Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ground Beef Curry (Kima Curry) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ground Beef Curry (Kima Curry)

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on April 01, 2014

      Very tasty! Made some subs for missing ingredients but still came out excellent.<br/><br/>Had to use a can of unsalted diced tomatoes since I didn't have whole and used a little ketchup instead of plain tomato paste. <br/><br/>I messed up part of the cooking instructions for the onions/beef (Forgot to put the oil first, whoops!) but it didn't seem to matter much. It's not a very spicy curry, which is perfect for me, since I'm kind of a spice-wimp. X3 but it's wonderful over some hot rice!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2012

      I agree with everyone else's thoughts on the blandness. I quadrupled the curry, doubled the cinnamon, and added some hot pepper to spice it up. I served it with lime-cilantro rice and it was very good. Maybe the curry I had was just too bland - like some have suggested - curry paste may be a better option.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2013

      Just what I was looking for. I doubled the meat and most spices, 4x the curry powder, added a few fresh hot peppers and fresh grated ginger. Also I used chick peas and carrots and 3 fresh tomatoes but didn't have paste. I also forgot to add the cilantro but no matter, everyone loved it! Fast and easy, thanks so much! A keeper for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      This was good but with more spices added. It was bland as written. I doubled the cinnamon, added 1/2tsp of cardomom, fresh ginger with some powdered ginger, quite a bit of salt to taste and tripled the curry powder. It tasted wonderful with the Coconut Rice another poster recommended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2009

      Good recipe. Added a lil bit of hot peppers and some seasoned salt for more taste. A keeper :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      Really loved this recipe. It gave me some good notes in developing my own curry recipe, as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      My son (11 yrs old) really liked this curry and that's why I'm giving it 4 stars. I love recipes that open up his palette to new and interesting tastes. The description said it was very mild and my personal preference would be to have a little more spice. It tasted a little bland to me. I would have given it 3 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      This worked because I had all the ingredients, but I just couldn't get pat the lack of creaminess to the curry. I added an extra star b/c that really is a personal preference. It seemed confusing to me b/c it was almost like a cross between spaghetti and curry. Thank you anyway!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      I was looking for an interesting recipe for ground beef and this sounded so different. I added a stick of celery, chopped fine to the onions. I used Malaysian curry which is has more heat and flavor and added 1/2 teaspoon of cardamon to the spice mixture. I used canned diced tomtoes with a little of the juice so I didn't need the water or tomato paste. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      wasn't really my choice. i like more the creamy coconut curry and this was a very bold, deep flavour. it smelled good but was a bit overwhelming w/ the ginger and curry etc. my husband loved it. i substituted soy ground beef so that very possibly affected the flavour too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2008

      This was a really good curry, ESPECIALLY if you are in a hurry! OK, needed to add more curry spice, As think the taste was really nice, Added more cinamon too, Perhaps is personal taste, but like previous reviewers, I agree was a bit bland TRUE! Used slice tomatoes, worked well for me, But as it started drying up, added more water, was more than OK for me! Would suggest scallion for presentation but not necessary to do, Didn't think it needed 2 tablespoons oil, again might be personal taste for you know who! THANKS! Will DEFINATELY make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2008

      very nice and filling, dh liked very much. a note about curry: there are many different kinds of curries out there, if you want it less mild more spicy use a hot curry

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2008

      I wanted to love this but it I came out just OK for me. I thought it was too dry and surprisingly bland...hard to imagine with 5 cloves of garlic. I added some cayenne to spice it up and it definitely needed a good bit of salt. I used canned tomatoes too. I'm a curry-newbie and have only had the chicken curry which uses yogurt so maybe I'm just accustomed to that. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      This was fantastic. I added diced/uncooked eggplant & a can of sweet peas/drained to the mixture & served it over Saffron rice "Persian" style! Yum! Thanks for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      We really enjoyed this curry and it was very easy to make. I loved the tomatoes and the cinnamon flavor that came through was lovely. Thanks for sharing this. Made this for ZWT4 for the Chic Chefs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      This is easy and I think would be a great intro recipe for those wanting to try curry the first time or kids. It has the flavor profile without the long list of spices, isn't the yellow color of most curries that scares kids away, nor the heat. I needed to clear out some bits & pieces of vegetables in the fridge so added them to this dish and liked the results. I added 1/2 a green pepper, 1/2 a red pepper, 2 small yellow squash, and a handful of julienned carrots. All vegetables were chopped including the onion. I also used canned tomatoes instead of fresh. I had additional chopped cilantro at the table to sprinkle on as well as crushed red peppers and served with rice and fresh cantaloupe. It truly was a 30 minute meal and one I will make again. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      This dish was easy to make but it was too mild for our taste. I used 1 tbsp of curry powder while cooking & then after I tasted it I added some cayenne pepper to it. I also used a 14oz can of diced tomatoes instead of fresh ones & added some chopped green peppers. Made for ZWT 4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      Very easy and mild. My boys added cayenne pepper and jalapenos to spice it up to their taste factor and almost licked the plate clean. Great recipe..thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      This is a wonderful recipe. The flavors really make this dish. I served it with "Tanzanian Vegetable Rice". Awesome meal

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      oooh is this yummy. i like a drier curry than one sopping in sauce and its so easy to put together. I subbed galangal for ginger and used Madras Curry Powder as the curry powder. Its a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ground Beef Curry (Kima Curry)

    Serving Size: 1 (195 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 305.8
     
    Calories from Fat 166
    54%
    Total Fat 18.5 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 5.5 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 73.7 mg
    24%
    Sodium 115.0 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.3 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    18%
    Protein 24.4 g
    48%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes