31 Reviews

Very tasty! Made some subs for missing ingredients but still came out excellent.<br/><br/>Had to use a can of unsalted diced tomatoes since I didn't have whole and used a little ketchup instead of plain tomato paste. <br/><br/>I messed up part of the cooking instructions for the onions/beef (Forgot to put the oil first, whoops!) but it didn't seem to matter much. It's not a very spicy curry, which is perfect for me, since I'm kind of a spice-wimp. X3 but it's wonderful over some hot rice!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StormSerpent April 01, 2014

I agree with everyone else's thoughts on the blandness. I quadrupled the curry, doubled the cinnamon, and added some hot pepper to spice it up. I served it with lime-cilantro rice and it was very good. Maybe the curry I had was just too bland - like some have suggested - curry paste may be a better option.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Schooter March 08, 2012

simple and straight -forward, this dish had a delectable spiciness that had little to do with heat and more to do with depth of flavor. good weekday go to.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shoes58 July 06, 2015

Just what I was looking for. I doubled the meat and most spices, 4x the curry powder, added a few fresh hot peppers and fresh grated ginger. Also I used chick peas and carrots and 3 fresh tomatoes but didn't have paste. I also forgot to add the cilantro but no matter, everyone loved it! Fast and easy, thanks so much! A keeper for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GuavaJelli November 18, 2013

This was good but with more spices added. It was bland as written. I doubled the cinnamon, added 1/2tsp of cardomom, fresh ginger with some powdered ginger, quite a bit of salt to taste and tripled the curry powder. It tasted wonderful with the Coconut Rice another poster recommended.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
peanutprincesses July 06, 2010

Good recipe. Added a lil bit of hot peppers and some seasoned salt for more taste. A keeper :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Strawbelly December 17, 2009

Really loved this recipe. It gave me some good notes in developing my own curry recipe, as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Arctides Regalis October 03, 2009

My son (11 yrs old) really liked this curry and that's why I'm giving it 4 stars. I love recipes that open up his palette to new and interesting tastes. The description said it was very mild and my personal preference would be to have a little more spice. It tasted a little bland to me. I would have given it 3 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Finicky April 26, 2009

This worked because I had all the ingredients, but I just couldn't get pat the lack of creaminess to the curry. I added an extra star b/c that really is a personal preference. It seemed confusing to me b/c it was almost like a cross between spaghetti and curry. Thank you anyway!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SunsetHappy April 01, 2009

I was looking for an interesting recipe for ground beef and this sounded so different. I added a stick of celery, chopped fine to the onions. I used Malaysian curry which is has more heat and flavor and added 1/2 teaspoon of cardamon to the spice mixture. I used canned diced tomtoes with a little of the juice so I didn't need the water or tomato paste. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Decorating Diva February 12, 2009
Ground Beef Curry (Kima Curry)