sauce alone! The enchiladas were good for what they were, but the sauce is amazing! I will never buy canned sauce again! This enchilada sauce is exactly what I was looking for! I've made it twice and the second time froze it for later use. I agree that the quality of the chili powder makes all the difference. My DH thinks everything needs pepper, so I added white pepper to taste and we added some sugar because our chili powder was sub-par and it tasted a little bitter. I did make it to exact recipe the first time and used a different chili powder the second, so I knew it was the chili powder. Also, use New Mexico chili powder for a spicier sauce! Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dubisbaby June 21, 2010

Yummy! Whole family loved it. This was pretty easy, sauce was great. Will be in our regular mexican night rotation. Used flour tortillas instead because it's what I had and they came out delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
countrylife June 15, 2010

Yummy! Used butter instead of shortening, no other changes. This was more meat and more enchilada sauce than I needed for twelve enchiladas. Even so, next time I'd double the sauce recipe and put some back in the freezer. I switched to Penzeys spices a number of years ago and chili powder is one of their products that I like best. I do think it makes a big difference here. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama May 16, 2010

A keeper! I would add to season your beef a bit but the sauce was awesome!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FromKatesKitchen January 06, 2010
Ground Beef Enchiladas