57 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My husband loved it but I thought it needed more flavor. A lot more flavor. I had even added pepper, chili powder & italian seasoning and garlic. But I like a recipe that spells out all the details for me so I don't have to guess how much to sprinkle in. I used rotel for the peppers cuz I didn't have any (2 cans drained).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bake Em N Take Em October 19, 2011

Hubby and I really enjoyed this with coleslaw for supper tonight. It was quick to make-and super easy. I used an orange pepper, half-fat mushroom soup and light old cheddar and the taste was wonderful.There are just the two of us, so there is enough for supper tomorrow night. BONUS!!! Thanks for a recipe that I will add to our supper rotation recipes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
baroth2 January 20, 2008

This was easy to throw together and very filling. Served with a salad and biscuits. Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jazze22 April 05, 2005

Good basic recipe. I think the addition of some spices and garlic to give it a little kick would be great next time. Also, I'll leave off the remaining cheese until about 5 min. before the casserole is ready...the cheese on top had turned into a hard crust after 30 min. baking and I caught it just before it began to burn.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamgoddess April 21, 2004

Mmmm yummy casserole. Thanks for the comfort food recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour November 08, 2014

I loved it! I am making tonight for dinner. I also added chili pepper and garlic. Great recipe & quick too! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
reginelopez1 October 09, 2014

We made two of these. It got rave reviews in our house. The only thing we changed on the second one is we added garlic salt to the mixture before moving it to the casserole dish and some fresh ground pepper once made. The kids added more cheese too. The first around just needed some more seasoning. It was even better the next day! The taste comes down to, do you like green bell peppers or not. If not you may find this not to your liking if so you will probably enjoy it. It is a hearty meal that doubled well. Perfect to take to a potluck, church event, party, a grieving or sick family or a neighbor or friend. We served it with salad and it was tasty. Thanks for posting L0vetw0c00k! We will make again and again. Enjoy! ChefDLH

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefDLH May 27, 2014

Followed the recipe as much as I could since I didn't have peppers. However I also added about 2 teaspoons of crushed oregano, a tsp. of thyme and a half tsp of garlic powder after reading some of the other reviews. I sauteed the onion and ground beef in a 10 1/2 " wrought iron pan so I didn't have to change to a casserole dish. The very picky husband liked it and it will be served again, especially at out next pot luck supper. the only reason it was only five stars is because i had to read the reviews for suggestions but I definitely liked that it was only one pan!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Almosta Chef March 19, 2014

This was very good! I added a bit of sour cream to the mixture, used fresh tomatoes sliced, added swiss cheese to top it and also sprinkled parmesan cheese on top! <br/>I will make this again for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bamboosmom January 15, 2014

The family thought this was definitely worth making again. The flavors mixed well!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Irish4luck January 01, 2014
Ground Beef Casserole