Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ground Beef Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ground Beef Chili

    Average Rating:

    83 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 83

    Sort by:

    • on November 24, 2002

      We raked and burned leaves all day Saturday. I made this chili the night before. We had worked up quite an appetite and it really hit the spot. Highly seasoned and very delicious. It makes quite a lot so I froze half for us to have later on. The only ingredient I left out was the browning sauce--not real sure what that is, but the flavor wasn't missing anything.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2003

      This chili is awesome. Best I have ever had. I had my brothers, sister and all their families over so I had a big crowd to feed. This was perfect. Makes lots. Spicy flavor and I set out bowls of chopped onions and shredded cheese for those who wanted to add that on top. Very yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2003

      Superb chili recipe. My family raved about it. I used 3 cans of kidney beans because we like a lot of beans in our chili. The seasoning was spicy and full-flavored. Very hearty and robust. This is a good recipe for cooking for the freezer too. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2002

      Very tasty Chili recipe, I made a few changes as I didnt have 3 lbs of ground beef. I used half the amount of beef, the 2 cans of kidney beans, a 300 gram can of tomato puree, a 300 gram jar of salsa, approx 3/4 cup beef stock, only 1 tsp chili powder (we dont like it super hot) and about 1/2 cup of water. And just used the grated cheese for one of the options. This fed 4 happy adults with enough left over for 2 lunches. Mine being one! Will definitely make this again and freeze as suggested (thought Id do a big batch and take it camping) Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2003

      This is a wonderful chili recipe! I followed your recipe to a t- and it turned out perfect. For anyone that want's to know you can find the browning sauce near the steak sauce in your grocery store; it goes by the name kitchen bouquet and is used alot for gravy and bring the flavor out of meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2014

    • on February 10, 2014

      Best ground beef chili ever made, the flavor was excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2014

    • on January 20, 2014

      I also added some hot italian sausage and a packet of McCormick's mild chili seasoning mix. The chili was delicious. Topped with shredded cheese and a bit of scallions...it was a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2013

      Wow - excellent recipe. My husbands only request when I stated I wanted to try a different recipe was to keep it simple. The flavor is amazing! After reading through the reviews I decided to omit the water as we like a heartier chili. Used a crockpot and although it was still a little thin, it was bowl licking delicious! My quest for the perfect recipe is over!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2013

      My family loved this. I made it for dinner and I was able to freeze half for next weekend. Love that it made enough for leftovers. It was easy, and like a few others I had never used a browning sauce but I found it in the supermarket. I'm not sure what it did but the chili had great flavor, was perfect for me and my daughter but of course my husband added extra chili sauce to his. No fault of the recipe, he does that with everything. I will make this again, now that we are coming into the cooker weather.n

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2013

      Made for Zaar CHef Alphabet Soup Jan-June 2013 tag game and this is a winner! I cut the recipe in half and cut the sugar down just a tad and DH and really enjoyed it. Definately a keeper and one I will make again. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2012

      I never use to eat chili yet I love this chili! I've made it over two dozen times since I tried it several years ago. I don't always follow exactly as I use what I have on hand. I usually use red pepper instead of green. I also use both crushed and diced tomatoes for contrast. Dried beans are healthier so I usually soak a bag of little red beans overnight as I'm not a fan of kidney beans. If I'mm in a hurry canned chili beans and black beans work great. Browning sauce is a must. Makes a great freezer meal,.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2012

      Everyone loved it! I like that it only takes 30 minutes to simmer once all the ingredients are combined. I did not use green pepper or the browning sauce and used diced tomatoes w/green chilies (instead of regular diced tomatoes) and it was perfect. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2012

      I just made this chili - it is the worst chili I ever tasted. Too much tomato puree, too much chili powder. The tomato puree taste is overpowering & the same for the taste of chili powder. Could there have been a typo re '29 ounce' tomato puree?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2012

      tired of the same old chili i made a hudge cornbread cake an poured it over THE BEST it was a hit thank you an also you can change the taste a little by the salsa you like GOOD JOB

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2012

      Very good blend of flavors. The only changes I made were to use chili beans instead of kidney beans. I also only used 2 lbs of ground beef and I did sprinkle in red pepper flakes per a previous post. I didn't have browning sauce either so I omitted.

      Very simple to make without a lot of measuring. I will definitely be making again and try adding some fresh minced garlic next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2012

      Very good chili. Made the recipe exactly as stated...except I only used two pounds of meat. Just a personal preference. Would make this again in a heartbeat. My husband loved it too. Thanks for another good recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2011

    • on December 25, 2011

      We finally got around to making this I don't know HOW many years after I saved it in my cookbook after finding it on A Taste of Home, but realizing that you'd already posted it. (That sorta didn't come out coherently, did it?) We made it last night to serve tonight, Christmas Eve, while my dad was here, but "vegetarianized" it with MorningStar Farms® Meal Starters Grillers Recipe Crumbles, a ground beef substitute. It was wonderful! Halved the recipe and added 1/2 a seeded and ribbed jalapeno, omitted the celery because we forgot, and used Better Than Bouillon Beef for the condensed beef broth because we couldn't figure out what the latter was. *lol* Added shredded cheddar, onions and a spoon of sour cream to tame the heat - (our salsa was pretty hot by itself). Anyway, we were very happy with this recipe. My husband probably would have been happier with huge chunks of animal in it, but he deferred to me. Again. ;o) Thank you for posting, ratherbeswimmin'... this is a true keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ground Beef Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (339 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 283.9
     
    Calories from Fat 123
    43%
    Total Fat 13.6 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 57.8 mg
    19%
    Sodium 915.6 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.2 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 5.9 g
    23%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 22.0 g
    44%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites