Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ground Beef Chow Mein Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ground Beef Chow Mein

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on February 02, 2012

      My family really enjoyed this. Maybe I will add some sauteed green onions to this dish next time. I also added some frozen pea pods which gave the dish a bit of color.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2011

      We love this!!! I doubled the recipe and have made this several times now. I did not use the Water Chestnuts because I do not like them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2011

      oh wow! simple as it gets and yet...exactly what I remember eating when I was a kid!!! This recipe is perfect for personalizing and I used 1/4 head of cabbage, half a large onion, three celery stalks finely chopped and two pounds of hamburgers (the only veggies I had on hand and more to our taste anyway). The perfect amount for a family of four just don't expect a lot of leftovers! LOVE IT!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      Thanks Pam-I-Am for this recipe. This recipe is from an old Pillsbury magazine cookbook and is a good one. We served it over traditional Chinese SOFT noodles and it was fab, just like the Asian restaurants in CA. We left out the pimentos as personal preference. We added diced green onions to perk up the flavor. The kids didn't really love it but we did. It is not a really spicy or overly flavorful recipe so adjust for your tastes. Great for a meal anytime. Thanks. ChefDLH

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      DH loved it, I needed to add some mustard and more soy sauce to give it a little more flavor. I used a can of Straw Mushrooms and DH even commented positively on them. I also added some bok choy as I do to most of my asian inspired meals since we love it so much. I did use more cornstarch because I found it to be just a little to liquidy. I served with both rice and the noodles. I'll make this again 'cause DH liked it alot and it was simple to make but it wasn't my favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      Usually my recipe experiments get something like "this isn't bad" from my DH. This recipe got an emphatic "Yummy!". My only change was to add some sliced red bell pepper, just to get a bit more color and veggie content.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

      Poor DH had never had chow mein! He loved this and is looking forward to the leftovers. Added some chopped onion, and had to simmer for awhile to soften the celery a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      Reminds me of my childhood too. This was a staple in my home growing up. Over the years had lost the recipe, been searching. Thanks for posting. Mom served it over rice with the chow mein noodles on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ground Beef Chow Mein

    Serving Size: 1 (380 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 442.3
     
    Calories from Fat 186
    42%
    Total Fat 20.7 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 58.9 mg
    19%
    Sodium 1177.8 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.2 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 6.2 g
    24%
    Sugars 7.1 g
    28%
    Protein 27.3 g
    54%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites